We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5068 )
5 star
 (2735)
4 star
 (1150)
3 star
 (589)
2 star
 (297)
1 star
 (297)
Overall
4.1 (4673 )
5 star
 (2488)
4 star
 (1082)
3 star
 (534)
2 star
 (275)
1 star
 (294)
Story
4.2 (4673 )
5 star
 (2883)
4 star
 (834)
3 star
 (431)
2 star
 (220)
1 star
 (305)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nina 10-16-15
    Nina 10-16-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It was an okay read - kind of funny at times."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I like listening to books and this book was interesting enough that I finished it.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Jenny Lawson? Why or why not?

    I don't think so, I liked the book but wasn't particularly excited by it.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Jenny Lawson?

    Hmmmm..... this is a tough one. I think a book is probably always best read by the actual author and I really enjoyed that she read it (even though her voice was slightly annoying) as I feel like I get to know her better. The singing each chapter title was AWFUL though!


    Could you see Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    No, I can't.


    Any additional comments?

    It was an okay read - definitely kind of funny at times but also a bit too silly at times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela AUSTIN, TX, United States 10-14-15
    Pamela AUSTIN, TX, United States 10-14-15 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't read/listen to this in public!"

    You will embarrass yourself with chuckles, belly laughs, snorts, and smeared mascara. It really is that damn funny! Only once did I think the story bogged down a bit, but that was because everything that preceded it was so hilarious.

    It certainly stands out from the crowd of memoir due to the humorous treatment of life challenges that some people don't overcome. And they are issues that don't just hit you in the face with grief and helplessness, but take you on down the road of life.

    One big question I had as the story unfolded was answered in the final chapters. I won't spoil it for you.

    Who better to read it than the author?! No one could fully interpret her sense of timing and style.

    Treat yourself to this book. But don't read it in the doctor's waiting room. Your "snortles" will disturb others in the room.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Bellevue,WA 10-11-15
    Amazon Customer Bellevue,WA 10-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very funny!!!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    I always love to hear the story directly from the source. Jenny Lawson makes it feel like you're sitting down with her to talk. It doesn't feel scripted or robotic.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Hearing the stories about Jenny's father and his crazy ideas was so funny. It's hard to imagine growing up with that being 'the normal'.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    My favorite part was when Victor's parents met Jenny's for the first time.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The most emotional part for me was the part about having kids (no spoilers!).


    Any additional comments?

    This was a great book in print and in audio, everyone should totally read/listen to it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TRose 10-06-15
    TRose 10-06-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not for me"

    I couldn't get through it....never made it past chapter 9. I'm sure she is as funny as the reviews sound, this book just wasn't for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ryan cole 10-02-15
    ryan cole 10-02-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"

    Clear thinking twistedness for the knowing mind . Verbalized how we would all like to so do.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harriet Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States 09-30-15
    Harriet Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States 09-30-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    170
    58
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a waste of time!"

    This was a stupid book. It wasn't funny or interesting, just stupid. I couldn't force myself to finish it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miki FWB 09-29-15
    Miki FWB 09-29-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny's storytelling makes me so happy"

    I laughed and cried and laugh-cry-peed-a-little through this entire book. I'm so glad I got the audio version. Hearing her say "ya'll" makes me smile every time (Alabama girl here, so "ya'll" is one of my favorite words). It's nice to know we are not alone in our journey through anxiety and other various cray cray disorders. Also, that laughing makes you feel better even when you don't want to. I look forward to her next book (which I just bought 30 seconds ago, YAY!)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bag Lady 09-21-15
    Bag Lady 09-21-15

    Izzy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still laughing out loud"

    An uproariously funny book with a performance par excellence by the author. You will be chuckling every time you remember her stories and you can't help but share with others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bryan 09-17-15
    Bryan 09-17-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Literally My Favorite Book Ever"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Jenny Lawson has found a beautiful harmony of being genuinely honest and absolutely hilarious. I was laughing in public constantly to the point of being out of breath.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Her wit doesn't over power the moments of sincerity about struggling with a mental illness and trying to live life as your best self.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Jenny really shows who she is through how she talks. Her voice adds to the comedic timing and the nostalgia she feels in certain chapters. I was even laughing with how she says the titles of each chapters.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    It's completely relateable. She brings an honesty that most writers and even humans are afraid to share. I truly believe everyone can have a moment they relate too in this book.


    Any additional comments?

    If you read one book this year. Make it this one. By far the best read I've read. Jenny Lawson was meant to be an author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 09-17-15
    John 09-17-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny as hell, but hate the frickin' singing!"

    I totally want to hang out with Jenny Lawson, but I will smack her if she sings while talking! She has a good voice, but dude, this is an audio book not a music CD!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.