You no longer follow Lynn

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Lynn

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Lynn

doclynn

La Mesa, CA, United States | Member Since 2011

11
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 18 ratings
  • 130 titles in library
  • 11 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Midnight Riot: Peter Grant, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Ben Aaronovitch
    • Narrated By Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1427)
    Performance
    (1307)
    Story
    (1304)

    Probationary constable Peter Grant dreams of being a detective in London's Metropolitan Police. Too bad his superior plans to assign him to the Case Progression Unit, where the biggest threat he'll face is a paper cut. But Peter's prospects change in the aftermath of a puzzling murder, when he gains exclusive information from an eyewitness who happens to be a ghost. Peter's ability to speak with the lingering dead brings him to the attention of Detective Chief Inspector Thomas Nightingale....

    Nancy J says: "I LOVE this Book!"
    "Hilarious, Action-packed, and perfectly performed!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I bought this book on a recent trip to London (under its original title, "Rivers of London,") and enjoyed it immensely... But the audio version is even better! Part of the fun in this series is that the main character is a mixed-race copper who is constantly interacting with all the different groups in London's ethnic/class melting pot. Kobna Holdbrook-Smith has the astonishing ability to handle all the different dialects, switching seamlessly between them as the characters converse. It's vastly better than the version I had in my head (especially being an American).

    As for the story itself, what's not to like about a novel in which a snarky young constable suddenly finds himself recruited into the branch of the Metropolitan Police that handles all the "funny business" (magic)?

    Full of detail and color about the city of London, packed with delightful, memorable, and even poignant characters, and with a rollicking plot that never stops moving, I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • As If an Enemy's Country: The British Occupation of Boston and the Origins of Revolution: Oxford University Press: Pivotal Moments in US History

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Richard Archer
    • Narrated By Fred Stella
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (13)
    Performance
    (8)
    Story
    (8)

    In the dramatic few years when colonial Americans were galvanized to resist British rule, perhaps nothing did more to foment anti-British sentiment than the armed occupation of Boston. As If an Enemy's Country is Richard Archer's gripping narrative of those critical months between October 1, 1768 and the winter of 1770 when Boston was an occupied town.

    Lynn says: "A fascinating topic, but reads like a Ph.D. thesis"
    "A fascinating topic, but reads like a Ph.D. thesis"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    As a former Boston resident, I really, really wanted to like this book...but for my taste, it was pretty dry stuff. I generally like histories featuring cultural, societal, and biographical tidbits -- I want a story about colorful individuals, vividly set in a different world -- but this book focuses largely on groups. Near the end it picks up energy, and the description of the Boston Massacre is absolutely gripping... But the book could have been so much better. The narration is a bit odd: the narrator has a very resonant voice, but his delivery is so mechanical it sounds almost artificial.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Murder on the Orient Express: A Hercule Poirot Mystery

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Agatha Christie
    • Narrated By David Suchet
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (992)
    Performance
    (588)
    Story
    (582)

    Savor one of the most clever of Christie's suspenseful classics. An American businessman is stabbed to death aboard a luxury train, the Orient Express, snowbound in the middle of Europe. Nothing escapes the eagle eye and quick intelligence of the great Hercule Poirot, and clues abound. Sorting through a dozen perfectly respectable passengers, all suspects, Poirot is tenacious in his pursuit of the truth.

    Glenda Fuller says: "Great Story and Well Read"
    "Fun Even if You Aren't a Christie Fan"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I got this to listen to with my husband on a long drive, and it really is delightful! I confess that I find Agathat Christie's novels so creaky as to be almost unreadable, but David Suchet does such a terrific job reading this that even I thoroughly enjoyed it. And my husband, who has a higher tolerance for antique mysteries than I do, absolutely loved it.

    After a few minutes you can almost forget that one person is doing all the voices. He even does the young women's voices well, which can't be easy. It's quite wonderful to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • An Instance of the Fingerpost

    • ABRIDGED (5 hrs and 58 mins)
    • By Iain Pears
    • Narrated By Paul Michael
    Overall
    (87)
    Performance
    (32)
    Story
    (32)

    An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses, only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it?

    James C says: "A Work of True Genius"
    "Eviscerated rather than abridged"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I confess that when I downloaded this, I didn't notice that itt was abridged. I had read the book years ago and thought it was incredibly good: a thought-provoking look at a society just beginning to think scientifically, wrapped in a shifting story centered on the mysterious central character.

    To my horror, the "abridgment" simply cuts out all the meat of the story with an ax, leaving us with a threadbare little Rashomon story. It's a horrible thing to inflict on a magnificent book.

    Having said that... The reader is truly wonderful. Not only does he bring the accents of the characters to life (including Italian-accented British English and Robert Boyle's Scots burr), but he can switch accents in mid-sentence to accommodate both a narrator and a conversation.

    My advice is read the book -- it's terrific. Look for other readings by Paul Michael. And with any luck someday an unabridged "Instance of the Fingerpost" will join the unabridged "Stone's Fall" (another shockingly good book by Iain Pears, this one about the rise of international capitalism... Wrapped in a very readable mystery) on Audible's virtual shelves.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.