You no longer follow Linda

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Linda

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Linda

San Luis Obispo, CA, USA | Member Since 2006

60
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 19 ratings
  • 366 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By E. L. James
    • Narrated By Becca Battoe
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (16238)
    Performance
    (13498)
    Story
    (14123)

    When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

    Amazon Customer says: "Holy Crap minus the Holy"
    "Save Yourself"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I have no idea how anyone can enjoy this book.


    What was most disappointing about E L James’s story?

    This book was so hyped, I thought it had to have some redeeming value. It is poorly written and the characters are annoying. It was the opposite of erotic. I am pretty sure a group of high school girls wrote it as a joke.


    44 of 51 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2034)
    Performance
    (1863)
    Story
    (1879)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Every Negative Reviewer is Just Jealous!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes, her stories are so funny and self absorbed you get sucked into her reality. I would read it again just to see if I could be objective.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Hello? Jenny of course, though Victor must be a saint.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She lived it, or imagined it, not sure.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Pretty much the whole thing made me laugh.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm pretty sure there is no Jenny Lawson; she is a character created by Christopher Moore.

    15 of 21 people found this review helpful
  • Horns: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Joe Hill
    • Narrated By Fred Berman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1475)
    Performance
    (1049)
    Story
    (1056)

    Ignatius Perrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things. He woke up the next morning with a thunderous hangover, a raging headache, and a pair of horns growing from his temples. At first Ig thought the horns were a hallucination, the product of a mind damaged by rage and grief. He had spent the last year in a lonely, private purgatory, following the death of his beloved, Merrin Williams, who was raped and murdered under inexplicable circumstances.

    bet says: "people are funny"
    "EH"
    Overall

    I really liked Joe Hill's first book, Heart Shaped Box - found it entertaining, clever and engaging. Horns has one element, it is clever, but it reads like a high school short story that was developed into a novel, without the character substance to support a novel. It either should have stayed a short story or offered a more complex story line or characters. The book has moments and the concept was interesting, but some of it was just boring, really boring.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.