Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Mama Whodun

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Mama Whodun

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Mama Whodun

ratings
4
REVIEWS
3
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
4

  • The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

    • UNABRIDGED (26 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Emily Croy Barker
    • Narrated By Alyssa Bresnahan
    Overall
    (294)
    Performance
    (273)
    Story
    (276)

    Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

    Grace says: "In most ways, this is just the kind of book I seek"
    "Nora ....changes"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic?

    The Magician's world.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Make Nora less annoying and petulent


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When Nora's wedding ring was removed.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Nope.


    Any additional comments?

    One should find the main character congenial. Nora starts out that way but she changes and challenges her mentor in a most annoying way. She becomes preachy and judgmental. Her feminism seems a weapon that she is quite unskilled in using much like her magic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Book of Life: All Souls, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Deborah Harkness
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1525)
    Performance
    (1449)
    Story
    (1441)

    After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness's enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew's ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches - with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.

    Spirit Wandering says: "I loved the opening book BUT..."
    "Making Hash"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Book of Life better?

    A story line not based on the resolution of the problems presented in the second novel but on the evolution of the main characters.


    What was most disappointing about Deborah Harkness’s story?

    The re-telling of the story line previously presented in Book I and Book II. A trilogy does not need to do that.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Jennifer Ikeda?

    Yes!!!


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Book of Life?

    The torture of creatures.


    Any additional comments?

    Disappointed that the author waited so long to deliver so little. Book II and Book III are essentially add ons to the world built in Book I, A Discovery of Witches. I could see pieces of popular culture in Book III used to fill in the story line. Harkness would have been better off with just one good book rather than a weak trilogy.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Shadow of Night

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By Deborah Harkness
    • Narrated By Jennifer Ikeda
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5871)
    Performance
    (5272)
    Story
    (5263)

    Now, picking up from A Discovery of Witches' cliff-hanger ending, Shadow of Night plunges Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont into Elizabethan London, a world of spies, subterfuge, and a coterie of Matthew's old friends, the mysterious School of Night that includes Christopher Marlowe and Walter Raleigh. Here, Diana must locate a witch to tutor her in magic, Matthew is forced to confront a past he thought he had put to rest, and the mystery of Ashmole 782 deepens. Deborah Harkness has crafted a gripping journey through a world of alchemy, time travel, and magical discoveries.

    Hallie says: "Even better than A Discovery of Witches"
    "Too much history, not enough mystery"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about Shadow of Night?

    Jennifer Ikeda's characterizations


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Gallowglass undoubtedly! His strength and loyalty to the Order and to Matthew.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Diana preparing for her wedding.


    If you could rename Shadow of Night, what would you call it?

    In the Shadow of Night


    Any additional comments?

    This volume was indeed good. However, it relied too much on the author's real life specialties and research. The similarities between this fictional work and Dr. Harkness' interest and research on Alchemy, the Voynich Manuscript, (Yale MS 408) and the 15th century seem to overshadow the story of Diana and Matthew in this second volume. What is related to Diana and Matthew's relationship, both in the present and in the past is well done, i.e. her quest to find a teacher and his to fight his own demons. I enjoyed the fictional characters of the past but not the historical ones. Gallowglass and Phillipe added to the main story. The new character in the present Phoebe was also delightful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.