You no longer follow Adam

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Adam

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Adam

Rodeo, CA, United States | Member Since 2011

18
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 ratings
  • 294 titles in library
  • 44 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Course of Empire

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By Eric Flint, K. D. Wentworth
    • Narrated By Chris Patton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (101)
    Performance
    (93)
    Story
    (93)

    Conquered by the Jao twenty years ago, the Earth is shackled under alien tyranny - and threatened by the even more dangerous Ekhat, one of whose genocidal extermination fleets is coming to the solar system. The only chance for human survival is in the hands of an unusual pair of allies: a young Jao prince, newly arrived to Terra to assume his duties, and a young human woman brought up amongst the Jao occupiers. But, as their tentative alliance takes shape, they are under pressure from all sides.

    Adam says: "An excellent use of a credit"
    "An excellent use of a credit"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    I read a lot of books and buy a lot of Audible credits. It is not often that I'll plonk down a precious credit for a book I have already read but The Course of Empire was an excellent read when it came out many years ago, a book I remember thoroughly enjoying, and I wanted to re-familiarize myself with the series before picking up its sequel Crucible of Empire.

    Course of Empire is not groundbreaking, but it is a well told story, well narrated, with an interesting take on an alien culture. Like many books in the military Sci-Fi genre there is a fair degree of predictability in the flow of the story, you can see the arc of the book from early pages. But its still a very entertaining Arc. Fans of David Weber or David Drake would do well to pick this one up.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Skin Game: A Novel of the Dresden Files, Book 15

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Jim Butcher
    • Narrated By James Marsters
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (4984)
    Performance
    (4718)
    Story
    (4704)

    Harry Dresden, Chicago's only professional wizard, is about to have a very bad day.… Because as Winter Knight to the Queen of Air and Darkness, Harry never knows what the scheming Mab might want him to do. Usually, it’s something awful. He doesn’t know the half of it… Mab has just traded Harry’s skills to pay off one of her debts. And now he must help a group of supernatural villains - led by one of Harry’s most dreaded and despised enemies, Nicodemus Archleone - to break into the highest-security vault in town, so that they can then access the highest-security vault in the Nevernever.

    D says: "Hold onto your staff; Harry’s back."
    "Jim Butcher and James Marsters Bring Their A game."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Is you're read Dresden Files 1-14 this review is irrelevant, you know what quality to expect. If you haven't read 1-14 you owe it to yourself to read them, and really owe it to your friends to get them to read them as well. They';ll thank you for it.

    This is another BIG book, in that there is major development in a lot of the characters.

    If I have any complaint its that the book references a number of short stories butcher has written for various anthologyseries that haven't been collected in one place yet. And I hope that another collection of Dresden short stories will be offered soon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The First Days: As the World Dies, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Rhiannon Frater
    • Narrated By Cassandra Campbell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (536)
    Performance
    (494)
    Story
    (491)

    The morning that the world ends, Katie is getting ready for court and housewife Jenni is taking care of her family. Less than two hours later, they are fleeing for their lives from a zombie horde. Thrown together by circumstance, Jenni and Katie become a powerful zombie-killing partnership, mowing down zombies as they rescue Jenni's stepson, Jason, from an infected campground.

    Garth says: "Not for my demographic"
    "My life is to short to finish this audiobook."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This audio-book started off so strong, the first few hours were great zombie fiction. A bit formulaic but a story well told and well narrated. Then it crashes into a badly written harlequin romance. We're talking about two women, both widowed and 72 hours into the zombie apocalypse who start competing for the favor of a guy. The level of "shark jumping here" is epic. I can envision the author with the novel 1/2 way done showing it to a friend and saying:

    "What do you think?"

    "Needs Romance...."

    "But I don't know how to write romance, and it would make no sense in context..."

    "JUST DO IT!"

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Existence

    • UNABRIDGED (32 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By David Brin
    • Narrated By Kevin T. Collins, Robin Miles, L. J. Ganser
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (444)
    Performance
    (397)
    Story
    (396)

    Gerald Livingston is an orbital garbage collector. For a hundred years, people have been abandoning things in space, and someone has to clean it up. But there’s something spinning a little bit higher than he expects, something that isn’t on the decades’ old orbital maps. An hour after he grabs it and brings it in, rumors fill Earth’s infomesh about an "alien artifact".

