You no longer follow Carmen

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Carmen

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Carmen

Chile | Member Since 2004

6
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 22 reviews
  • 1941 ratings
  • 0 titles in library
  • 178 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
31
FOLLOWERS
0

  • My New American Life: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Francine Prose
    • Narrated By Ellen Archer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (35)
    Performance
    (25)
    Story
    (25)

    Lula, a 26 -year-old Albanian woman living surreptitiously in New York City on an expiring tourist visa, hopes to make a better life for herself in America. When she lands a job as caretaker to Zeke, a rebellious high school senior in suburban New Jersey, it seems that the security, comfort, and happiness of the American dream may finally be within reach. Her new boss, Mister Stanley, an idealistic college professor turned Wall Street executive, assumes that Lula is a destitute refugee of the Balkan wars.

    Catherine says: "A refreshing, creative work of fiction"
    "Refreshing"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Love the mixture of intelligence and Sence of humor? This is your book. Not a brainstorming one, but Who cares

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Snow Queen

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By Michael Cunningham
    • Narrated By Claire Danes
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    Michael Cunningham's luminous, compassionate new novel begins with a vision. It's November 2004. Barrett Meeks, having lost love yet again, is walking through Central Park when he is suddenly and inexplicably inspired to look up at the sky, where he sees a pale, translucent light that seems to regard him in a distinctly godlike way. Although Barrett doesn't believe in visions - or in god, for that matter - he can't deny what he's seen.

    Carmen says: "Cunningham smashed by the reader!"
    "Cunningham smashed by the reader!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The intimacy and difficult situations always proposed by this author really deserves a reader that is apparently so bored about what she is reading, and puts all the wrong accents in every situation

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Other Woman

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 42 mins)
    • By Hank Phillippi Ryan
    • Narrated By Ilyana Kadushin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (81)
    Performance
    (63)
    Story
    (64)

    Jane Ryland was a rising star in television news…until she refused to reveal a source and lost everything. Now a disgraced newspaper reporter, Jane isn’t content to work on puff pieces, and finds herself tracking down a candidate’s secret mistress just days before a pivotal Senate election. Detective Jake Brogan is investigating a possible serial killer. Twice, bodies of unidentified women have been found by a bridge, and Jake is plagued by a media swarm beginning to buzz about a “bridge killer” hunting young women. As the body count rises and election looms closer, it becomes clear to Jane and Jake that their cases are connected….

    Amazon Customer says: "Badly Flawed Production Ruined it For Me"
    "Find someone else to read !"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Impossible to support such exess of enthusiasm and pulmon air in everything, including the most trivial !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lying

    • UNABRIDGED (1 hr and 15 mins)
    • By Sam Harris
    • Narrated By Sam Harris
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (804)
    Performance
    (707)
    Story
    (705)

    As it was in Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, and Othello, so it is in life. Most forms of private vice and public evil are kindled and sustained by lies. Acts of adultery and other personal betrayals, financial fraud, government corruption - even murder and genocide - generally require an additional moral defect: a willingness to lie. In Lying, bestselling author and neuroscientist Sam Harris argues that we can radically simplify our lives and improve society by merely telling the truth in situations where others often lie.

    Teri Ambrose says: "Inspirational, quick read"
    "Same Same Same"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Seems so right!
    Real life shows that almost all said in this book takes you to missery, not the contrary

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • And the Mountains Echoed

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 1 min)
    • By Khaled Hosseini
    • Narrated By Khaled Hosseini, Navid Negahban, Shohreh Aghdashloo
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2494)
    Performance
    (2203)
    Story
    (2195)

    Khaled Hosseini, the number-one New York Times best-selling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations.

    FanB14 says: "Does the End Justify the Means"
    "MAGIC"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    i was really inmerse not only in the history, but also i was actually there, living with the people, suffering and absolutely transported.
    the readers are magnifecent.Not only the wonderfull voices, but it was the accent that made it so beautifull

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lone Wolf

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Jodi Picoult
    • Narrated By Natalia Payne, Louis Changchien, Celeste Ciulla, and others
    Overall
    (1155)
    Performance
    (967)
    Story
    (976)

    In the wild, when a wolf knows its time is over, when it knows it is of no more use to its pack, it may sometimes choose to slip away. Dying apart from its family, it stays proud and true to its nature. Humans aren’t so lucky. Luke Warren has spent his life researching wolves. He has written about them, studied their habits intensively, and even lived with them for extended periods of time.

    Elle in the Great NorthWest says: "Typical Jodi Picoult plot, chik lit but good"
    "Unexpected Moving Interesting"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Wonderfull readers!
    Loved to be educated into the ways of these animals in such a way
    Also moving is the eternal controversial theme of euthanasia
    Resuming, this is a very good mixed story

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2011)
    Performance
    (1842)
    Story
    (1856)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "From the first sentence i feeled my ears hurting,,"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The tone of the voice, the false humility, the childish jokes
    Oh, i dont want anyone to hurt that much!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Good House: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Ann Leary
    • Narrated By Mary Beth Hurt
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1509)
    Performance
    (1363)
    Story
    (1356)

    The Good House tells the story of Hildy Good, who lives in a small town on Boston's North Shore. Hildy is a successful real-estate broker, good neighbor, mother, and grandmother. She's also a raging alcoholic. Hildy's family held an intervention for her about a year before this story takes place - "if they invite you over for dinner, and it’s not a major holiday," she advises "run for your life" - and now she feels lonely and unjustly persecuted. She has also fooled herself into thinking that moderation is the key.

    Rhonda Morrison says: "What a great book, Hildy is a great character!"
    "it is not even corny it is just awfull"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    maybe, but just maybe, if the reader had another voice or was lest enthusiastic in her high points, one could pas the second page...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue: A Cynster Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By Stephanie Laurens
    • Narrated By Matthew Brenher
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (356)
    Performance
    (299)
    Story
    (301)

    You are cordially invited to the wedding of Miss Heather Cynster... but not before she encounters kidnappers, danger, and a daring rescue at the hands of Viscount Breckenridge. Determined to hunt down her very own hero, one who will sweep her off her feet and into wedded bliss, and despairing of finding him in London’s staid ballrooms, Heather Cynster steps out of her safe world and boldly attends a racy soiree. But her promising hunt is ruined by the supremely interfering Viscount Breckenridge, who whisks her out of scandal....

    L. Reiner says: "Simon Prebble - come back!!"
    "So disapointed"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Generally i love to read good ancient english stories that shows how costumes ,things and thinking have changed. But this one is a bore

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Dressmaker of Khair Khana: Five Sisters, One Remarkable Family, and the Woman Who Risked Everything to Keep Them Safe

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Gayle Tzemach Lemmon
    • Narrated By Sarah Zimmerman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (236)
    Performance
    (182)
    Story
    (187)

    The life Kamila Sidiqi had known changed overnight when the Taliban seized control of the city of Kabul. After receiving a teaching degree during the civil war - a rare achievement for any Afghan woman - Kamila was subsequently banned from school and confined to her home. When her father and brother were forced to flee the city, Kamila became the sole breadwinner for her five siblings. Armed only with grit and determination, she picked up a needle and thread and created a thriving business of her own.

    Susan says: "Excellent Listen"
    "Admirable"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Bravo! You may feel so proud of being a female, just learning from this wonderfull example

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.