Customer Reviews | Audible.com
 

You no longer follow carlos101

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow carlos101

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

carlos101

Member Since 2002

23
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 137 ratings
  • 567 titles in library
  • 3 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • The Mark of a Murderer

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Susanna Gregory
    • Narrated By Andrew Wincott
    Overall
    (78)
    Performance
    (27)
    Story
    (27)

    February 1355: Oxford explodes in one of the most serious riots of its history. Fearing for their lives, the scholars flee, and some choose the University at Cambridge as their temporary refuge. But they don't remain safe for long. Within hours of their arrival, the first of their number dies, followed quickly by a second. When Matthew Bartholomew begins to investigate the deaths, he uncovers evidence that the Oxford riot was not a case of random violence, but part of a carefully orchestrated plot.

    Judith A. Weller says: "Great Historical Mystery"
    "Melodrama"
    Overall

    This book reads like young adult fiction. The tone is melodramatic, not helped by rather overwrought narration. Most of the characters are one dimensional and eventually tiresome. Read Mistress of the Art of Death, instead. Slightly earlier period, far better writing.

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (476)
    Performance
    (209)
    Story
    (209)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "Stupid and predictable"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    Too many convenient coincidences. Oblivious cops. Bad guys who can be everywhere, undetected and unsuspected. A disappointment. George Guidall excellent, as always.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 31 Bond Street

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Ellen Horan
    • Narrated By Adam Grupper
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (27)
    Performance
    (5)
    Story
    (6)

    The sensational murder of Dr. Harvey Burdell in his lower Manhattan home made front-page news across the United States in 1857. "Who killed Dr. Burdell?" was a question that gripped the nation. 31 Bond Street, a debut novel by Ellen Horan, interweaves fiction with actual events in a clever historical narrative that blends romance, politics, greed and sexual intrigue in a suspenseful drama.

    Christine says: "Kept My Interest"
    "lifeless"
    Overall

    Great story with wonderful period detail, but somehow manages to take real characters and suck the life out of them. Ornate prose style badly served by melodramatic narration, with some jarring errors in pronunciation and emphasis. Not worthwhile.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The King of Ragtime

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Larry Karp
    • Narrated By Mirron Willis
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    It's 1916, and time's running out for Scott Joplin. Before he dies, he wants to provide for his wife and secure his place in musical history. He's written a musical drama, and his young piano student, Martin Niederhoffer, convinces him to try to get Irving Berlin to publish and produce the work. The next day, Niederhoffer walks into his office and finds Joplin crouched over the blood-soaked body of a young man. He hustles his teacher away, but the two are seen leaving the building.

    carlos101 says: "Disappointing"
    "Disappointing"
    Overall

    Well researched novel with hardly a real emotion to be found. Characterizations are melodramatic, occasionally almost cartoonish, not helped by comic opera narration and some painfully bad accents. Not recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Camel Club

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By David Baldacci
    • Narrated By Jonathan Davis
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2840)
    Performance
    (1034)
    Story
    (1046)

    It exists at the fringes of Washington, D.C., has no power, and consists solely of four eccentric and downtrodden members whom society has forgotten. Their simple goal is to find the "truth" behind their country's actions.

    Alex says: "The Good, Bad, and the So-So"
    "a waste of time"
    Overall

    Laughably bad. Poorly developed characters in preposterous situations. The only thing worse is the amateurish narration, a festival of misplaced emphasis. Don't buy this book.

    7 of 14 people found this review helpful
  • State of Fear

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Michael Crichton
    • Narrated By George Wilson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1998)
    Performance
    (424)
    Story
    (431)

    Once again Michael Crichton gives us his trademark combination of page-turning suspense, cutting-edge technology, and extraordinary research. State of Fear is a superb blend of edge-of-your-seat suspense and thought provoking commentary on how information is manipulated in the modern world.

    F says: "Did I read the same book as some of you?"
    "Subtle as a sledgehammer."
    Overall

    Setting the science aside (and Crichton certainly does), this is a truly awful piece of fiction. We have the evil environmentalists against the heroic MIT professor as guardian of truth, with the dumbest lawyer in the world between them. It takes forever to get started, and then seems as if it will never end.

    As for the science, Crichton reminds me of a creationist writing about evolution: the theory doesn't explain everything, so we should discard it entirely. His presentation is replete with half-truths, distortions and misrepresentations of published material. The print version of this book masquerades as science, with charts graphs and an extensive bibliography. But this is fiction, and bad fiction at that.

    Please do yourself a favor and see the review of this book on the web site of the Earth Institute at Columbia University or at the NRDC site.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.