You no longer follow snd220

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow snd220

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

snd220

ratings
17
REVIEWS
5
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
11

  • Deadlocked: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel, Book 12

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Charlaine Harris
    • Narrated By Johanna Parker
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3574)
    Performance
    (3168)
    Story
    (3173)

    Growing up with telepathic abilities, Sookie Stackhouse realized early on there were things she'd rather not know. And now that she's an adult, she also realizes that some things that she knows about, she'd rather not see—like Eric Northman feeding off another woman. A younger one. There's a thing or two she'd like to say about that, but she has to keep quiet—Felipe de Castro, the Vampire King of Louisiana (and Arkansas and Nevada), is in town.

    pewter says: "Who, What, and Why"
    "Disappointedly Stagnant Story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Johanna Parker did a great job as narrator... she always does. This story didn't really move anything forward. Seriously we already knew that Sookie and Eric were not going to last... the suspense was centered upon how it would end. There were a lot of recaps and mundane notions about Sookie's life. I really could have not read about her going to Taco Bell. I hope the next book will be the last one and it better be freakin fantastic. I feel like I waited a year for nothing.


    What does Johanna Parker bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She's a fantastic narrator and the characters all have distinct voices. She's Sookie down to the tip of her toes.


    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Black Water Rising

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Attica Locke
    • Narrated By Dion Graham
    Overall
    (166)
    Performance
    (76)
    Story
    (74)

    Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl and he runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy strip mall. But he's long since made peace with not living the American Dream and carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

    C. Telfair says: "Promising Young Writer"
    "Compelling Blend of Race, Politics, and History"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about this story?

    I loved the blending of historical and political perspectives. Jay's struggles and worries were compelling. The characters had debth and I really liked the reality of his relationship with his wife.


    What does Dion Graham bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Dion gave Jay's turmoil and fears life... He lifted up Jay's pride in being an organizer and belonging to something greater than himself. He did a great job leading us through the many turns of this story.


    Any additional comments?

    I wanted more... more... more. I wish there was a bit more story to wrap up the path Jay takes at the end.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Nice Girls Don't Live Forever: Jane Jameson, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Molly Harper
    • Narrated By Amanda Ronconi
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3593)
    Performance
    (2755)
    Story
    (2761)

    Nothing sucks the romance out of world travel like a boyfriend who may or may not have broken up with you in a hotel room in Brussels. Jane Jameson's sexy sire Gabriel has always been unpredictable, but the seductive, anonymous notes that await him at each stop of their international vacation, coupled with his evasive behavior over the past few months, finally push Jane onto the next flight home to Half Moon Hollow -- alone, upset, and unsure whether Gabriel just ended their relationship without actually telling her.

    Yuriko says: "Great rap-up!"
    "Funny & Delightful Listen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Molly Harper and/or Amanda Ronconi?

    These books made me laugh out loud often! I enjoyed the pop culture references, the sardonic tone, and the Jane's snarky quips about her family. I have purchased all four books because they were so delightful! While the mystery portion of the story is not terribly thrilling, I looked forward to my commute everyday! If you are looking for an enjoyable story that will keep you smiling most of the day, then purchase the series. Molly Harper has comedic sarcasm down to the very last snarky thought any woman in Jane's situation would have. Amanda Ronconi is a great narrator! I don't think anyone could make Jane as snarky and lovable the way Amanda does!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Shadow Force Series # 4, Night Moves: A Shadow Force Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Stephanie Tyler
    • Narrated By Johanna Parker
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (22)
    Performance
    (18)
    Story
    (19)

    In this exciting addition to the Shadow Force series, Kell Roberts is a loner-but when he encounters Teddie, a beautiful young woman caught in the drug wars of Mexico, he makes it his mission to keep her alive.

    Jan says: "The Best For Last"
    "entertaining listen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Stephanie Tyler and/or Johanna Parker?

    I chose the series because I enjoy Johanna Parker as a narrator.


    Any additional comments?

    While this is not my favorite in the series, I was entertained. I laughed a little and I enjoyed guessing what would happen next. I really like how each of the men have their distinct story lines each blending a little with the previous story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cutting for Stone: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 58 mins)
    • By Abraham Verghese
    • Narrated By Sunil Malhotra
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4927)
    Performance
    (2316)
    Story
    (2330)

    Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Yet it will be love, not politics - their passion for the same woman - that will tear them apart.

    Mary Lynn says: "Brilliant story, pitch perfect narration"
    "Persistence Pays Off - Big Time"
    Overall

    I prematurely pulled this book from my book club recommendation list because I was not sure that everyone would enjoy it given the detailed medical information throughout. I was determined to be persistent for as long as I could, even after I sent the email to my fellow book club members suggesting another book, I kept reading and I am very pleased that I did.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story down to the last line. The characters are wonderfully flawed which draws you in and the story is so rich with unforgettable details regarding the people of African, the history of a hospital that saves a community, and the challenges of Ethiopia. I enjoyed the evolution of Marion’s family and his life. The story is sad at times but always very interesting.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.