Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Jessica Bahr

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jessica Bahr

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jessica Bahr

Madison, WI | Member Since 2013

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 ratings
  • 35 titles in library
  • 7 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
1
FOLLOWERS
4

  • Compelling People: The Hidden Qualities That Make Us Influential

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 1 min)
    • By John Neffinger, Matthew Kohut
    • Narrated By Tim Andres Pabon
    Overall
    (44)
    Performance
    (38)
    Story
    (39)

    You will never look at people the same way again - including yourself - after this lively look at how we make character judgments. Drawing on cutting-edge social science research as well as their own work with Fortune 500 executives, members of Congress, and Nobel Prize winners, authors Matt Kohut and John Neffinger demystify the process we use to size each other up.

    Jessica Bahr says: "Fantastic read on the subconscious of influence"
    "Fantastic read on the subconscious of influence"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Compelling People rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It does not speak about the typical ways to influence others (mirroring, etc.) but delves into the subconscious. The authors state that people exhibit a mixture of warmth and strength which are similar to leading through fear or compassion.

    The author also touches on stereotypes and speaks to the danger of exhibiting characteristics which pigeon hole you into a negative stereotype. IE Why Obama can never exhibit anger less he fall into the "angry black man" stereotype.

    It's a great read.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Julie Klausner
    • Narrated By Julie Klausner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (152)
    Performance
    (140)
    Story
    (141)

    In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls.

    Stephanie says: "pretty raunchy"
    "Chauvinistic and Homophobic"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made I Don’t Care about Your Band better?

    The author begins the book with, "I love men so much that I've never once considered what it would be like to take a break from dating them or to focus my mind on other things besides falling in love with one or to look for work in a field that is more female dominated or anything else lesbians suggest you do after a guy breaks your heart".

    The author categorizes any woman who doesn't make dating a priority as a "lesbian" and then speaks about lesbians as if they are evil doers trying to pry women away from men.


    What could Julie Klausner have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Nothing.


    How could the performance have been better?

    If she would have choked during the first few minutes of reading it.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No.


    Any additional comments?

    Don't waste your time or money.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • How to Be a Woman

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 45 mins)
    • By Caitlin Moran
    • Narrated By Caitlin Moran
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (426)
    Performance
    (393)
    Story
    (392)

    Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven't been burned as witches since 1727, life isn't exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them? Caitlin Moran interweaves provocative observations on women's lives with laugh-out-loud funny scenes from her own, from adolescence to her development as a writer, wife, and mother.

    L. Calder says: "Hysterical manual for the 21st century woman"
    "Must Read!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about How to Be a Woman?

    The author, who narrates the book, does not just tell the story of her life but offers lessons learned the read can take away.


    What about Caitlin Moran’s performance did you like?

    Her voice is amazing.


    If you could give How to Be a Woman a new subtitle, what would it be?

    The book you wish you had when puberty hit.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.