You no longer follow Angela

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Angela

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Angela

ratings
11
REVIEWS
5
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
5

  • American Savage: Insights, Slights, and Fights on Faith, Sex, Love, and Politics

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Dan Savage
    • Narrated By Dan Savage
    Overall
    (570)
    Performance
    (521)
    Story
    (524)

    Dan Savage has always had a loyal audience, thanks to his syndicated sex-advice column Savage Love but since the incredible global success of his It Gets Better project, his profile has skyrocketed. Savage is recognized as someone whose opinions about our culture, politics, and society should not only be listened to but taken seriously. Now, in American Savage, he writes on topics ranging from marriage, parenting, and the gay agenda to the Catholic Church, sex education, and the obesity epidemic.

    Tim says: "You will laugh, you may cry and will probably fume"
    "Some great essays, but a bit repetitive"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    Damn, I had no idea Dan Savage was such a good writer. I'm a weekly listener to his Savage Love podcast and reader of his column, but this was the first time I've read/heard one of his personal essays, and they were very powerful. I sobbed my way through his essay about his mother's death, for example.

    Other chapters, however, were rote and predictable to those familiar with his work. Some of the lines he uses I could recite word for word. You should roll your kinks out like they're a fun thing you get to do, not like they're *what*, kids? Let's say it all together now. Leukemia! His thoughts on cheating, open relationships, why women shouldn't be offended that he refers to pussy as "canned ham dropped from a great height" (still offensive no matter how much you like canned ham) are nothing new for regular readers or listeners.

    Yet the new chapters were strong enough that I still think this book deserves four stars. In addition to the essay about his mom's death, the essay about going back to the Catholic church — at least physically — is poignant and insightful. The chapter about the It Gets Better project is interesting as well as brutally sad. I learned some new stuff in the health care chapter (for instance, I will never eat at Jimmy John's again). And last but certainly not least, Bigot Christmas is almost worth the price of the book alone.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 23 mins)
    • By Stephen Chbosky
    • Narrated By Noah Galvin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2266)
    Performance
    (2061)
    Story
    (2080)

    Most people think 15-year-old Charlie is a freak. But then seniors Patrick and his beautiful stepsister Sam take Charlie under their wings and introduce him to their eclectic, open-minded, hard-partying friends. It is from these older kids that Charlie learns to live and love.

    FanB14 says: "Intelligent, Absorbing Coming of Age Story"
    "Got better as it went on"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    I bought this book not knowing anything about it, but just having heard that it was good. At first it seemed really young to me — the narrator is 14 and very naive — but as it went on, I realized that some of the themes, such as sexual assault, were more mature than I'd expected. The author handled them well and handled the expression of teenage psyches well too.

    I HATED the ending given what I know about how memory works — it rang really, really false to me. Criminally so. But I suppose the book is a product of its time ... and there's not a lot else I can say without spoilers, though I wish I could get into it here.

    Overall, I thought this was a really good book, especially for a high school novel. I wish I'd found it when I was in high school.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Stolen

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Lucy Christopher
    • Narrated By Emily Gray
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (214)
    Performance
    (175)
    Story
    (179)

    This stunning debut novel from Australian author Lucy Christopher generated considerable buzz for its nonstop suspense and breathtaking imagery. Sixteen-year-old Gemma is on a layover at Bangkok Airport, headed to Vietnam with her parents. Then the vaguely familiar Ty drugs Gemma’s drink and steals her away. Her head swirling in confusion, Gemma soon finds herself fighting to survive in the unforgiving Outback.

    barnes says: "already listened twice"
    "Maybe it just doesn't work as an audiobook"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I got really bored with the fact that most of this book took place in the same location. I couldn't quite picture the place and kept drifting off while I was trying to listen to the book, because the whole middle just seemed like the same thing over and over.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    The ending was stronger than I expected.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • All She Ever Wanted

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Lynn Austin
    • Narrated By Linda Stephens
    Overall
    (135)
    Performance
    (82)
    Story
    (82)

    A three-time Christy Award winner, Lynn Austin crafts rousing tales of hope and redemption. All She Ever Wanted stars Kathleen Seymour, a woman who seems to have it all, though she hides a dark family secret. To her horror, everything comes crashing down when she loses her job and her daughter is caught shoplifting. Desperate to regain control over her life, Kathleen returns to her estranged family to mend her severely broken relationships before it is too late.

    Carla says: "Pure Enjoyment"
    "Way too Jesus-y"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Partly, this was my own mistake. I bought this book not noticing that it was categorized under "Religious & Inspirational," but when I figured it out I thought I'd give it a chance anyway. After all, the plot sounded interesting enough to make me buy it. I'm not Christian, but I'm not opposed to listening to a book with a Christian main character who finds solace in her faith.However, the moralistic judgments just kept coming, and all the non-Christian characters made me wonder if the author had ever actually met someone who wasn't Christian. They seemed like caricatures of themselves. They were all bad people with sad lives, and the Christian characters were so happy and full! Also, the constant mentions of Jesus got really old really fast. In the end, I was rolling my eyes every 30 seconds and getting really angry at the assumptions the author kept making, and had to abandon the book a few hours in.So as for who might like this book ... I guess the judgmental type of Christian, people who want their narrow worldview reaffirmed.


    Has All She Ever Wanted turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Very much.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Linda Stephens’s performances?

    No. She was overly dramatic and overly emotional.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2037)
    Performance
    (1866)
    Story
    (1882)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Annoying"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What didn’t you like about Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    I've always found The Blogess's writing very funny, but a lot of that is because she says off-handed, unexpected things that I read as deadpan. Hearing her read it, however, Jenny Lawson is extremely self-aware of the "funny" moments, and says them in a tone like, "HEY GUYS, THIS PART IS FUNNY," which makes it totally unfunny and just ... irritating.


    Any additional comments?

    This is not a memoir so much as a collection of stories that the writer thinks are funny. In the end, I didn't feel like I learned anything, it just felt like a lot of cheap laughs sewn together. The only chapter I really liked was the one where she talked about her miscarriages because it was the only one that felt real and human, like there was a point behind the jokes and not just a bunch of funny or awkward moments. Also, she's a good writer, but the tangents drove the me crazy. Listening to this book was like listening to your most ADD friend try to tell stories, but by the middle of the story you've totally forgotten what you were talking about because you've landed somewhere else entirely. That style is funny at first, and it lends itself well to conversational-toned writing in general and blogging in particular, but when an entire book is like that, and especially when you're listening to it rather than reading it, it's extremely annoying.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.