You no longer follow Jennifer

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Jennifer

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Jennifer

Akron, OH, United States | Member Since 2011

44
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 ratings
  • 687 titles in library
  • 175 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2044)
    Performance
    (1873)
    Story
    (1889)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Loved it! So funny, touching, insightful--great!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes it's very funny (and a little sad at times) but I was very drawn into her world and in fact many of the things she did and said resonated with me - as in - I've had some of those same thoughts and it was comforting to hear her talk about them with humor -very witty and fast.





    Who was your favorite character and why?

    It'd have to be between the squirrel puppet and........no just kidding - Jenny is the main character and she is super funny, her husband is a great sounding board and her editor works hard to keep her grounded. Her dad sounds great, too, I'd take any dead animal to him without reservation.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    Herself


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes and when it was finished I started it over (I'm on the 3rd listening now, a very rare thing for me to do, actually).


    Any additional comments?

    This was a very funny, wacky and interesting book - I liked her cadence and thought she sounded perfect, she speaks with a fast cadence which perfectly fits her "stories" and her personality - I hadn't heard of her until this book but I'm a fan. Not a facebook fan, I hate facebook. But liked her book and I'd buy another if she wrote/writes one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Hilarious

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 19 mins)
    • By Louis C. K.
    Overall
    (160)
    Performance
    (142)
    Story
    (143)

    Louis C.K.'s unique observations of everyday life go way beyond politically incorrect and his views of human behavior are more than hilarious in this stand-up event. Filmed at the Pabst Theater in Milwaukee, WI, C.K.'s performance proves he is every bit the title of his special.

    colleen says: "Funny but way too short"
    "laugh out loud FUNNY (seriously)"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to Hilarious the most enjoyable?

    He is so dry, droll and it ends up just funny! Some of it might offend someone who is . . .delicate? Or someone who takes what he is saying "too literally"? IT'S JOKES, whether or not you agree with what he is saying----if we were all the same and all had the same thoughts NO ONE would be funny - - we'd all just be the same. It's comedy. And hil-ar-i-ous. Seriously.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Loved it all. What did I like least? (can I not even wait to see if this is a question?) It was way too short, and since I wanted to hear more I came back to audible but this is currently the only Louis CK thing available (!). Bummer.


    What does the narrator bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Not really a story, question N/A


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    I'm not funny like this book is so you'd have to check w/Louis C.K. for the tag line.


    Any additional comments?

    Funnnnnny. Funny. I usually never leave comments (only if I've really hated something, e.g., Shades of Grey or whatever that $&*^ stupid book is called, I got tricked into thinking it was a great new book - HA - PORN (actually LORN, light porn) is more like it, and I'm not stodgy, just discerning and that was a HORRIBLE book I couldn't get through 10 minutes, ick--that was the only review I've ever left and I've bought 100's of books from audible, like over 300 (don't tell my husband ha ha)) but I just wanted to say: this is TOTALLY worth listening to, albeit it's way too short, but FUNNNNY.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By E. L. James
    • Narrated By Becca Battoe
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (16330)
    Performance
    (13582)
    Story
    (14207)

    When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

    Amazon Customer says: "Holy Crap minus the Holy"
    "I don't get all the fuss-it's a plain old LORNO"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I would only recommend this book to a friend I didn't care for. Seriously. I don't understand all the hoo-hah about this book (seriously). Is it supposed to be some 'deep thinkers' novel and I totally missed it, like the story itself has some undercurrent of meaning that has just escaped my notice? It sounded just like a regular old Harlequin Romance novel to me (though more LORNO (light porno) than the ones I remember reading as a teenager) -really not something I'd (ever) listen to again, in fact I couldn't even finish it. It sounds like something from the writers at Hustler Magazine, almost like a man writing about a fantasy (but not very well). I was disappointed, to say the least, hate paying for something I'll never listen to again (what a waste) and can't even think about lending it to anyone, I'd be too embarrased to have anyone think I was recommending it. Yuck. Only bought it because "everyone" was getting it, talking about it, etc. (and yes I get the irony, and no I wouldn't jump off a bridge if everyone was jumping off a bridge).....my mom always said that to me and I guess I never learn) The author and/or the publicist did a SPECTACULAR job of getting the book mentioned on t.v. and in magazines (heard about it 2-3 times on t.v. and read about it several times in different magazines) and good job tricking us into wasting our money. Darn. Hated it (and I love to read and can ready anything, seriously-this really blew). Boo.


    Would you be willing to try another book from E L James? Why or why not?

    Don't think so.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    Reader was okay just hated the book itself. It was porn advertised as....I don't even know what -the "best new novel in forever", somehow (again: great publicist) making me feel I HAD to have it. I totally feel like I was intentionally tricked (for lack of a better word) into buying it.


    Was Fifty Shades of Grey worth the listening time?

    NO WAY.


    Any additional comments?

    Yuck. And first (and last) time I jump on the "everybody's doing it" book band.

    44 of 51 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.