Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Elizabeth

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Elizabeth

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Elizabeth

ARVADA, CO, United States

7
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 41 ratings
  • 256 titles in library
  • 41 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

    • UNABRIDGED (26 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Emily Croy Barker
    • Narrated By Alyssa Bresnahan
    Overall
    (294)
    Performance
    (273)
    Story
    (276)

    Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

    Grace says: "In most ways, this is just the kind of book I seek"
    "My first 1 out of 5 rating ever for audible"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic better?

    A better narrator, a better writer and a non-whinny heroine.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I'm going back to George RR Martin - hopefully he'll wrap up some loose ends, but I'm not counting on it.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Alyssa Bresnahan?

    Anyone - she added to the whinny, overly educated, snobbish, poor decision making, and immature main character.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    anger and disappointment - I sure hope the younger generation of women are smarter than this. I was so looking forward to a good book with magic.


    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • The Book of Life: All Souls, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Deborah Harkness
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1493)
    Performance
    (1419)
    Story
    (1411)

    After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness's enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew's ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches - with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.

    Spirit Wandering says: "I loved the opening book BUT..."
    "Too much drivel and not enough magic"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Book of Life better?

    I really liked the first two books in this series, but this book - wow - I barely made it through. Way too much urban fantasy crap and not enough magic. Very sad end to what was a very interesting series.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Neon Rain: A Dave Robicheaux Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By James Lee Burke
    • Narrated By Will Patton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2987)
    Performance
    (1793)
    Story
    (1786)

    New York Times best-selling author James Lee Burke's Dave Robicheaux novels began with this first hard-hitting entry in the series. In The Neon Rain, Detective Robicheaux fishes a prostitute's corpse from a New Orleans bayou and finds that no one, not even the law, cares about a dead hooker.

    S. Sand says: "The perfect combination of author and narrator"
    "Violent and laborious"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about The Neon Rain?

    This is my second book I've listened to by James Lee Burke. I found this book to be so violent for no real reason. It didn't do anything to support the story or make it more interesting. I almost gave up a couple of times, but stuck it out to give it a fair chance. as a result, this will be the last book of Mr. Burke's that I will purchase.


    Has The Neon Rain turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Just from this author


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    It was sometimes difficult to follow the characters


    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.