Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow S. Casey

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow S. Casey

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

S. Casey

Lakewood, CA, USA

ratings
169
REVIEWS
3
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
2
HELPFUL VOTES
69

  • Illuminatus! Part I: The Eye in the Pyramid

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Robert Shea, Robert Anton Wilson
    • Narrated By Ken Campbell, Chris Fairbank
    Overall
    (207)
    Performance
    (90)
    Story
    (92)

    The Illuminati, an inside joke? The lunatic fringe? Or a vast conspiracy hidden for centuries, unleashing it's power on a naive, defenseless world? It was the lousy luck of Saul Goodman, a tough, streetwise New York detective, to smell the trail in a bombed-out office - the heavy case he'd always dreaded. In a breakneck race against an awesome deadline, Goodman plunges down the trail of the ultimate conspiracy as the days fall away toward Apocalypse.

    Amazon Customer says: "Over the Top and Proud of It"
    "Excellent, and Misunderstood"
    Overall

    This is one of the best books I've listened to. The confusion and disapproval illustrated by previous listeners, is probably due to a misunderstanding. This is the first third of a novel that was divided into 3 books because at the time it was too enormous to be published in the genre.
    I'd highly recommend reading the rest of the book before judging the download.
    If they don't release the rest of it, I'd imagine they'll have very limited success with the audiobook.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • The Taking

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By Ari Meyers
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (528)
    Performance
    (128)
    Story
    (132)

    On the morning that will mark the end of the world they have known, Molly and Neil Sloan awaken to the drumbeat of rain on their roof. It has haunted their sleep, invaded their dreams, and now they rise to find a luminous silvery downpour drenching their small California mountain town. A strange scent hangs faintly in the air, and the young couple cannot shake the sense of something wrong.

    Jaimie says: "And the point was...?"
    "Stunningly Bad"
    Overall

    This story of alien invasion and the end of the world is an exercise in "literary stank".
    The listener gets the impression that the author is attempting to reach a new level of artistic integrity with this novel. He does this by the most extensive use of 50-cent words I've seen in my life. If a prize were awarded for bludgeoning the reader with MegaWords this book would be receiving accolades.
    One positive note:
    The story does seem to flounder between moral tale and alien invasion. It has a brooding schizophrenic quality that makes the reader dizzy and nauseous. Think of riding a poorly-maintained rollercoaster, naked, at gunpoint, while having to pee really bad. Only not that much fun.
    Wait, that wasn't positive. I can say nothing good about this book.
    If you're interested by the premise, get Dreamcatcher by Stephen King.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Altered Carbon

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Richard K. Morgan
    • Narrated By Todd McLaren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3328)
    Performance
    (1543)
    Story
    (1552)

    In the 25th century, humankind has spread throughout the galaxy, monitored by the watchful eye of the U.N. While divisions in race, religion, and class still exist, advances in technology have redefined life itself. Now, assuming one can afford the expensive procedure, a person's consciousness can be stored in a cortical stack at the base of the brain and easily downloaded into a new body (or "sleeve") making death nothing more than a minor blip on a screen.

    Jake Williams says: "Altered Carbon"
    "Harder Than Gibson"
    Overall

    The Takeshi Kovacs (pronounced Kovotch) novels have revitalised interest in the long-dormant cyberpunk genre. Mr. Morgan has created a believable future, with a wonderful anti-hero in the tradition of Philip Marlowe, Holden Caulfield, and Yancy Slide. This story has all of the action you'd expect from a work like DaVinci Code, but less slipshod and implausible. It's harder and more brutal than the early woks of Gibson, yet it maintains a three-dimensional quality rarely found in the sci-fi.

    61 of 66 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.