You no longer follow Audrey

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Audrey

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Audrey

Deer River, MN, USA | Member Since 2006

32
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 473 ratings
  • 1155 titles in library
  • 19 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
4

  • The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

    • UNABRIDGED (26 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Emily Croy Barker
    • Narrated By Alyssa Bresnahan
    Overall
    (522)
    Performance
    (486)
    Story
    (492)

    Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

    Amazon Customer says: "In most ways, this is just the kind of book I seek"
    "Grimm meets Austen"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    This book has that special "something" that made me want to savor each moment, each interaction, and each event. The pace is perfect: unhurried, but never dull. Because nothing is rushed, readers are allowed to settle into a new world right along with Nora. Further, Nora is NOT whiny, wildly beautiful, given unlimited powers, or loved by hoards of men with sculpted abs and square jaws (thank goodness). Nora is neither young nor old, at 30, which is a nice change from the late-teen and early 20-something predominance in the genre (if this can be said to have a genre.) The narrator adds to the experience by emoting with restraint; the feeling is in her voice, but it never approaches melodrama.

    I am just sad that it ended. I wanted to stay there, with them, a while longer. There will, no doubt, be a sequel, but now I have to settle in for the long wait. I wish I were you, having not yet started this journey yet, just so I could do it all over again.

    13 of 15 people found this review helpful
  • Joplin's Ghost

    • UNABRIDGED (21 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Tananarive Due
    • Narrated By Lizan Mitchell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (102)
    Performance
    (45)
    Story
    (44)

    Bram Stoker Award finalist Tananarive Due crafts chilling tales of suspense.

    In Joplin's Ghost, 24-year-old R&B phenomenon Phoenix Smalls is on the cusp of fame and fortune. But she is haunted by the spirit of Jazz legend Scott Joplin. After a series of sultry, erotic encounters with the ghost, and with the pressures of stardom closing in on her, Phoenix begins to fear for her life and career.

    Audrey says: "Sweeping--a fabulous read"
    "Sweeping--a fabulous read"
    Overall

    After reading the summary of this book, I almost passed it over; it does rather sound like a book revolving around supernatural sex--not true. The sex is minimal, well-written and contextually relevant; and who is actually having sex with whom is debatable. This story deserves to be judged by more than a few sexual scenes.

    The author ties the past to the present, addressing themes of loss, redemption, the value of love and talent, while creating scenes filled with rich, sensory detail. It is this that Due gives to her readers: the sights, smells, tastes, and, above all, sounds of an era that is intense, sometimes dark, but always fascinating.

    19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.