You no longer follow Anne

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Anne

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Anne

I am addicted to talking books, but only mystery/thrillers or some particular authors like Terry Pratchett.

Elsternwick, Australia | Member Since 2010

5
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 ratings
  • 285 titles in library
  • 42 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Kill Room: Lincoln Rhyme, Book 10

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 6 mins)
    • By Jeffery Deaver
    • Narrated By Kerry Shale
    Overall
    (17)
    Performance
    (16)
    Story
    (15)

    They are calling it the 'million-dollar bullet': a sniper shot from a near-impossible distance. But there is no crime-scene investigation, no evidence, and no co-operation from the local Bahamian police. Ambitious New York district attorney Nance Laurel won't let it go. This murder has all the hallmarks of a contract killing, and she has evidence that the order came from the highest levels of the US government.

    Anne says: "Another outstanding Lincoln Rhyme thriller"
    "Another outstanding Lincoln Rhyme thriller"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The Kill Room?

    This is Jeffrey Deaver at his best, a really rivetting story with no boring bits.


    What does Kerry Shale bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The ability to do the gardening, the washing and go to the gym without having to put it down.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Rhyme and Sachs are such a cute couple.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Sleeper

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By Emily Barr
    • Narrated By Imogen Church
    Overall
    (28)
    Performance
    (25)
    Story
    (25)

    A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

    Anne says: "A compelling listen from beginning to end"
    "A compelling listen from beginning to end"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to The Sleeper the most enjoyable?

    This book combines detailed characters with a complex and interesting story. It is told in sections in the first person by Lara and Iris and there are some good subtexts throughout.


    Have you listened to any of Imogen Church’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I don't recall listening to Imogen Church but I really like her sound and style.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I have a long drive to and from work, and while I was listening to this story I looked forward to the trip so I could keep listening.


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 45 mins)
    • By Lauren Weisberger
    • Narrated By Laurel Lefkow
    Overall
    (25)
    Performance
    (24)
    Story
    (24)

    The hotly-anticipated sequel to The Devil Wears Prada – the million copy bestseller that took the world by storm. Everything’s in place for the season’s hottest launch: Tall latte (with two raw sugars)? Check. Gucci trench (draped over desk)? Check. Outrageous, unreasonable demands? Check. Andy has just turned thirty and is an incredibly successful magazine editor, working closely with her best friend Emily, another Runway survivor.

    Jane says: "Fun with interesting real life issues"
    "Boring Wears Prada"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    This story could have been titled "I have got a husband and a baby and I am the only woman ever to have done this". Pullleeeease!! Nothing happened until the second last chapter when she dumped her husband, admitttedly for a good reason.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I'm going back to the Mysteries and Thrillers list.


    Did Laurel Lefkow do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Laurel Lefkow is always a good narrator.


    What character would you cut from Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns?

    Andy


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Deeply Odd: Odd Thomas, Book 6

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Dean Koontz
    • Narrated By David Aaron Baker
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1615)
    Performance
    (1454)
    Story
    (1466)

    How do you make sure a crime that hasn’t happened yet, never does? That’s the critical question facing Odd Thomas, the young man with a unique ability to commune with restless spirits and help them find justice and peace. But this time, it’s the living who desperately need Odd on their side. Three helpless innocents will be brutally executed unless Odd can intervene in time. Who the potential victims are and where they can be found remain a mystery. The only thing Odd knows for sure is who the killer will be: the homicidal stranger who tried to shoot him dead in a small-town parking lot.

    D says: "Odd Once Again"
    "Odd gets a chance to fight demons again"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does Deeply Odd rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the middle somewhere.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like Oddy a lot, but the recent stories have had a really unpleasant streak that I don't enjoy. This story gave him the chance to be his nice, goofy self again - while fighting lots of demons, obviously.


    Who was the most memorable character of Deeply Odd and why?

    Other than Oddy, who is a sweetheart, he teamed up with a crazy old lady called Edie. She is a great, feisty old bird.


    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Never Saw It Coming

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By Linwood Barclay
    • Narrated By Francine Brody
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (2)

    Keisha Ceylon is a psychic. At least, that's what she passes herself off as. The truth is, Keisha's real powers have more to do with separating troubled families from their money than actually seeing into the netherworld. Keisha watches the news for stories of missing family members. She gives it a few days, then moves in, tells these families she's had a vision, that she may have some clue to where these missing people are. And by the way, she charges for this service, and likes to see the money up front.

    Anne says: "Not Linwood Barclay's best"
    "Not Linwood Barclay's best"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Linwood Barclay and/or Francine Brody?

    I have loved every Linwood Barclay book until this one, which just didn't do it for me.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    A bit predictable.


    What three words best describe Francine Brody’s voice?

    Pretty good.


    Could you see Never Saw It Coming being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    I wouldn't go to see it. There was nobody likeable in the whole book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Governor's Wife

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Mark Gimenez
    • Narrated By Jeff Harding
    Overall
    (5)
    Performance
    (4)
    Story
    (4)

    The Bonners are the most powerful couple in Texas. Bode Bonner is the Republican Governor and his wife, Lindsay, is always by his side. From the outside everything looks rosy. But the Bonners are not happy. Bode is bored - he longs for more excitement in his life. Lindsay is at the end of her tether. She's had enough of Bode's womanising and of playing the dutiful wife. She is desperate to break free of her bland, wealthy lifestyle. Then Lindsay makes an impulsive decision....

    Anne says: "Lots of twists and turns"
    "Lots of twists and turns"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does The Governor's Wife rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This story is a B+. It started a bit slow, but turned out to be a good listen.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    There was only one good guy in the book - the doc.


    What does Jeff Harding bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I would listen to Jeff Harding reading the telephone directory. He makes everything a great listen.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.