We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated | [Julie Klausner]

I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls.
Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.

I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man - good or otherwise - when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.

Off the popularity of her New York Times "Modern Love" piece about getting the brush-off from an indie rock musician, I Don't Care about Your Band is marbled with the wry strains of Julie Klausner's precocious curmudgeonry and brimming with truths that anyone who's ever been on a date will relate to. Klausner is an expert at landing herself waist-deep in crazy, time and time again, in part because her experience as a comedy writer (Best Week Ever, "TV Funhouse" on SNL) and sketch comedian from NYC's Upright Citizens Brigade fuels her philosophy of how any scene should unfold, which is, "What? That sounds crazy? Okay, I'll do it."

I Don't Care about Your Band charts a distinctly human journey of a strong-willed but vulnerable protagonist who loves men like it's her job, but who's done with guys who know more about love songs than love. Klausner's is a new outlook on dating in a time of pop culture obsession, and she spent her 20s doing personal field research to back up her philosophies. This is the girl's version of High Fidelity.

By turns explicit, funny, and moving, Klausner's debut shows the evolution of a young woman who endured myriad encounters with the wrong guys, to emerge with real- world wisdom on matters of the heart. I Don't Care about Your Band is Julie Klausner's manifesto, and every one of us can relate.

©2010 Julie Klausner (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (150 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (15)
Overall
3.5 (139 )
5 star
 (43)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (16)
Story
4.0 (138 )
5 star
 (63)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Debra Garfinkle Orange County, CA United States 09-08-13
    Debra Garfinkle Orange County, CA United States 09-08-13 Member Since 2010

    author of books for teens and children

    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Painfully Honest and Funny"

    Listening to this book made me grateful I'm married, because most of the guys Klausner dated seem like creeps and/or weirdos. I appreciated her honesty as she talked about sexual positions, sexual kinks, sexual diseases, and other topics most people keep private. While I didn't agree with some of Klausner's choices in life, I found her entertaining and funny and rooted for her to find a good guy or at least to stop sleeping with the bad ones.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beverly Flovilla, Georgia, United States 05-31-13
    Beverly Flovilla, Georgia, United States 05-31-13 Member Since 2012

    Hello! I'm a full-time nurse, part-time reader, chef, gardener and stylist! Love all my hobbies. Oh, and mother to Marley (shih-tzu) and Sam

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still Laughing!"

    Okay, I didn't know what to expect when I bought this book, so I just took a chance. In the beginning, I thought, hmm, not sure about this book. But after a couple of chapters, I was totally laughing out loud! I would listen in my car on my way to work and have tears of laughter rolling down my face. Then when at work, I would share bits of the book with my friends and force them to listen to parts of it at lunch. The humor is so similar to that shared by my friends and me.
    I also loved that the author reads this book. Usually I don't like author read books, but this time, hearing her story in her voice made all the difference.
    Now, I cannot stress this enough, if you are a prude in any way, do not listen to this book, it will surely offend you. But if you roll with the punches and enjoy true and honest tales that are told with brilliant humor, you will love this book.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eden Shapiro AUSTIN, TEXAS, US 02-12-13
    Eden Shapiro AUSTIN, TEXAS, US 02-12-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Funny"

    This is a wonderful listen. I love when audiobooks are read by the authors, if done well, and in this case Julie Klausner does a beautiful job of narrating. She is so funny-- I have told all my friends to read it. Definitely a girl's book though. It really spoke to me, I could relate to SO many of her sentiments on dating. I will probably listen again at some point!!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    amar Berlin, Germany 01-11-13
    amar Berlin, Germany 01-11-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not good"

    not a good good good book. audible is generally good good good good. not not good.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-24 of 24 results PREVIOUS123NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.