Customer Reviews | Audible.com
 

You no longer follow Marmalade

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Marmalade

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Marmalade

Los Angeles, CA, United States | Member Since 2005

19
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 12 reviews
  • 219 ratings
  • 0 titles in library
  • 14 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
3

  • Embrace

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Jessica Shirvington
    • Narrated By Rebecca Macauley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (66)
    Performance
    (58)
    Story
    (58)

    All Violet wants is to be with Lincoln. But he has a secret so great it could tear them apart. Then there’s Phoenix. He’s intense and enigmatic, but he's always there for her. Caught up in a battle between light and dark - where angels seek vengeance and humans are warriors - Violet must decide who she’s willing to sacrifice and who to trust, because the wrong choice could cost her not only her life, but her destiny.

    Ella says: "Not all Aussi's sound like this"
    "Boring. Don't be fooled by fake hype."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I bought this book because Steve Spielberg's production company sold it to the CW describing it as "being in the vein of Buffy and The Vampire Diaries." It's not. It's really boring, the character is unlikable and the world is uninteresting. It's been a long time since I've struggled to finish listening to a book, but I just couldn't bring myself to care about what happened. Definitely won't be reading the next installment.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl: A Life Lived in the Shadow of Roman Polanski

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 24 mins)
    • By Samantha Geimer
    • Narrated By Samantha Geimer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (19)
    Performance
    (18)
    Story
    (18)

    Taking us far beyond the headlines, The Girl reveals a 13-year-old who was simultaneously wise beyond her years and yet terribly vulnerable. By telling her story in full for the first time, Samantha reclaims her identity, and indelibly proves that it is possible to move forward from victim to survivor, from confusion to certainty, from shame to strength.

    Marmalade says: "New Perspective"
    "New Perspective"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I have followed this case for years and was always surprised that the victim seemed uninterested in continuing to prosecute Polanski - and in this book she finally gets the chance to explain why and add her own voice to this discussion. The book is very well written and her narration is very professional.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • World War Z: The Complete Edition (Movie Tie-in Edition): An Oral History of the Zombie War

    • ABRIDGED (12 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Max Brooks
    • Narrated By Max Brooks, Alan Alda, John Turturro, and others
    Overall
    (2311)
    Performance
    (2189)
    Story
    (2192)

    World War Z: The Complete Edition is a new recording of Max Brooks’ best-selling novel, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, featuring 21 additional Hollywood A-list actors and sci-fi fan favorites performing stories not included in the original edition. New narrators include Academy Award-winning director Martin Scorsese, Spiderman star Alfred Molina, The Walking Dead creator Frank Darabont, rapper Common, Firefly star Nathan Fillion, Shaun of the Dead’s Simon Pegg, and members of the casts of Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Heroes and more!

    Chris says: "Will never pre-order again"
    "Great Audiobook"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Great Book and fantastic performances. Well worth a listen. I couldn't turn it off and listened to the whole thing in one sitting!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Chris Colfer
    • Narrated By Chris Colfer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (151)
    Performance
    (149)
    Story
    (147)

    Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairytales. The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

    Naomi says: "Delightful! Entertaining! And beautifully written!"
    "Story is predictable but proficiently written"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This story is very predictable but it is proficiently written - although far too long for a middle grade novel. Chris Colfer's fake british accents are incredibly annoying. This book doesn't really feel fresh but Colfer (or his ghost writer) is a capable writer who is able to bring these cliches to life.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Before I Fall

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By Lauren Oliver
    • Narrated By Sarah Drew
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (698)
    Performance
    (532)
    Story
    (534)

    Samantha Kingston has it all: the world's most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last. Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact.

    Penny says: "Beautiful."
    "Very Compelling"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Another great teen novel. Interesting to see a flawed character trying to become a better person. Sarah Drew does a good job bringing the words alive.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • The Fault in Our Stars

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By John Green
    • Narrated By Kate Rudd
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5732)
    Performance
    (5232)
    Story
    (5265)

    Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

    RaisinNut says: "A story about LIFE, not death..."
    "Great Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is a very moving book and well worth the listen. Kate Rudd is a good narrator who really helps bring the story to life.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Divergent

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Veronica Roth
    • Narrated By Emma Galvin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (11486)
    Performance
    (10355)
    Story
    (10418)

    In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue - Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is - she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

    Grant says: "It's not for me. Loved it anyway."
    "Great Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A Bookstore employee recommended this to me and I was very pleasantly surprised. It's a great book. A perfect read for Hunger Games fans.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • The Emerald Atlas: Books of Beginning

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By John Stephens
    • Narrated By Jim Dale
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (566)
    Performance
    (452)
    Story
    (451)

    Kate, Michael, and Emma have been in one orphanage after another for the last ten years, passed along like lost baggage. Yet these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil of devastating power, an evil they know nothing about. Until now. Before long, Kate, Michael, and Emma are on a journey to dangerous and secret corners of the world....

    Stacey says: "Fantastic addicting fantasy"
    "I like Jim Dale..."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    But having a British narrator for a book set in the US is really, really weird. Felt like they were a little too desperate to try and capture some of the magic of the Harry Potter books.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The First Assistant: A Continuing Tale from Behind the Hollywood Curtain

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Clare Naylor, Mimi Hare
    • Narrated By Shelly Frasier
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (142)
    Performance
    (24)
    Story
    (25)

    In The Second Assistant, readers across the country found a heroine they loved to love in Lizzie Miller, the smart and witty East Coast girl clinging for dear life to the bottom rung of the Hollywood ladder. But no more coffee runs and sorting thumbtacks by color for Lizzie; she's been promoted. As first assistant to Scott Wagner, now president of The Agency and one of Hollywood's premiere movers and shakers, she's making decisions and learning the ins and outs of the business.

    Brittany says: "Loved it!"
    "Way too ridiculous"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I really wanted to enjoy this book but it ended up disintegrating into a film school students ridiculous fantasy. Completely absurd.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Monster High, Book 2: The Ghoul Next Door

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Lisi Harrison
    • Narrated By Elizabeth Morton
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (27)
    Performance
    (21)
    Story
    (22)

    Cleo was the queen bee of the RADs, the normies, and everyone in between at Merston High. But now it's "Frankie this" and "Melody that"... these new girls sure know how to get her lashes in a tangle. When Cleo lands a Golden Teen Vogue photo opp for her friends everything seems to be back on track...until they bail to be in some film - Frankie and Melody's film! Can't a royal get some loyal?

    Marmalade says: "Fun Book"
    "Fun Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is a fun book with Lisi Harrison's signature wit. Liz Morton is a good reader - EXCEPT when she has to do an australian accent, at which point she becomes unbearable. Hands down the worst australian accent I've ever heard. That aside though this is an entertaining 'read'.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.