We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Closing Time: A Memoir | [Joe Queenan]

Closing Time: A Memoir

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s.
Regular Price:$26.59
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

With sophisticated language and eloquent observations, the author remembers his family's poverty and his alcoholic father's cruelty. Juxtaposing his perceptions as both a child of the 1950s and as an adult long afterwards creates a listening experience both tender and compelling. Johnny Heller's raspy yet soft voice so aptly grasps the clever language and rhythm that no listener will feel, even for a moment, that Heller isn't Joe Queenan. His pace seems rapid at first as he pushes past the writerly phrases and metaphors. However, as the richly told story moves forward, Heller's tempo soon has the effect of facilitating the pleasure that audio listeners search for in literature. More than just childhood memories, This novel captures the attitudes and morés of a time gone by.

Publisher's Summary

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood---with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary---and into the wider world.

Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.

©2009 Joe Queenan; (P)2009 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"Somber and funny.... Unsentimental and brutally honest, Queenan's memoir captures the pathos of growing up in a difficult family and somehow getting beyond it." (Publishers Weekly, Starred Review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (9 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sandra Philomath, OR, United States 12-07-09
    Sandra Philomath, OR, United States 12-07-09 Member Since 2002

    I like unabridged novels. When I first joined Audible, many were abridged. That has changed. Non-fiction, politics, bios are favorites

    HELPFUL VOTES
    112
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "I don't understand"

    This book only had one rating and it was just 2 stars. This is an amazing book. It is sharp, funny, sad and so acute in its description of growing up poor. The author and his sibs were abused by a drunk father and an indifferent mother. He doesn't whine, he tells about his way of surviving.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Raleigh greensboro, NC, United States 11-29-10
    Raleigh greensboro, NC, United States 11-29-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    113
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "some thoughts on a good book"

    bright witty "only son" of an ignorant alcoholic father and detached mother //
    at an early age has to learn to see and navigate the world on his own terms //
    tells his angry story in a charming and eager to please style //


    in time he comes to forgive himself that he could not "make it right" in his family //
    his most enduring achievement is the life and wife and career he is able to put together //
    his father remains a distant monster however until shortly before his cancer death //


    ? do you have a difficult relationship with your father ? //
    ? do you now live a life "miles and miles" away from your childhood ? //
    ? do you enjoy the intersection of insight and anger and humor ? //


    if so this book would be a good choice //
    quibbles about syntax and adjectives seem trite //
    this is a good audio book and i'm glad i picked it //

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Victoria Wright The Berkshires, MA 04-15-10
    Victoria Wright The Berkshires, MA 04-15-10 Member Since 2007

    BookmarkServices.net

    HELPFUL VOTES
    88
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Meh..."

    There are aspects of this book that are compelling, mostly the beginning where, as another reviewer points out, we are taken into the grimier corners of Philadelphia and the home of a kid with a loathsome drunk of a father.

    There was a sense, to me, of the author standing back at some distant, safe remove, telling us what happened instead of showing us, unlike the Glass Castle (a much more moving memoir), which carried the reader right there along with the author every step of the way.

    To be honest, I fell asleep before the end, and I couldn't be bothered to go back for the last hour to hear how it all finally turns out, in part because once our hero is an adult, his story loses interest for me. In much larger part, though, I could not stand the narrator for another minute. His voice is good, but I had the definite feeling that he had not taken the time to read the book once through before going live, so to speak, and I find that irritating. Also, he mispronounces a lot of words, which is a constant refrain of mine. WHY are the publishers so unconcerned about this?!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doug Smith Ashland, NE USA 01-27-10
    Doug Smith Ashland, NE USA 01-27-10 Member Since 2003

    Doug Smith

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Mediocre writing, great autobiography"

    Joe Queenan's lifelong struggle with the demons of his father's alcoholism makes for fascinating listening. I really love this writer. Unfortunately, this book needs heavy editing. There are hundreds if not thousands of trite phrases. Things stink to high heaven. People are mad as hatters. Queenan's attempt here to exercise his powers as a writer results in an overwriting that is undermined by his curious reluctance to strike out cliches.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.