We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
I Must Say Audiobook

I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this engagingly witty, wise, and heartfelt memoir, Martin Short tells the tale of how a showbiz-obsessed kid from Canada transformed himself into one of Hollywood’s favorite funnymen, known to his famous peers as the "comedian’s comedian".

Martin Short takes you on a rich, hilarious, and occasionally heartbreaking ride through his life and times, from his early years in Toronto as a member of the fabled improvisational troupe Second City to the all-American comic big time of Saturday Night Live and memorable roles in movies such as ¡Three Amigos! and Father of the Bride. He reveals how he created his most indelible comedic characters, among them the manic man-child Ed Grimley, the slimy corporate lawyer Nathan Thurm, and the bizarrely insensitive interviewer Jiminy Glick. Throughout, Short freely shares the spotlight with friends, colleagues, and collaborators, including Steve Martin, Tom Hanks, Gilda Radner, Mel Brooks, Nora Ephron, Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, Paul Shaffer, and David Letterman.

But there is another side to Short's life that he has long kept private. He lost his eldest brother and both of his parents by the time he turned 20, and, more recently, he lost his wife of 30 years to cancer. In I Must Say, Short talks for the first time about the pain that these losses inflicted and the upbeat life philosophy that has kept him resilient and carried him through. In the grand tradition of comedy legends, Martin Short offers a show business memoir densely populated with boldface names and rife with re-tellable tales: a hugely entertaining yet surprisingly moving self-portrait that will keep you laughing - and crying - from the first page to the last.

Special Lyrics for "It's The Most Wonderful Show of the Year" and "Picture-Perfect Christmas In The Palisades" by Martin Short, Marc Shaiman, and Scott Wittman; Special Lyrics for “Marty Throws a Party Just to Sing" by Marc Shaiman.

©2014 Martin Short (P)2014 Harper Collins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (2591 )
5 star
 (1769)
4 star
 (630)
3 star
 (139)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.5 (2328 )
5 star
 (1548)
4 star
 (577)
3 star
 (146)
2 star
 (44)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.8 (2351 )
5 star
 (2000)
4 star
 (273)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (19)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ty Brady 11-06-14
    Ty Brady 11-06-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is what audio books were made for!"
    If you could sum up I Must Say in three words, what would they be?

    "Read By Martin!"
    Oh, give me a break, what a wonderful performance by Marty, and that's no lie. Can I call him Marty? I suppose if we were best friends, I could call him Marty. Oh and I suppose that would ever happen! This book made me completely mental, I was so sad when the book finished and there was nothing more to listen to, it was similar to a pain that may linger, I must say.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Read and Performed by Martin Short.


    What does Martin Short bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    It's a total performance masterpiece. He does not merely narrate, he goes into his all sorts of different voices, there's even a couple of times where a piano is played. (but no triangles are played.)


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Skip the movie, buy the audio book, it's better!!


    24 of 27 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Darren Gauthier 01-10-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "A high point for audiobooks...Bravo!"

    It's almost as if this was conceived as an audiobook first. His performance makes this more than just someone reading their book. This is the real Martin Short, as funny, candid and tender as someone can be when sharing their life and talent. Very highly recommended.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    elainepcowan 01-13-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Humble, heartfelt and hilarious"

    I enjoyed the flow of the story. The hilarious highs and the humility and telling grace through the lows. I have already recommended it to like minded friends after having to pull over to the side of the road on TWO occasions, once for laughing myself to tears and the other, well tears. It's a love story masqueraded as a memoir.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gretchen SLP Sacramento, California 01-05-17
    Gretchen SLP Sacramento, California 01-05-17 Member Since 2014

    Avid listener on my daily commute!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1579
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    195
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    438
    59
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Just For Fans, Say I"

    This book is great fun for fans of SCTV, SNL, Martin Short, and 1970s--80s humor generally. Short impeccably reads his own multiple laugh-out-loud stories about practically everything under the sun, including lots of humorous anecdotes concerning awkward social situations during which the author, usually in an effort to impress some major celebrity he's just met for the first time, manages to put his foot squarely in his mouth, concluding his rueful tale with his trademark self-deprecating "'Damn thee, Marty Short,' said I."

    There are also a lot of recreated sketches and songs, which led my much-older husband (who never followed SCTV) to become rapidly bored while listening, and prompted me to imagine I would be qualifying my review with the title "Great For Fans." However, just before its final hour, the book takes an unexpected (for me) very serious turn, and without giving any spoilers, I have to say I had tears in my eyes at the end.

    Bravo, Marty Short! say I. Thank you for sharing. I'm sure I'll listen to this one again sometime. Grade: A.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Tomasetti Los Angeles, CA 01-28-15
    Michael Tomasetti Los Angeles, CA 01-28-15 Member Since 2017

    mthomaseddy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Short and Sweet"

    Martin Short is the consummate showman and this audio memoir is like being at a dinner party with him as he regales you with the story of his life.

    I was most taken by his optimism and sunny disposition in the face of family tragedy. He is a man with a "Teflon interior," and at 64, shows no signs of stopping.

    This audio book is well read, and performances by Jiminy Glick, Ed Grimley, and songs sung at Short's famous Christmas parties are icing on the cake.

    I plan on keeping this audio book to check in with Smarty Marty whenever I'm feeling like a good swift kick in the comedy pants.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Staats 11-17-14
    Dave Staats 11-17-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    315
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    612
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    34
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I always hoped he'd be like this."
    If you could sum up I Must Say in three words, what would they be?

    A Wonderful Life.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked the whole thing so much I don't know how to answer this question.


    What about Martin Short’s performance did you like?

    It was him. It felt like he was talking to me.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I didn't know his history beyond the work so it hit me when he began talking about Nancy in the past tense at a certain point in the book.


    Any additional comments?

    I wish he had only covered half his life so we could have another book.

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tina FORT PAYNE, AL, United States 01-11-15
    tina FORT PAYNE, AL, United States 01-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I laughed, I cried, I wet my pants...Ty Marty"

    A true comic genius, a must read if you need to laugh, or if you are in the mist of coping with a loved one with cancer. Great perspective.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gayla Gonsells 01-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT"

    This book is wonderfully entertaining a great insight to a wonderful man. he not only is a great comedian with a wonderful father and a loving husband and a wonderful storyteller thank you Martin Short for making me laugh

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tim 12-23-15
    tim 12-23-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Thank you for the roller coaster ride! What a life! Very well presented.

    Just amazing

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    r 11-10-15
    r 11-10-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "such a pleasure to hear"
    Would you consider the audio edition of I Must Say to be better than the print version?

    listening to a memoir read by the entertainer who wrote it is so much better than reading it. he can play his own characters and does voices of some of his friends too!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    no, i enjoyed stretching it out. it covers a good 50 years. nice to allow it all to come at you slowly.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.