You no longer follow Atara C. MacNamara

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Atara C. MacNamara

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Atara C. MacNamara

MacNamara

CENTRALIA, WA, United States | Member Since 2013

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 21 ratings
  • 282 titles in library
  • 131 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Death of a Chimney Sweep

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By M. C. Beaton
    • Narrated By Graeme Malcolm
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (324)
    Performance
    (215)
    Story
    (216)

    In the isolated villages in the north of Scotland, the villagers rely on the services of the chimney sweep, Pete Ray, and his old-fashioned brushes. Pete is always able to find work in the Scottish highlands, until the day that Police Constable Hamish Macbeth notices blood dripping onto the floor of a villager's fireplace, and a dead body stuffed inside the chimney. The entire town of Lochdubh is certain Pete is the culprit, but Hamish doesn't believe that the affable chimney sweep is capable of committing murder.

    Susan says: "Hamish, Anderson and Blair -- As Usual"
    "Editing failure"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    While I have loved every book narrated by Graeme Malcolm, this one could have used some editing. Long pauses and swallowing sounds were very distracting. Otherwise, this is another fun adventure of Hamish Macbeth.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Hamish


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    Edited out the swallowing sounds.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Mermaids Singing

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Val McDermid
    • Narrated By Graham Roberts
    Overall
    (438)
    Performance
    (379)
    Story
    (381)

    The bodies of four men have been discovered in the town of Bradfield. Enlisted to investigate is criminal psychologist Tony Hill. Even for a seasoned professional, the series of mutilation sex murders is unlike anything he's encountered before. But profiling the psychopath is not beyond him. Hill's own past has made him the perfect man to comprehend the killer's motives. It's also made him the perfect victim. A game has begun for the hunter and the hunted.

    Barbara says: "Not for the squeamish"
    "Too violent."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Listening to this makes me wonder about McDermid. This is the most graphic sexual violence I've ever heard and I couldn't finish the book.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disgust.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 20 mins)
    • By Agatha Christie
    • Narrated By Agatha Christie
    Overall
    (135)
    Performance
    (117)
    Story
    (112)

    Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.

    Duane Bolton says: "Authentic recording"
    "Enjoyable."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Agatha Christie: An Autobiography rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Somewhere in the middle. I really enjoyed hearing her tell about her writing process and the characters she created. I was also interested in her reminiscences about her early career where she was paid 60 pounds per story and calculated her taxes and what it left to spend. She planned household projects around how many stories she would have to write to pay for them.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Agatha Christie: An Autobiography?

    When she described her writer's block and how she got through it with the help of her husband.


    What does Agatha Christie bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Hearing the voice of this marvelous woman talk about her life.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Booktaker: A Nameless Detective Mystery

    • UNABRIDGED (1 hr and 27 mins)
    • By Bill Pronzini
    • Narrated By Nick Sullivan
    Overall
    (482)
    Performance
    (417)
    Story
    (414)

    The Nameless Detective is called upon to find out how rare books and maps are being stolen from an antiquarian bookshop with a faultless alarm system. He goes undercover in the store, only to be foiled when a theft occurs right under his nose. Then, as he ponders the case (while on a date with the lovely Kerry), he’s violently struck from behind by a car that seems bent on driving him off the road. Will Nameless survive this attempt on his life and solve the case?

    Nicolette says: "Great story"
    "Stupid ending."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made The Booktaker better?

    The story held my interest at first though I thought it was derivative of Rex Stout (Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin rolled into one character), but it really turned stupid at the end. A car chase came from out of nowhere and completely sideswiped the story line.


    What could Bill Pronzini have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Leave out the gratuitous car chase. Also, I vaguely remember a detective story with the same ending.


    What three words best describe Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    Okay, okay, alright.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.