Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Lacie

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Lacie

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Lacie

Cedar Rapids, IA, United States | Member Since 2012

1
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 4 reviews
  • 14 ratings
  • 95 titles in library
  • 15 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Because I Said So!: The Truth Behind the Myths, Tales, and Warnings Every Generation Passes Down to Its Kids

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Ken Jennings
    • Narrated By Ken Jennings
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (120)
    Performance
    (107)
    Story
    (107)

    Ken Jennings is here to tell us that mother and father didn't always know best. Yes, all those years you were told not to sit too close to the television (you'll go blind!), or swallow your gum (it stays in your stomach for seven years!), or crack your knuckles (arthritis!) are called into question by our country's leading trivia guru. Jennings separates myth from fact to humorously debunk a wide variety of parental edicts: no swimming after meals, sit up straight, don't talk to strangers, you'll get worms from cookie dough, and so on.

    Kelsey says: "Loved this book!"
    "Very Interesting"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Oh definitely. We've all been lied to by our parents who were fed the same lies by their parents. It's fascinating to learn that the old wives' tales are bunk.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Because I Said So!?

    It's all memorable. The stories are engaging and interesting. Like an audio version of Mythbusters. I seem to recall one in particular about why we wash dishes with soap versus water alone. It would be great to have my ten-year-old listen to this as well.


    Have you listened to any of Ken Jennings’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I haven't.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes and I did.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • And One Last Thing...

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 23 mins)
    • By Molly Harper
    • Narrated By Amanda Ronconi
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2794)
    Performance
    (2150)
    Story
    (2147)

    Lacey Terwilliger's shock and humiliation over her husband's philandering prompt her to add some bonus material to Mike's company newsletter: stunning Technicolor descriptions of the special brand of "administrative support" his receptionist gives him. The detailed mass e-mail to Mike's family, friends, and clients blows up in her face, and before one can say "instant urban legend", Lacey has become the pariah of her small Kentucky town and a media punch line....

    Ducky says: "For me this was such a HOOT!!!"
    "No more "special" sales."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about And One Last Thing...?

    The sex. The book was okay until that point about halfway thru and then the protagonist starts bumpin like bunnies and I just got grossed out. I had my fill from that insipid 50 shades crap. Why do we need to interject graphic sex scenes where they don't belong? Who is the author gunning for? I don't know of many males reaching for this material and I don't think EVERY woman wants sex slathered all over a nice getting-over-a-man story. Gratuitous, superfluous and nauseating.


    Any additional comments?

    Here we go... 50 Shades has opened up the flood gates for all the poorly-written over-sexualized erotica that does nothing more than bring up your last meal. I don't get it, but I wish I'd known before I waste $5 on this schlock. T_T

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Nerd Do Well: A Small Boy’s Journey to Becoming a Big Kid

    • ABRIDGED (4 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By Simon Pegg
    • Narrated By Simon Pegg
    Overall
    (246)
    Performance
    (215)
    Story
    (216)

    The unique life story of one of the most talented and inventive comedians, star of Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and Star Trek. Zombies in North London, death cults in the West Country, the engineering deck of the Enterprise: actor, comedian, writer and self-proclaimed supergeek Simon Pegg has been ploughing some bizarre furrows in recent times.

    Diana says: "WHY DOES THIS HAVE TO BE ABRIDGED?!"
    "I could listen to Pegg read a phonebook."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up Nerd Do Well in three words, what would they be?

    Hilarious, touching and non-sequiter.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Nerd Do Well?

    I truly laughed and my heart felt warm at Pegg's anecdotes about growing up. The most memorable, however, is the story that he interjects between memories.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The part of the book where Canterbury startles Pegg by talking over the intercom unannounced. To which Pegg commands that his robot butler to use a doorbell noise before speaking on the intercom. When Canterbury says on the intercom "Ding-Dong!" and it still startles Pegg. (lol)


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I think my favorite was when he met the 4th Doctor. Tom Baker is my Doctor and hearing about Simon meeting him and being offered a Jelly Baby... Oh, it was endearing.


    Any additional comments?

    Let's face it. The best part about the book is the fact that Simon narrates it himself. I swear I could listen to that man read the phonebook.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • I Don’t Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Julie Klausner
    • Narrated By Julie Klausner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (158)
    Performance
    (146)
    Story
    (147)

    In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care about Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love - and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care about Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls.

    Stephanie says: "pretty raunchy"
    "Glad I gave it a shot!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about I Don’t Care about Your Band?

    I liked the anecdotes. The stories were cohesive, relevant and nostalgic. I don't think I stopped the audiobook once I pressed Play.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Talking about her connection to Miss Piggy.


    Have you listened to any of Julie Klausner’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I have laughed in places, but I couldn't point to any specific passage. The story is more of one that makes me think that my life isn't the greatest, but it isn't so bad, either.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.