We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality | [Jacob Tomsky]

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business.
Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets.

Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it.

©2012 Jacob Tomsky (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Jacob Tomsky is a star. The kid writes like a dream. Heads in Beds is hilarious, literate, canny, indignant and kind - revealing an author who manages somehow to be both a total hustler and a complete humanitarian. I love this book. Keep an eye on this writer. I'm telling you, he's a star." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (434 )
5 star
 (196)
4 star
 (127)
3 star
 (79)
2 star
 (24)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
4.1 (406 )
5 star
 (180)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (62)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.2 (406 )
5 star
 (205)
4 star
 (124)
3 star
 (56)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    "unknown" Austin, TX, United States 01-16-13
    "unknown" Austin, TX, United States 01-16-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Coud not put it down"

    This book was just fantastic, I could not stop listening and listening to the whole thing in one day (at the gym and doing housework.. I'm not that lazy!). I was thourally engrossed in the interesting life of working at a hotel. Tomsky paints a wonderful picture of what it is like to work in a high end hotel well also providing useful infromation about how to get free upgrades. I love everything about this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason Vicksburg, MI, United States 12-19-12
    Jason Vicksburg, MI, United States 12-19-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great background information for travelers"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Heads in Beds to be better than the print version?

    Yes, it paints a much better picture.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Heads in Beds?

    When the author realized he was in the business for life and it was his most beneficial option for employment.


    What about Jacob Tomsky’s performance did you like?

    Absolutely Excellent Performance!! Jacob Tomsky got you into the story with the way he read it. Excitement and all! Great Performance!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DMTZ CENTRAL TEXAS 12-05-12
    DMTZ CENTRAL TEXAS 12-05-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    Great story. Lots of good ideas. As a frequent traveler we will have to see..

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea 12-04-12
    Andrea 12-04-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun and thoughful memoir."
    Would you consider the audio edition of Heads in Beds to be better than the print version?

    I have not read the print version.


    What other book might you compare Heads in Beds to and why?

    I would compare the author's approach and story telling with the works of Wade Rouse.


    Have you listened to any of Jacob Tomsky’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, I have not.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Maybe more than one setting, but could easily be heard in it's entirety on a long drive.


    Any additional comments?

    Fun new author. He has promise!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Regina Seattle, WA, United States 98109 12-26-12
    Regina Seattle, WA, United States 98109 12-26-12 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    509
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    742
    129
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    27
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Should be better"

    If you're considering this book, stop. Turn instead to Pete Jordan's "Dishwasher: One Man's Quest to Wash Dishes in 50 States," unfortunately, not on Audible. Once you're read that, you'll see what's wrong with "Heads in Beds."

    It's shallow, not deep enough into the heft of the material. The staff messes with people who are rude and don't tip. Haven't we long known that, at least since George Orwell's "Down and Out in Paris and London"? A far, far, far better book. Orwell would like Pete Jordan. I'm sure of it, but Jacob Tomsky? Not yet. His writing's not bad, but he needed to keep working on his material.

    1 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 61-65 of 65 results PREVIOUS167NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.