We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Composed: A Memoir | [Rosanne Cash]

Composed: A Memoir

For 30 years as a musician, Rosanne Cash has enjoyed both critical and commercial success, releasing a series of albums that are as notable for their lyrical intelligence as for their musical excellence. Now, in her memoir, Cash writes compellingly about her upbringing in Southern California as the child of country legend Johnny Cash; her relationship with her mother and her famous stepmother, June Carter Cash; and her own development as an artist.
Regular Price:$23.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A candid and moving memoir from the critically acclaimed singer and songwriter.

For 30 years as a musician, Rosanne Cash has enjoyed both critical and commercial success, releasing a series of albums that are as notable for their lyrical intelligence as for their musical excellence. Now, in her memoir, Cash writes compellingly about her upbringing in Southern California as the child of country legend Johnny Cash, and of her relationship with her mother and her famous stepmother, June Carter Cash.

In her account of her development as an artist, she shares memories of a hilarious stint as a 20-year-old working for Columbia Records in London; recording her own first album on a German label; working her way to success; her marriage to Rodney Crowell, a union that made them Nashville's premier couple; her relationship with the country music establishment; and taking a new direction in her music and leaving Nashville to move to New York. She also discusses motherhood; dealing with the deaths of her parents, in part through music; the process of songwriting; and the fulfillment she has found with her current husband and musical collaborator, John Leventhal.

Cash has written an unconventional and compelling memoir that, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher's The Gastronomical Me and Frank Conroy's Stop-Time, is a series of linked pieces that combine to form a luminous and brilliant whole.

©2010 Rosanne Cash (P)2010 Penguin

What the Critics Say

"This work is a rare treat, as Cash, firstborn to country music legend Johnny Cash, is not only a hereditary celebrity musician, having made scores of albums and #1 singles, but a terrific writer in her own right. Indeed, her memoir is an intensely reflective, carefully hewn chronicle of her coming-into-her-own as a writer." (Publishers Weekly)

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (47 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (21 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (20 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    D. Curtis Pennsylvania, USA 01-02-12
    D. Curtis Pennsylvania, USA 01-02-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lots of Music Business Insider Stuff"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    The book is an enjoyable listen, but some of the parts that go into great detail about actual record production bogged down for me. It should be noted, though, that others may find these the most fascinating parts. I preferred the parts that discussed the relationships with people, both famous and not, and many of these anecdotes were delightful.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Composed?

    Rosanne Cash has llived her life among


    What does Rosanne Cash bring to the story that you wouldn???t experience if you just read the book?

    The author is an intelligent, witty woman. She's also an excellent reader of her own writing. She struck the right balance in her reading, not overdramatic, not monotonous. I really felt that nobody else could have brought just the right level of emotion to her story.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.