We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
How To Build A Tin Canoe | [Robb White]

How To Build A Tin Canoe

While still a young boy, Robb White built his first boat, hewn from the tin roof of an abandoned chicken coop in the backyard, stamping and primping it into shape, then testing it out in the back creek.
Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

While still a young boy, Robb White built his first boat, hewn from the tin roof of an abandoned chicken coop in the backyard, stamping and primping it into shape, then testing it out in the back creek.

White knows everything there is to know about getting on the water and staying there as long as you possibly can. Today, without any formal training, White constructs some of the most sought-after wooden boats around.

In How to Build a Tin Canoe, this Southern raconteur and self-taught, expert wooden-boat builder offers a wryly humorous journey through a life lived on the water and the lessons learned along the way. These include how to make a canoe from the tin roof of a chicken coop, how to survive rampaging monkeys, and how to get a turtle to stop eating your boat. In chapters such as "Seagull: in which I learn not to be so gullible" and "The Canned Ham Incident: in which I did not participate, so hurrah for the other side," White recounts tall tales of a childhood spent exploring the Gulf of Mexico and of growing up, or not really growing up, to share his accrued wisdom with others.

For lovers of fishing, boating, and great storytelling in the tradition of Garrison Keillor, Roy Blount, Jr., and Bailey White (the author's sister), Robb White's How to Build a Tin Canoe is wise and laugh-out-loud funny to the point of tears. It seems a shame to tear a man away from a life so idyllic, but Robb White's days of hiding out on the water are over. How to Build a Tin Canoe is destined to become a classic.

© 2003 Robb White; (P)2005 Blackstone Audiobooks

What the Critics Say

"A graceful primer on life and how to sail through it with character, easy grace, and personal priorities all in a row." (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (39 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jim 04-20-05
    Jim 04-20-05 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Just finished this yesterday"

    I listen to audible in the car mostly back and forth to work. This is one book that caused me to linger a while in the parking lot and driveway. I really enjoyed it.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Benjamin Woodland Hills, CA, USA 05-25-05
    Benjamin Woodland Hills, CA, USA 05-25-05 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "What fun"

    A truly fascinating and enjoyable book especially because it is read by the author who injects his own charm and wit into every story. He captures the joys of eccentricity, the charm of the south and the magic of the seashore. I'm hoping for volume 2!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glenn Aliquippa, PA, USA 05-16-05
    Glenn Aliquippa, PA, USA 05-16-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Boat Geek"

    As a Yankee who was trapped in a small Georgia town for 15 years, I've known the power of southern story tellers. The narrative was great until it went the direction of "boat geek". I know nothing about boats, mind you. Even less after suffering through the enormous descriptions of boats and motors in this ditty.

    Still, the author redeemed the book with his clever style and wordsmithing. I've never heard his equal. There are boatloads of southern aphorisms and nearly none made it into this book. Rather, it is a collection of fresh charms destined to make their own way.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan BRIMFIELD, MA, United States 12-19-05
    Jonathan BRIMFIELD, MA, United States 12-19-05 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "take a pass"

    Its like listening to Grandpa Simpson go on and on about how much life was better back in the good 'ole days. I am an avid outdoorsman and kayaker and thought this book might have some good insight but couldnt find any. It was like hanging around at a senior center and listening to old folks complain. Save time and money and skip this one....

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.