You no longer follow Brett

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Brett

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Brett

Westmoreland, Tn, United States | Member Since 2007

ratings
130
REVIEWS
4
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
0

  • The Year's Top Short SF Novels

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 26 mins)
    • By Stephen Baxter, Geoffrey A. Landis, David Moles, and others
    • Narrated By Tom Dheere, Adam Epstein, Nicola Barber
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (38)
    Performance
    (32)
    Story
    (32)

    Short novels may well be the perfect length for science-fiction stories. They are movie-length tales that resonate with moxie while fully exploring characters, new worlds, and ideas. The stories in this unabridged audio collection are the best-of-the-best short science-fiction novels published in 2010 by current and emerging masters of this form.

    wendy says: "fantastic"
    "review of the publishers summary.."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to The Year's Top Short SF Novels again? Why?

    Rick Wilbers story is awesome.


    Any additional comments?

    Spelling error in the publishers summary. You can delete this review once corrected.


    "fetonating a nuclear device"

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • On the Steel Breeze

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    Overall
    (55)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (51)

    A thousand years in the future, mankind's influence expands into the universe. Alastair Reynolds epic vision of our journey into deep space will redefine Space Opera. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks. Read by Adjoa Andoh.

    Andreas Henriksson says: "Reynold's return to mastery"
    "Can't finish this book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about On the Steel Breeze?

    I cannot finish this audio book. I find the narrator difficult to understand.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Adjoa Andoh?

    Kobna Holdbrook Smith did a great job on the last one.


    Any additional comments?

    This is a kindle book for me it seems.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Into the Black: Odyssey One

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Evan Currie
    • Narrated By Benjamin L. Darcie
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1296)
    Performance
    (1198)
    Story
    (1206)

    Captain Eric Weston and his crew encounter horrors, wonders, monsters, and people; all of which will test their resolve, challenge their abilities, and put in sharp relief what is necessary to be a hero. A first-rate military-science-fiction epic that combines old-school space opera and modern storytelling, Into the Black: Odyssey One is a riveting, exhilarating adventure with vivid details, rich mythology, and relentless pacing.

    C. Hartmann says: "Great, Solid Military SciFi / Evolving Space Opera"
    "Trashy, derivative, great."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    Startrek, Starwars and Wing Commander all mixed up in a World War II dogfighter narrative.. in space.

    I loved the WC references. From Bossman and Paladin playing Poker on the flight deck, to and I sh*t you not... "Commander Roberts".

    The second book is a little too Michael Bay for my taste but does move the narrative along enough to make for a satisfying close in number 3.

    Original series of the decade? No. Worth my 30 + hours? Hell yes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Life

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Keith Richards
    • Narrated By Johnny Depp, Joe Hurley, Keith Richards
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (191)
    Performance
    (117)
    Story
    (117)

    With the Rolling Stones, Keith Richards created the riffs, the lyrics and the songs that roused the world, and over four decades he lived the original rock-and-roll life: taking the chances he wanted, speaking his mind, and making it all work in a way that no one before him had ever done. Now, at last, the man himself tells us the story of life in the crossfire hurricane. And what a life....

    David says: "A rare insight into a rock legend"
    "A strong start"
    Overall

    I loved the first part of this book but after a while it becomes very self indulgent and the innocence is lost. It doesn't really finish, rather ends with some aimless recollections.

    Still it was an insightful read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.