    A. Massey says: "Big ideas, good science fiction, frustrating style"
    "After a long absence, David Brin is Back"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What other book might you compare Existence to and why?

    In the Afterward for his book Earth, David Brin laments how hard it is to write a Science Fiction story set 50 years in the future, and how historically nobody has ever gotten it right. Here brin takes another pass at a near now. A future world neither Utopian or Dystopian. Just "Topian"....

    Existence jumps around between its various characters in a scattered way, many are never fully fleshed out, and some simply fall off camera when they cease being interesting to Brin. Existence is a novel that either needed to be longer or shorter, cutting out the minor characters or giving them better resolution.

    Still that issue aside the story is interesting and well narrated, the aliens and the threat/opportunity they represent are refreshingly original. This is however very much a book about ideas not people. The book is intended to be thought provoking, not to lead you down the familiar path of interpersonal drama.

    Also noteworthy is the fact that Brin writes what I consider to be a solid ending to the story, Brin's biggest failing as an author has always been his Deus Ex Machanica endings, While there is a tiny touch of that here, it is a much better ending than seen in his other novels.


    12 of 13 people found this review helpful
  • The Crucible of Empire

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs)
    • By Eric Flint, K. D. Wentworth
    • Narrated By Chris Patton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (83)
    Performance
    (75)
    Story
    (75)

    Humanity is first subjugated by haughty alien colonizers calling themselves the Jao when Earth is unexpectedly attacked by the implacable and nearly-unstoppable Ekhat, exterminators of all intelligent life not their own. Now the fragile Human-Jao alliance is put to the test. A devastating encounter with the Ekhat in a distant nebula reveals a powerful alien society that may hold the key to defeating the Ekhat once and for all. There’s one big problem: they utterly loathe humanity's ally, the Jao.

    ShySusan says: "Great character development of the aliens"
    "An excellent follow-up to Course of Empire"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    A long delayed follow-up to Course of Empire. Crucible of Empire is enthralling because of the interesting alien culture represented by the Jao, now the series authors add an additional culture to the mix. This is done extraordinarily well.I am writing this review without having yet finished the audio-book, I have another few hours to go. The reason I am writing this now is that unlike so many other stories in the military-scf fi genre I do not know for certain how this story will end. There is a genuine opportunity for tragedy, and in a genre where the good guys inevitably win in the end my uncertainty is a rare and special gift. I hope the Authors won't take another decade to continue with this excellent series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A Rising Thunder: Honor Harrington, Book 13

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By David Weber
    • Narrated By Allyson Johnson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (917)
    Performance
    (823)
    Story
    (828)

    Peril and strife strike on a double front for Honor Harrington and company. After a brutal attack on the Manticoran home system, Honor Harrington and the Star Kingdom she serves battle back against a new, technologically powerful, and utterly nefarious enemy. And as if that weren’t task enough, Honor must also face down a centuries-old nemesis in the crumbling, but still mighty, Solarian League.

    John says: "Compelling Series But Too Much Filler"
    "Well if You like David Weber You'll Like This"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about A Rising Thunder?

    David Weber delivers more of the same which is fantastic ... if you like David Weber. Following his decade old formula for the Honor Harrington series, all the events that were planned two books ago come to pass while various people hatch new plots which will come to fruition two or three books from now. It would all be rather irritating if it weren't so darn compelling.


    Would you be willing to try another book from David Weber? Why or why not?

    New listeners should realize that this is not a series it is easy to jump into. Many volumes have created a dense series mythology which will leave new listeners lost, althouhg pleasantly suprised by events of the book not having been warned about every event in the book two volumes ago, so I imagine that would be a bit of a trade off.


    Which character – as performed by Allyson Johnson – was your favorite?

    After reading many volumes of this series Allyson Johnson has demonstrated that she may be learning to properly pronounce the word Manticoran, an important issue as most of the book takes place on the planet of Manticore. I'm sure she'll have it down in just a few more volumes. Beyond that she does a remarkable job with the exception that she uses a young and tenetaive voice for the central character of Honor Harrington, which after many many volumes is perhaps no longer appropriate for the now Admiral.


    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.