We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End Audiobook

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3

Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

©2005 Jennifer Worth. (P)2014 HighBridge Company.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (700 )
5 star
 (551)
4 star
 (116)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (619 )
5 star
 (477)
4 star
 (110)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (621 )
5 star
 (526)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan 02-20-14
    Jan 02-20-14 Member Since 2011

    Tangential, eclectic, avid listener... favorite book is the one currently in ear.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1993
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    505
    226
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    163
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hated to see it end..."

    "Call The Midwife" was my favorite book last year and I snatched up the last two in the series as quick as I found them. Although each book could stand alone, I still recommend reading it first. This book goes back to the actual midwifery work with real life experiences being shared much like Book 1. Deliveries are followed step by step, botched abortions, infanticide, tuberculosis, single mothers, didn't know was PG moms, hair-raising situations... and again its not for a young reader as real life is accurately portrayed. This book wraps up the work of the midwives, as the 60's brought birth control and the closing of East End "slums" and in the end Jenny shares what happened to all the main characters. If you loved CTM, you will love this. Just as a note the BBC has made it into a popular TV series that can be viewed on Netflix.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. Knight Nashville, TN USA 07-27-15
    D. Knight Nashville, TN USA 07-27-15 Listener Since 2007

    romans55

    HELPFUL VOTES
    116
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gritty and Real"

    There are parts of this series of books that just broke my heart. To hear of the poverty and cruelty of this era and place, was sad as well as graphic. Sometimes you will need a strong stomach, because it is written by a nurse that saw and experienced many atypical things that we wouldn't come across much today. I love the writing and it was hard to see the book series end. All three books were so interesting and well-written. A group of stories that needed to be told.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    614
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    357
    343
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    36
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fitting end to a trilogy"
    Where does Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Fairly high. The memoir series is not complete without it; you find out what happens to all the characters you've come to know and love from Call the Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End?

    Chummy's wedding, by far... very sweet, funny, and touching.


    What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

    This is probably her best performance, better even than Shadows of the Workhouse. I will be checking out other performances of hers. Fun singing, accents, quiet sadness... stunning!


    Any additional comments?

    Great fitting end to a trilogy of short vignets. It is more personal than Shadows of the Workhouse, but not as personal as Call the Midwife. But it is a wonderful addition to any library, a tribute to a bigone era.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Snickerfritz Durham, NC, US 01-22-16
    Snickerfritz Durham, NC, US 01-22-16 Member Since 2013

    Mindy F

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great end of series"

    Well worth the time and effort. The series are well written and the narration was fantastic

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Annalee C. McKay Oakland, CA United States 11-15-15
    Annalee C. McKay Oakland, CA United States 11-15-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Call the Midwife - didn't disappoint"

    The narrator is fantastic, taking on so many different roles. I loved the series. favorite character Sister Monica Joan.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Windsor Heights, IA, United States 10-25-15
    Kathleen Windsor Heights, IA, United States 10-25-15 Member Since 2009

    I prefer Catholic books or books about faith. I also enjoy biograhpies. Very rarely listen to novels. They need to have an impressive story to tell for example "A Prayer for Owen Meany"

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved the end of the trilogy"

    I loved the end of the trilogy. if you haven't read the first two books be sure you do.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Darin Milburn 10-13-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sad this is the last book."

    I could have listened to the books for forever. Such intriguing stories of early medical history all while helping the reader understand the patient and nurses! Loved these books! Narrative was excellent!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 09-20-15
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 09-20-15 Member Since 2016

    Ni

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "tears of sorrow and joy"

    Like the others in this series great joy and sadness expressed eloquently.
    Very lovely listen this.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alenakg 09-19-15
    alenakg 09-19-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a great series and a great final book!"

    I absolutely loved this series of books. The raw emotion of each story was palpable and drew me into every book. A great series!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard Lawry Mena, AR, US 07-24-15
    Richard Lawry Mena, AR, US 07-24-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best ever!"

    The Narrator is wonderful. Story is enthralling. Don't listen to it with children. We loved it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.