You no longer follow Mary

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mary

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mary

Memphis TN 38117 | Member Since 2011

23
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 12 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Double Dexter: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 31 mins)
    • By Jeff Lindsay
    • Narrated By Jeff Lindsay
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (723)
    Performance
    (619)
    Story
    (622)

    Dexter Morgan is not your average serial killer. He enjoys his day job as a blood spatter analyst for the Miami Police Department... but he lives for his nighttime hobby of hunting other killers. Dexter is therefore not pleased to discover that someone is shadowing him, observ­ing him, and copying his methods. Dexter is not one to tol­erate displeasure... in fact, he has a knack for extricating himself from trouble in his own pleasurable way.

    phillip says: "Doting Daddy Dexter Delivers D'goods!"
    "I could not listen to the narrator"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I usually enjoy the Dexter books but I could not get past the first 15 minutes of this book because the sound quality is extremely poor (on a scale of 1 to 10 - I would give it a minus 1 million - it's really that bad) and the narrator does an even worse job. Really, really bad job and impossible to hear/listen to. I am considering contacting audible about a refund it is so badly produced. Just terrible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Natchez Burning: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (35 hrs and 53 mins)
    • By Greg Iles
    • Narrated By David Ledoux
    Overall
    (383)
    Performance
    (353)
    Story
    (354)

    Raised in the historic southern splendor of Natchez, Mississippi, Penn Cage learned all he knows of honor and duty from his father, Dr. Tom Cage. But now the beloved family doctor has been accused of murdering Viola Turner, the African-American nurse with whom he worked in the dark days of the 1960s. Penn is determined to save his father, but Tom, stubbornly invoking doctor-patient privilege, refuses to even speak in his own defense.

    Carolyn says: "Can't get past reader"
    "Terrible Narrator - Really, really BAD"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made Natchez Burning better?

    Someone else reading it. A pro like Scott Brick or Dick Hill. Lorelei King would have been a million times better than this guy!


    What could Greg Iles have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Love Greg Iles - hate this narrator's performance so much that I could not get through the first chapter.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    In everyway possible. Over-acted, no enunciation, way too much voice inflection. Just terrible, terrible performance. The company that released it would do well to just toss this performance and get someone else to read it.


    What character would you cut from Natchez Burning?

    none. I couldn't get through the first chapter because of the narrator.


    Any additional comments?

    I vote to permanently ban the narrator from ever performing on another audio book.

    21 of 22 people found this review helpful
  • Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By E. L. James
    • Narrated By Becca Battoe
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (14486)
    Performance
    (11888)
    Story
    (12512)

    When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

    Kd says: "Really 2.5"
    "A Disappointment"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I purchased this book because of all of the hype and was badly disappointed. Honestly, the premise seemed to me to be a lot like the Twilight stories. Other than the 'porn parts' the story seemed directed to the 12 to 14 yr old girl set. I found the heroine to be completely and totally unrealistic. I mean seriously, a normal, healthy, attractive female of 22+ years - recent college graduate and she had absolutely zero sexual experience.
    The narration sounded more mature than the first narrator but only slightly. I would have guessed that the main character was 13 to 16 years old from the dialog and her general demeanor. I will not be purchasing the other two books in the series.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Vince Flynn
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3981)
    Performance
    (3421)
    Story
    (3399)

    For months, Mitch Rapp has been steadily working his way through a list of men, bullet by bullet. With each kill, the tangled network of monsters responsible for the slaughter of 270 civilians becomes increasingly clear. He is given his next target: a plump Libyan diplomat who is prone to drink and is currently in Paris without a single bodyguard. Rapp finds him completely unprotected and asleep in his bed. With confidence in his well-honed skills and conviction of the man’s guilt, he easily sends a bullet into the man’s skull. But in the split second it takes the bullet to leave the silenced pistol, everything changes.

    Elle says: "I'd listen to Guidall read the tax code, so..."
    "I had trouble hearing"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I had A LOT of trouble hearing/understanding the narration. I think it was the production rather than the story or the performer. It sounded like they recorded it in an echo chamber. I could not enjoy the story or the performance.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Moon Called: Mercy Thompson, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By Patricia Briggs
    • Narrated By Lorelei King
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4003)
    Performance
    (2566)
    Story
    (2570)

    Mercy Thompson's life is not exactly normal. Her next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she's fixing a VW bus for a vampire. But then, Mercy isn't exactly normal herself.

    Susan says: "I love this series.."
    "Lorelai King is the reason I got this book and"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I was not at all disappointed. The performances of Ms. King are always superb. She is the absolute best at what she does! If I could give her 10 stars, I would! This is the second time I have purchased a book simply because Ms. King was the performer!
    As to the story: I enjoyed it with one exception. The author simply introduced too many characters at the same time and it was a little hard to follow as a result. You can tell that she was setting up for a series of books in which some of these characters will re-appear. Other than that, it was a good and interesting read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 11-22-63: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (30 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Stephen King
    • Narrated By Craig Wasson
    Overall
    (17203)
    Performance
    (15282)
    Story
    (15235)

    On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? In this brilliantly conceived tour de force, Stephen King - who has absorbed the social, political, and popular culture of his generation more imaginatively and thoroughly than any other writer - takes listeners on an incredible journey into the past and the possibility of altering it.

    Kelly says: "I Owe Stephen King An Apology"
    "Captivating, exciting and overall excellent read"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I have not read anything by S. King in some time, and was pleasantly surprised at how engaging this story was. It was thought provoking and masterfully told. I remember the time just before and after JFK was murdered and King completely captures the attitudes and the overall condition of the country. For the most part, the dialog is spot-on and the narrator does a very good job. I recommend this book to any and every one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (486)
    Performance
    (220)
    Story
    (220)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "Did not enjoy this book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I could not get through it. I tried for 2 weeks to make myself listen and just couldn't. The main character went from being head over heels in love with the victim, to just being friends, to mourning her, to being attracted to someone else, to whatever in every single paragraph. Seriously, this happened at least 4 or 5 times per chapter with little explained motivation. It made no sense. There was no logical thought process. I get conflicted and mixed emotions but this was like a multiple personality disorder on speed.
    Over all, the book was very disorganized, plodding, slow moving and difficult to understand. The characters lacked depth and development which made them hard to get invested in much less like or dislike. I do not recommend this book. Sorry.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Breath of Scandal

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Sandra Brown
    • Narrated By Dick Hill
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1140)
    Performance
    (647)
    Story
    (641)

    On a rainy Southern night, Jade Sperry endured a young woman's worst nightmare at the hands of three local hell-raisers. Robbed of her youthful ideals and at the center of scandal and tragedy, Jade ran as far and as fast as she could. But she never forgot the sleepy "company town" where every man, woman, and child was dependent on one wealthy family.

    Margaret says: "Lifted by Narration"
    "Did not care much for anything about this book."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I felt that there were too many graphic descriptions of sex that were all very poorly written. I don't mind sex scenes when they contribute to the story and are well written but these were obviously gratuitous and canned and it seemed like there was one every other track. The story itself seemed re-cycled and tired. It was predictable to the point of boring. Further the characters were totally one-dementional with zero depth.
    I am from the south and very familiar with the accents from the region where the book was set and the performance by the narrator of the female characters was so stereo-typical and false, it was almost insulting.
    I will probably never purchase another book by Sandra Brown.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.