We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Fishing on the Edge Audiobook

Fishing on the Edge: The Mike Iaconelli Story

With his colorful tattoos and booming hip-hop sound track, Mike Iaconelli has turned the world of big-money competitive bass fishing upside down. In Fishing on the Edge, Iaconelli tells his own story, and it's a whopper: a Philly-born, Jersey-bred Yankee who's been stealing the spotlight from bass fishing's traditionally all-Southern anglers, attracting fans and dominating one of the fastest-growing sports in America.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

With his colorful tattoos and booming hip-hop sound track, Mike Iaconelli has turned the world of big-money competitive bass fishing upside down. In Fishing on the Edge, Iaconelli tells his own story, and it's a whopper: a Philly-born, Jersey-bred Yankee who's been stealing the spotlight from bass fishing's traditionally all-Southern anglers, attracting fans and dominating one of the fastest-growing sports in America.

Forty-four million Americans fish, but no one does it quite like Mike Iaconelli. In Fishing on the Edge, he lets you in on the secrets to his extraordinary success; how he developed his "power" fishing style, how he attacks the water, positions the boat, and perseveres through those days when the bass just aren't biting. With tips that can be used by any fisherman, from using spinner baits to picking out the right rod to his no-fail "secret weapons", this is an intensive, informative, and often raucous journey through the life of a brash young man destined to do for fishing what Tony Hawk did for the X Games: take the sport to a whole new level. At the same time, it's the compelling first-person story of a man who prepared carefully every step of the way, kept notes on every fish he ever caught, and executed the perfect plan to get to the top.

A tale of passion, competition, and extreme personality, Fishing on the Edge is a book for anyone who loves the sport of fishing, wants to turn a hobby into a career, or is simply fascinated by a man's unstoppable drive to succeed.

©2005 Mike Iaconelli; (P)2005 Random House, Inc. Random House Audio, a division of Random House, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (55 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (26 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (23 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nate Calamus, IA, USA 12-20-05
    Nate Calamus, IA, USA 12-20-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "what you would expect"

    This wasn't a bad book. Yet it was what you'd expect. The story of Iconelli's life is interesting but not unique enough to be considered compelling. The other problem with the book is that it seems like it was written for a high school english composition class. Ike is really fond of trying to sound hip in his writing, so if you don't want to hear the phrase "I was totally stoked.." a thousand times you had better rethink this purchase. I bought the book hoping for fishing tips. They are there, but they are the same tips found on his web page and don't amount to much taken as a whole.

    With that said, I don't feel like the book is unworthy of a listen. If you like fishing this listen will be moderately worth your time. But don't expect more than Ike can deliver!

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Keith Fond du Lac, WI, USA 09-15-05
    Keith Fond du Lac, WI, USA 09-15-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great Book. Worth a listen."

    A good book for fans of BASS or FLW. Ike's personality shines through and makes for a quick listen. Good stories and some tips. Very entertaining.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    scott 08-19-15
    scott 08-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Mike Iaconelli"

    An Amazing story of struggle. I just wish he spent more time on the fishing tips and less time on his personnel struggles.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    davidcbroussard 07-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Read"

    Very rewarding read and loved that Mike narrated it himself! Look forward to his next book!?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Smith MN United States 06-01-15
    R. Smith MN United States 06-01-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good insights into tournament fishing"
    What made the experience of listening to Fishing on the Edge the most enjoyable?

    Outside my area of interest, and it gave me insight into fishing as a profession rather than a hobby.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Fishing on the Edge?

    How devastating tournament fishing can be to a family.


    What does Mike Iaconelli bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Excellent delivery of his personal story.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jaime E. Lazcano 03-01-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Really enjoyed this fishing book. Mike seems like a good dude. I'm not a bass fisherman but he definitely accomplished his goal and made me feel his passion. Loved his story, and there was definitely more than enough fishing stories in there. Glad to hear there are modern pioneers changing the fishing scene and attracting a younger crowd.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony nyman 02-26-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome book"

    this book is awesome u get to know ike hes an awesome person

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wynn Medford, OR, USA 10-09-05
    Wynn Medford, OR, USA 10-09-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Yawn"

    Whoa! A maverick fisherman. Does it get any more exciting than that? What's next? A book about those crazy maniacs on the pro bowlers tour?

    0 of 8 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.