You no longer follow Mary

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mary

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mary

ratings
9
REVIEWS
3
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
6

  • Collins Spanish with Paul Noble - Learn Spanish the Natural Way, Part 1

    • ORIGINAL (4 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Paul Noble
    • Narrated By Paul Noble
    Overall
    (224)
    Performance
    (180)
    Story
    (168)

    Collins Spanish with Paul Noble combines an exciting, new non-traditional approach to language learning with the easy, relaxed appeal of an audio-only product.No books. No rote memorisation. No chance of failure.

    Joy T. says: "I've listened to the rest, this is the best!"
    "Excellent Spanish Tutorial!!!!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    As Paul Noble himself once suffered, so I too have suffered through Spanish lessons before, all to no avail. I found this Spanish course to be vastly different, however, and a great way to break out of the conjugated-verbs-and-memorized-vocabulary Spanish of my past. Paul does a great job of making the lessons more conversational and intuitive, making them easier to remember. I'm usually a very visual learner, but I found this all-audio version to be a great way to beef up my listening and speaking skills. I will note, however, that for anyone looking to really learn Spanish (and not just use it on vacation or conversationally), you will need some kind of text companion to help with things like grammar rules, spelling, and other not-so-fun items. That being said, this is a fantastic audiobook for anyone looking to break out of their beginner Spanish lessons!

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Erik Larson
    • Narrated By Stephen Hoye
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2549)
    Performance
    (1887)
    Story
    (1891)

    The time is 1933, the place, Berlin, when William E. Dodd becomes America’s first ambassador to Hitler’s Germany in a year that proved to be a turning point in history. A mild-mannered professor from Chicago, Dodd brings along his wife, son, and flamboyant daughter, Martha. At first Martha is entranced by the parties and pomp, and the handsome young men of the Third Reich with their infectious enthusiasm for restoring Germany to a position of world prominence. Enamored of the “New Germany,” she has one affair after another....

    Chris says: "Frightening, Powerful, Deeply Thought-provoking."
    "Incredibly well-researched book!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I really enjoyed this book. It was such an interesting glimpse of life in the Nazi era and how things got so bad without any intervention. And no matter what you think of the story, Erik Larson does an incredible amount of research, and it certainly shows. I was sad when the story ended, because I wanted to learn more about what happens afterwards.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2156)
    Performance
    (1975)
    Story
    (1991)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Made me look forward to my long commute to work!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Jenny is hysterical, even turning her debilitating anxiety into hilarious yet humbling stories about social awkwardness that most people can relate to. Her childhood in rural Texas is nearly unbelievable, unless of course you also grew up in a small town, then you know it's all totally based on truth. There are also a couple of very poignant, personal chapters that made me cry, showing Jenny to be more than just a funny girl - she's also a loving mother, devoted wife, and caring friend. I really enjoyed this audiobook and actually looked forward to my long, daily commute!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.