We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood | [Teri Garr, Henriette Mantel]

Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood

From the directors she's worked with and admired to the men she's loved; from sipping Cokes with Elvis Presley on Good Friday to hangin' with the Beatles; from her secrets to succeeding in Hollywood without losing her sanity to dealing with the fear and anxiety of being plagued by mysterious physical problems that eluded diagnosis for more than 20 years, the insights in Speedbumps are honest, heartfelt, and often profound.
Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

From the directors she's worked with and admired to the men she's loved; from sipping Cokes with Elvis Presley on Good Friday to hangin' with the Beatles; from her secrets to succeeding in Hollywood without losing her sanity to dealing with the fear and anxiety of being plagued by mysterious physical problems that eluded diagnosis for more than 20 years, the insights in Speedbumps are honest, heartfelt, and often profound.

Since she was eight-years-old, little Terry Ann Garr was a natural performer, staging elaborate productions for the neighborhood in her family's garage. By the age of 17, she was swiveling her hips alongside Elvis and Ann-Margret in Viva Las Vegas.

By the time she was 30, Teri was on her way to becoming known as one of Hollywood's best-loved comic actresses, receiving an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress for her performance alongside Dustin Hoffman in Tootsie.

In October 2002, Teri announced on national television that she had multiple sclerosis, making headlines across the country. Since then, she has become a leading advocate in raising awareness for MS and the latest treatments for the disease.

Now, in a book that is at once Hollywood hilarious and personally moving, Teri writes about her life, speedbumps and all, with the same characteristic wit and warmth that have won the hearts of fans and Hollywood for more than three decades.

©2005 Teri Garr; (P)2005 Penguin Audio, a division of Penguin Group (USA) Inc., and Books on Tape

What the Critics Say

"I've always loved Teri Garr as an actress, now I love her as a writer. Read this book, it's a lesson in courage." (Mel Brooks)
"Readers who liked Lipton's or Hawn's memoirs should enjoy Garr's, too." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (21 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.9 (14 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (14 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Wise & Careful Shopper 10-18-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Best of all, it's NARRATED by Teri Garr, herself!"

    Just listening to dancer/actress/mother/ambassador/chair, Teri Garr, chronicle her childhood and career in her own words, unabridged and punctuated by her own sense of humor, would have been a great way to spend a few hours. And it was! But you get so much more out of this audiobook. This woman has an admirable disposition toward life-- an appreciation of family, hard work, humor, and close friendship that could only lead her to succeed at anything she focuses her attention on. The audiobook is so upbeat, candid, and entertaining that it was as therapeutic as 6 hours out with your best girlfriends. You hear a lot of good stories, you learn some lessons vicariously, and you get inspired to go out and bite the world in the butt. I had so much fun, the minuted it ended, I listened to it all over again. And it was just as much fun the second time! Do yourself a favor: get this audiobook. Then join me in writing Teri Garr a fan letter.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie 03-15-11
    Stephanie 03-15-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    61
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    "Okay, but wanted more"

    Enjoyed listening to this, but somehow was left wanting more. Great to hear it read by the author though.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.