We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Fibber in the Heat: Following England in India - A Blagger's Tale | [Miles Jupp]

Fibber in the Heat: Following England in India - A Blagger's Tale

Fanatical about cricket since he was a boy, Miles Jupp would do anything to see his heroes play. But perhaps deciding to bluff his way into the press corps during England's Test series in India wasn't his best idea. By claiming to be the cricket correspondent for BBC Scotland and getting a job with the (Welsh) Western Mail, Miles lands the press pass that will surely be the ticket to his dreams. Soon, he finds himself in cricket heaven - drinking with David Gower and Beefy, and sharing bar room banter with Nasser Hussain.
Regular Price:$26.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Fanatical about cricket since he was a boy, Miles Jupp would do anything to see his heroes play. But perhaps deciding to bluff his way into the press corps during England's Test series in India wasn't his best idea. By claiming to be the cricket correspondent for BBC Scotland and getting a job with the (Welsh) Western Mail, Miles lands the press pass that will surely be the ticket to his dreams.

Soon, he finds himself in cricket heaven - drinking with David Gower and Beefy, sharing bar room banter with Nasser Hussain, and swapping diarrhea stories with the Test Match Special team. Amazing! But struggling in the heat under the burden of his own fibs, reality soon catches up with Miles as - like a cricket-obsessed Boot from Evelyn Waugh's Scoop - he bumbles from one disaster to the next.

A joyous, charming, yet cautionary tale, Fibber in the Heat is for anyone who's ever dreamt about doing nothing but watching cricket all day long.

©2012 Miles Jupp (P)2012 Random House Audiobooks

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.8 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    James boxborough, ma, United States 06-15-13
    James boxborough, ma, United States 06-15-13 Member Since 2010

    JimLuckett

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bailed out after 2 chapters -- nothin' happening"
    How could the performance have been better?

    A real voice actor would have done better.


    Any additional comments?

    I gave it a good try, but after 2 chapters with no interesting characters developed and very little plot development, I couldn't go on.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results
Sort by:
  • June
    Leyburn, United Kingdom
    6/18/12
    Overall
    "It's Just Not Cricket!"

    I know absolutely nothing about cricket and wouldn't have read this as a book but I adore Miles Jupp so I wanted to hear this as he is reading it himself.
    It is more than just a cricket book- it is a hilarious listen as he goes through his love of the game and the journey, both actual and spiritual, he takes to what he thinks is going to be his dream job.
    An absolute hoot!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Barry
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    4/13/13
    Overall
    "Superb"

    This started life as a stage show that was hugely enjoyable and has now been extended to full length book. A must for both fans of cricket and for those who are ambivalent, it mixes humour and pathos as it follows Miles Jupp's attempts to pass himself off as a cricket journalist on England's tour of India through to his final realisation of the reality of his love for the game. I saw the show three times; this is a permanent and extended reminder of those, one one that can be listened to again and again.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Simon
    STOCKBRIDGE, United Kingdom
    4/7/13
    Overall
    "Miles Jupp at his best"

    This audio book is awesome, a brilliant accompaniment to TMS!! 10/10, a nice journey of troubles disappointing and triumph, in a cricket kind of way!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Marvin
    Lincoln, United Kingdom
    12/23/12
    Overall
    "Bowled over"

    I am not a fan of cricket at all. However I am a fan of Mr. Jupp. He is someone who is rather embarrassed about being posh but is really funny with it. A very likeable character. On the whole I found this audio book charming, funny and very well read by the author. But I'm afraid I feel I missed out a lot not being a fan of, in my opinion, the very dull game of cricket. If you are a fan of Miles but not a fan of cricket, then still a good listen. If you are fan of cricket but not a fan of Miles, it's still a good listen. If you don't like either, avoid.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Kevin
    Worcester, United Kingdom
    9/11/12
    Overall
    "A good listen for a Cricket fan"

    Quite a good listen really into the goings on of someone trying to be a cricket journalist. Funny in places but definately worth getting if your a cricket fan!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • M
    Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
    7/18/12
    Overall
    "Trials and Tribulations of a Wanna Be!"

    Essential reading for me as a cricket nut who writes a little. The narrative is a little like one of those dreams where you are wading through treacle whilst trying to run a 100m race. His efforts to obtain the coveted media passes were beset by such difficulties, that you could almost touch the frustration. A little dark in places when he becomes disillusioned with his attempts to join the ranks of cricket journalists but it is all handled with humour and a great deal of self-deprecation. I'm glad I listened

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • IYER
    Singapore, Singapore
    12/24/12
    Overall
    "Tragi-comic yarn of chasing a dream"

    A true story that is quite light hearted in its plot line, but stil manages to be touching. Miles Jupp, as can be expected from a comedian with a reputation with children, is very good in the funny parts. But what I found more interesting is the intorspection that he has to go through as the tour does not go well for him at all, in terms of logistical issues, all the time wresting with the reality known only to him that he is an imposter. The darker parts lend balance to the book and enhance it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Barry
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    7/19/12
    Overall
    "From stage to page successfully"

    This narrative started life as a live show which was universally acclaimed - and deservedly so. Now Miles Jupp has expanded this into a full length account of his rather naive attempt to become a cricket journalist on England's tour of India. His performance of the book is every bit as wonderful as the show. Often hilarious, sometimes heart wrenching, always engaging we accompany him as he chases his dream through a whole string of obstacles through to it's - and his - ultimate realisation.

    You don't need to be a cricket fan to enjoy this book. It's a great reminiscence on any level.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Mark
    Bolton, United Kingdom
    12/10/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic Story"
    Would you listen to Fibber in the Heat again? Why?

    This is a great holiday read. Miles Jupp's easy tones make the book a great listen. There are so many anecdotes and events that a second listen is required to take them all in.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Fibber in the Heat?

    When Miles loses his luggage in the airport and at the lost property office the only case left is his. He then recounts the struggle he had in getting the case back.


    What about Miles Jupp’s performance did you like?

    He has a great voice and you can tell he is very passionate about the story and what he went through to get there.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    On a dodgy wicket, Jupp offers his best strokes to stumps!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • R. Cameron
    12/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm not a fan of cricket, but I adore this book."
    Where does Fibber in the Heat rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    "Although proving adept at playing inside out, he was less sure sweeping against the turning ball and eventually perished as he top edged to a leg gully that had been moved finer". Utter gibberish.

    As my title suggests, I have no time at all for cricket. But having fallen in love with Miles' BBC Radio 4 series 'In and Out of the Kitchen', I thought I'd best give this book a go and hope that there's not too much cricket involved. After all, there wasn't much cooking being done by Damien.

    Well... there is. Cricket, I mean. In fact it's absolutely teeming with it. But somehow none of it matters. Beginning with his final tour with Balamory, Miles decides on a whim to become a cricket correspondent - or at least pretend to be one - and travel through India on the back of a few little lies in order to follow the England cricket team.

    Filled with a series of hilarious, socially-awkward moments as Miles' tries to ingratiate himself with his cricketing heroes, this book is bound to make you laugh-out-loud wherever you are. If you're in a public space when listening to this, you'll soon become that crazy person laughing to yourself at the 'shower scene', and many others like it.

    Fans of 'In and Out of the Kitchen' will absolutely adore this book, and it's fast becoming one of my favourites.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 15 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.