Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Mark Miller

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mark Miller

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mark Miller

markymiller

richmond, BC Canada

30
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 23 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 3 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Yes, Chef: A Memoir

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By Marcus Samuelsson
    • Narrated By Marcus Samuelsson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (417)
    Performance
    (369)
    Story
    (363)

    It begins with a simple ritual: Every Saturday afternoon, a boy who loves to cook walks to his grandmother’s house and helps her prepare a roast chicken for dinner. The grandmother is Swedish, a retired domestic. The boy is Ethiopian and adopted, and he will grow up to become the world-renowned chef Marcus Samuelsson. This book is his love letter to food and family in all its manifestations. Yes, Chef chronicles Marcus Samuelsson’s remarkable journey from Helga’s humble kitchen to the opening of the beloved Red Rooster in Harlem.

    loix says: "A fun and inspiring civics lesson"
    "Has all the right ingredients but overcooked"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I wanted hard to really like this book but in the end was disappointed - I ended up not really liking Marcus (especially after I watched him on MasterChef) and I felt that the book could have been 25% shorter. That said I thought the book was fine, but nothing special.

    To be fair his tale is quite cool starting with his adoption, his incredible Swedish parents and his drive to succeed especially having to battle against stereotyping. I guess all chefs that are successful have to be a little bit crazy and egotistical to make it up through the ranks of that profession. If the book is to be believed (which I think it can) then good old Gordon Ramsay is ever so slightly racist and should perhaps swap his current Kitchen whites for Klan whites. Shame on him, I grew up in Scotland and know what it was like - but Gordon like many, should know better now.

    I was hoping that the rags to riches/underdog tale would have left me feeling better about Marcus's rise to fame, though I do have to admire and respect him for his focus, determination and culinary skills.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Every Nation for Itself: Winners and Losers in a G-Zero World

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Ian Bremmer
    • Narrated By Willis Sparks
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (24)
    Performance
    (19)
    Story
    (19)

    Forget the G-7 and the G-20; we are entering a leaderless "G- Zero" era- with profound implications for every country and corporation. The world power structure is facing a vacuum at the top. With the unifying urgency of the financial crisis behind us, the diverse political and economic values of the G-20 are curtailing the world's most powerful governments' ability to mediate growing global challenges. There is no viable alternative group to take its place.

    Mark Miller says: "Well articulated and thought provoking"
    "Well articulated and thought provoking"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I stumbled on to this author (and the book) via the Planet Money podcast, I really enjoyed the podcast so followed up with the book.

    Loved the book, insightful, rational and very listenable. Take a listen to the podcast on NPR Planet Money if you are unsure.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1821)
    Performance
    (1662)
    Story
    (1675)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Stick to the blog"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I started off loving this book. The style is unique, the stories funny and the first few chapters whizz by with occasional LOL moments. Then you start to note the repetition ; the jokes become predictable and a little formulaic. Throw in some melodrama, a few F-bombs, a misunderstanding and bang you have another chapter.

    Not for me, I switched off half way through the book. I do love the blog - for some reason it's easier to drop in periodically and read the posts versus sitting down and consuming it in story form all at once. Maybe too much of a good thing......

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Charles Duhigg
    • Narrated By Mike Chamberlain
    Overall
    (4620)
    Performance
    (3903)
    Story
    (3872)

    At its core, The Power of Habit contains an exhilarating argument: The key to exercising regularly, losing weight, raising exceptional children, becoming more productive, building revolutionary companies and social movements, and achieving success is understanding how habits work. Habits aren’t destiny. As Charles Duhigg shows, by harnessing this new science, we can transform our businesses, our communities, and our lives.

    Mehra says: "Nice! A guide on how to change"
    "Entertaining and informative!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    One of my favourite business books of the past few years.

    The stories and examples are both informative and entertaining; so many business books are strong starters and then get progressively weaker as the chapters progress. Not this book, I was held all the way to the end.

    Fun to listen to and helpful if you are struggling with bad habits.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 23 mins)
    • By Shawn Achor
    • Narrated By Shawn Achor
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1529)
    Performance
    (843)
    Story
    (829)

    Conventional wisdom holds that if we work hard we will be more successful, and if we are more successful, then we’ll be happy. If we can just find that great job, win that next promotion, lose those five pounds, happiness will follow. But recent discoveries in the field of positive psychology have shown that this formula is actually backward: Happiness fuels success, not the other way around. When we are positive, our brains become more engaged, creative, motivated, energetic, resilient, and productive at work.

    Roy says: "Very Informative Application of Positive Psycholog"
    "Save yourself the money, just watch the TED talk"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    For me the book is a long winded pitch for the DVD and/or consulting.

    It's a solid premise and yes its based on the latest research but it doesn't offer the concrete "how to" I would have liked. I had watched the TED talk and loved it, purchased the book and didn't really feel any better equipped on how to put it all into practice. Cue a lucrative consulting arrangement or DVD sale for Shawn.

    26 of 27 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.