You no longer follow Marmalade

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Marmalade

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Marmalade

Los Angeles, CA, United States | Member Since 2005

26
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 17 reviews
  • 246 ratings
  • 581 titles in library
  • 69 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
3

  • The Girl: A Life Lived in the Shadow of Roman Polanski

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 24 mins)
    • By Samantha Geimer
    • Narrated By Samantha Geimer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (23)
    Performance
    (22)
    Story
    (22)

    Taking us far beyond the headlines, The Girl reveals a 13-year-old who was simultaneously wise beyond her years and yet terribly vulnerable. By telling her story in full for the first time, Samantha reclaims her identity, and indelibly proves that it is possible to move forward from victim to survivor, from confusion to certainty, from shame to strength.

    Marmalade says: "New Perspective"
    "New Perspective"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I have followed this case for years and was always surprised that the victim seemed uninterested in continuing to prosecute Polanski - and in this book she finally gets the chance to explain why and add her own voice to this discussion. The book is very well written and her narration is very professional.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Burn for Burn

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 1 min)
    • By Jenny Han, Siobhan Vivian
    • Narrated By Joy Osmanski, Madeleine Maby, Rebekkah Ross
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (23)
    Performance
    (20)
    Story
    (20)

    Postcard-perfect Jar Island is home to charming tourist shops, pristine beaches, amazing oceanfront homes - and three girls secretly plotting revenge. KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend. LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it. MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him. None of the girls can act on their revenge fantasies alone without being suspected. But together…anything is possible .

    Vanesa says: "Amazing!"
    "Loved It"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This was a really fun read. The characters were well written and the plot was compelling - went straight from this book into the sequel and am currently itching for the third installment. The narrators are incredibly good and really help make the world feel real.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • To All the Boys I've Loved Before

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Jenny Han
    • Narrated By Laura Knight Keating
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (79)
    Performance
    (72)
    Story
    (72)

    Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series. What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

    Bridget Niki says: "cute, contemporary, young adult, romantic & funny!"
    "So disapointing"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I just devoured Burn for Burn and Fire with Fire and was especially excited to read this book since Will Smith is developing it into a film but this was incredibly disappointing. The plot felt incredibly uninspired and while I like the authors style she has written the protagonist as though she is 12 and not 16.... Would suggest trying a different Jenny Han book instead.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A Bear Called Paddington

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 39 mins)
    • By Michael Bond
    • Narrated By Stephen Fry
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (208)
    Performance
    (132)
    Story
    (136)

    Paddington Bear had traveled all the way from Darkest Peru when the Brown family first met him on Paddington Station. Since then their lives have never been quite the same... for ordinary things become quite extraordinary when a bear called Paddington is involved.

    R. S. Silverman says: "Delightful storytelling."
    "Fantastic Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I hadn't read this book in years and experiencing it once more through Stephen Fry's excellent narration was a complete joy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The One: Selection, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By Kiera Cass
    • Narrated By Amy Rubinate
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (918)
    Performance
    (833)
    Story
    (837)

    The time has come for one winner to be crowned. When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown - or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose - and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.

    Katheryne says: "Fabulous Final Installment"
    "Just don't bother"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The kind of series that makes you wonder why you wasted so much time reading it. Each book became stupider and by the end you really can't help but wonder why the author thinks you should care about any of it. Save yourself the agony of this one, I wish I had.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Disaster Artist: My Life inside 'The Room', the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Greg Sestero, Tom Bissell
    • Narrated By Greg Sestero
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (198)
    Performance
    (189)
    Story
    (190)

    Nineteen-year-old Greg Sestero met Tommy Wiseau at an acting school in San Francisco. Wiseau's scenes were rivetingly wrong, yet Sestero, hypnotized by such uninhibited acting, thought, "I have to do a scene with this guy." That impulse changed both of their lives. The Disaster Artist is Greg Sestero's laugh-out-loud funny account of how Tommy Wiseau defied every law of artistry, business, and friendship to make "the Citizen Kane of bad movies" (Entertainment Weekly), which is now an international phenomenon.

    marcus says: "It Starts coming Together"
    "Great Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Fascinating behind the scenes glimpse at one of the most bizarre film productions. Entertaining and well read.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • World War Z: The Complete Edition (Movie Tie-in Edition): An Oral History of the Zombie War

    • ABRIDGED (12 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Max Brooks
    • Narrated By Max Brooks, Alan Alda, John Turturro, and others
    Overall
    (3238)
    Performance
    (3067)
    Story
    (3072)

    World War Z: The Complete Edition is a new recording of Max Brooks’ best-selling novel, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, featuring 21 additional Hollywood A-list actors and sci-fi fan favorites performing stories not included in the original edition. New narrators include Academy Award-winning director Martin Scorsese, Spiderman star Alfred Molina, The Walking Dead creator Frank Darabont, rapper Common, Firefly star Nathan Fillion, Shaun of the Dead’s Simon Pegg, and members of the casts of Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Heroes and more!

    Kim Venatries says: "A Good Story with an All Star Cast but ABRIDGED"
    "Great Audiobook"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Great Book and fantastic performances. Well worth a listen. I couldn't turn it off and listened to the whole thing in one sitting!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Embrace

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Jessica Shirvington
    • Narrated By Rebecca Macauley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (85)
    Performance
    (73)
    Story
    (74)

    All Violet wants is to be with Lincoln. But he has a secret so great it could tear them apart. Then there’s Phoenix. He’s intense and enigmatic, but he's always there for her. Caught up in a battle between light and dark - where angels seek vengeance and humans are warriors - Violet must decide who she’s willing to sacrifice and who to trust, because the wrong choice could cost her not only her life, but her destiny.

    Ella says: "Not all Aussi's sound like this"
    "Boring. Don't be fooled by fake hype."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I bought this book because Steve Spielberg's production company sold it to the CW describing it as "being in the vein of Buffy and The Vampire Diaries." It's not. It's really boring, the character is unlikable and the world is uninteresting. It's been a long time since I've struggled to finish listening to a book, but I just couldn't bring myself to care about what happened. Definitely won't be reading the next installment.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Chris Colfer
    • Narrated By Chris Colfer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (286)
    Performance
    (272)
    Story
    (270)

    Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairytales. The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

    Naomi says: "Delightful! Entertaining! And beautifully written!"
    "Story is predictable but proficiently written"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This story is very predictable but it is proficiently written - although far too long for a middle grade novel. Chris Colfer's fake british accents are incredibly annoying. This book doesn't really feel fresh but Colfer (or his ghost writer) is a capable writer who is able to bring these cliches to life.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Before I Fall

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By Lauren Oliver
    • Narrated By Sarah Drew
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (876)
    Performance
    (698)
    Story
    (699)

    Samantha Kingston has it all: the world's most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last. Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact.

    Bluemoon says: "Great story... but not for kids!"
    "Very Compelling"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Another great teen novel. Interesting to see a flawed character trying to become a better person. Sarah Drew does a good job bringing the words alive.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.