You no longer follow D. Saguy

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow D. Saguy

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

D. Saguy

dsaguy

Los Angeles | Member Since 2009

10
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 ratings
  • 139 titles in library
  • 10 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Political Mind

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By George Lakoff
    • Narrated By Kent Cassella
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (70)
    Performance
    (26)
    Story
    (26)

    This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

    D. Saguy says: "An absolute must read before the 2012 elections"
    "An absolute must read before the 2012 elections"
    Overall

    The true test of this book is to ask your conservative friends (if you have any) to read it. As the other reviewer says it will make them insanely mad. To me it's the proof that the facts in this book are so well researched and based on so much hard science that it touches a nerve. If you've ever wanted to know why the country is in such a bad state and why the right wing is spinning out of control (tea party fanatics, etc.) it all explained here in great detail. Personally, it opened my eyes to a lot of political changes that I was appalled by but could not explain rationally. Like why would anyone living in poverty vote to give the rich and large corporations huge tax breaks. Or why can't the democrats get their message across as well as the republicans do? George Lakoff is not a politician or a demagog. He's a hardcore researcher. And although you can definitely tell which way he's leaning politically, he is meticulous and methodical in his approach. Sometimes to a point where the casual reader may be overwhelmed with the science-based explanations. But hey, that's how you get to the bottom of it. This is the book you must read as we approach the 2012 elections. Once you do, everything becomes crystal clear.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Haunted Empire: Apple After Steve Jobs

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 33 mins)
    • By Yukari Iwatani Kane
    • Narrated By Arielle DeLisle
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (49)
    Performance
    (36)
    Story
    (38)

    Based on over 200 interviews with current and former executives, business partners, Apple watchers, and others, Haunted Empire is an illuminating portrait of Apple today that offers clues to its future. With nuanced insights and colorful details that only a seasoned journalist could glean, Kane goes beyond the myths and headlines. She explores Tim Cook’s leadership and its impact on Jobs’ loyal lieutenants, new product development, and Apple’s relationships with Wall Street, the government, tech rivals, suppliers, the media, and consumers.

    D. Saguy says: "A huge let down"
    "A huge let down"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made Haunted Empire better?

    I work in the mobile space and I invest in Apple stock so Apple is very central to my work and income. And as everyone knows, Apple is one of the most secretive large companies on the planet so for the past 5 years, I've been reading every single book or news story that comes out about Apple to try and keep up with what is really going on inside. But so far most books have been either about Steve Jobs or about Apple while Steve Jobs was still alive. So when I heard about this book, I just could not wait to read it. Great title, great promise of finally finding out whether Apple's still got it.
    But that's pretty much when the excitement ended.
    The book is full of assertions or doubts raised frivolously like whether Johnny Ive is really as talented or essential as everyone says BUT with no facts or even stories to back up the assertions. You're left wondering where the author got these impressions from and why she's so sure.
    Some of these assertions are completely contradictory to the recent book about Jony Ive: "Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products" which is excellently researched and wonderfully written (although the narrator has a somewhat annoying voice on Audible).
    Even the author's thesis that Apple has lost its way is contradicted by the author herself at many points in the book. So the impression you're left with is that of a long boring narrative of events, which I had already read about in the news, peppered with assertions that don't hold together.
    So to conclude, I hope that someone will write a book about the Tim Cook era at Apple that actually reads well and isn't full of obvious bias so readers can make their own opinions. Unfortunately that book has not yet been written.


    Did Arielle DeLisle do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    The narrator does a decent job but it's pointless because the book is such a joke in the first place.


    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • Hooked: A Guide to Building Habit-Forming Products

    • UNABRIDGED (4 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Nir Eyal
    • Narrated By Nir Eyal
    Overall
    (72)
    Performance
    (63)
    Story
    (62)

    Why do some products capture our attention, while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hook us? This audiobook introduces listeners to the "Hook Model," a four steps process companies use to build customer habits. Through consecutive hook cycles, successful products reach their ultimate goal of bringing users back repeatedly - without depending on costly advertising or aggressive messaging. Hooked is a guide to building products people can't put down.

    Corey says: "Good Book, Terrible Recording"
    "Interesting book. Terrible performance."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Hooked again? Why?

    No. Painful narration. Bad microphone. Record again with a real narrator please.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The content is good and the examples useful if you can get over the performance.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nir Eyal’s performances?

    No


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No.


    Any additional comments?

    Re-record please!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.