Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow madrigan

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow madrigan

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

madrigan

muttman

Campton Hills, Illinois, United States | Member Since 2011

ratings
16
REVIEWS
7
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
3

  • Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly, and the Making of the Modern Middle East

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Scott Anderson
    • Narrated By Malcolm Hillgartner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (289)
    Performance
    (246)
    Story
    (245)

    Based on four years of intensive primary document research, Lawrence in Arabiadefinitively overturns received wisdom on how the modern Middle East was formed. Sweeping in its action, keen in its portraiture, acid in its condemnation of the destruction wrought by European colonial plots, this is a book that brilliantly captures the way in which the folly of the past creates the anguish of the present.

    Charles Fred Smith says: "The "Real" Story"
    "excellent book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Extremely well written. What you always wanted to know about why the middle east is the way it is as a result of western power manipulation. As an Audible audio book: Extremely well narrated. An excellent choice if you like history. A well told story.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Lost Fleet: Dauntless

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Jack Campbell
    • Narrated By Christian Rummel, Jack Campbell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4705)
    Performance
    (3224)
    Story
    (3258)

    Captain John "Black Jack" Geary's legendary exploits are known to every schoolchild. Revered for his heroic "last stand" in the early days of the war, he was presumed dead. But a century later, Geary miraculously returns from survival hibernation and reluctantly takes command of the Alliance fleet as it faces annihilation by the Syndics.

    Appalled by the hero-worship around him, Geary is nevertheless a man who will do his duty. And he knows that bringing the stolen Syndic hypernet key safely home is the Alliance's one chance to win the war. But to do that, Geary will have to live up to the impossibly heroic "Black Jack" legend.

    AudioAddict says: "A hero with a sexy voice!"
    "Outstanding read or listen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I tried out book one of the Lost Fleet series and was hooked. Haven't been able to set these down. Having been a career Marine during the same time as the author was in the US Navy, we shared some of the same experiences of sorts. From book 1 to now 4 I have been thrilled and thoroughly entertained for hours on end.

    I usually listen to a book on my way to and from work, but find that even when I get home I'll continue to listen to the book due to its riveting nature. It is a wonderful ride not only of science fiction but also of leadership which principles are timeless.

    Christian Rummel does an excellent job in this narration and is one of the better audio book narrators in the tradition of George Guidall and Patrick Tull.

    If you want a read or a listen that will capture your attention and keep you on and off the edge of your seat, become a fan of "Black Jack" Geary and the Alliance Fleets struggles to return home.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Lost Fleet: Valiant

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 13 mins)
    • By Jack Campbell
    • Narrated By Christian Rummel
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2860)
    Performance
    (1913)
    Story
    (1922)

    Deep within Syndicate Worlds' space, the Alliance fleet continues its dangerous journey home under the command of Captain John "Black Jack" Geary, who was revived after a century spent in suspended animation. Geary's victories over the enemy have earned him both the respect and the envy of his fellow officers.

    Readalot says: "I like honorable heroes!"
    "You will not be disappointed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I tried out book one of the Lost Fleet series and was hooked. Haven't been able to set these down. Having been a career Marine during the same time as the author was in the US Navy, we shared some of the same experiences of sorts. From book 1 to now 4 I have been thrilled and thoroughly entertained for hours on end.

    I usually listen to a book on my way to and from work, but find that even when I get home I'll continue to listen to the book due to its riveting nature. It is a wonderful ride not only of science fiction but also of leadership which principles are timeless.

    Christian Rummel does an excellent job in this narration and is one of the better audio book narrators in the tradition of George Guidall and Patrick Tull.

    If you want a read or a listen that will capture your attention and keep you on and off the edge of your seat, become a fan of "Black Jack" Geary and the Alliance Fleets struggles to return home.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carte Blanche: The New James Bond Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By Jeffery Deaver
    • Narrated By Toby Stephens
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (547)
    Performance
    (357)
    Story
    (368)

    Fresh from Afghanistan, James Bond has been recruited to a new agency. Conceived in the post-9/11 world, it operates independent of Five, Six and the MoD, its very existence deniable. Its aim: to protect the Realm, by any means necessary. The Night Action alert calls Bond from dinner with a beautiful woman. GCHQ has decrypted an electronic whisper about an attack scheduled for later in the week: casualties estimated in the thousands, British interests adversely affected.

    britishbob says: "Worth The Time"
    "Superb 007 thriller"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A few things stand out in this modern version of 007 by Jeffrey Deaver: While the author updates the Operative from HM Secret Service to MI6 with all the technology that the present provides, there is no sacrificing the depth and strength of the original Ian Fleming character. Furthermore, the author gives each character depth with a richness of strengths and flaws. Hard to put down or turn off, the story travels a road filled with rich descriptions and explanations without getting lost along the way. Every twist and turn excites and stimulates the senses. What is even better is that the narration is one of best I've ever listened to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Crescent Dawn: A Dirk Pitt Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Clive Cussler, Dirk Cussler
    • Narrated By Scott Brick
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1271)
    Performance
    (723)
    Story
    (729)

    In A.D. 327, a Roman galley barely escapes a pirate attack with its extraordinary cargo. In 1916, a British warship mysteriously explodes in the middle of the North Sea. In the present day, a cluster of important mosques in Turkey and Egypt are wracked by explosions. Does anything tie them together? NUMA director Dirk Pitt is about to find out.

    Michael says: "Something new from Cussler"
    "Crescent Dawn is one you can pass up"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I am a big Clive Cussler fan, but this was the first audio Cussler that I have tried. The story is as good as his other books, but I found the narration banal and uninteresting. I will stick with paperpacks of Clive Cussler in the future.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs)
    • By Laura Hillenbrand
    • Narrated By Edward Herrmann
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (11485)
    Performance
    (7467)
    Story
    (7502)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: Seabiscuit was a runaway success, and Hillenbrand’s done it again with another true-life account about beating unbelievable odds. On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared.....

    Anastasia Burke says: "Hillenbrand could make even laundry fascinating!"
    "A must have"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Having briefly known Lou Zamparini growing up in Hollywood I was amazed when I picked up the book and saw Laura Hillenbrand had written about his life. To us kids he was a champion but he never talked about his experiences much. It is a wonderful book that is powerful and riveting. Well narrated, I was disappointed when the ride was over.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Eric Greitens
    • Narrated By Eric Greitens
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (744)
    Performance
    (556)
    Story
    (559)

    Like many young idealists, Eric Greitens wanted to make a difference. During college and afterward, he traveled to the world's trouble spots, working in refugee camps, serving the sick and the poor on four continents, from Gaza to Croatia to Mother Teresa's home in Calcutta, among others. Yet he could not prevent violence or save anyone from becoming a refugee; he could only step in afterward and try to ease the damage. So Eric joined the Navy SEALs and became an elite warrior....

    Kristopher says: "One of the best books on Audible"
    "A superb book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Eric Greitens story is a must hear or read. Well written and poignant. Purposeful and well narrated by the author I was disappointed when the ride was all over.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.