You no longer follow BEVERLY

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow BEVERLY

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

BEVERLY

FALLS CHURCH, VA, United States | Member Since 2014

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 0 reviews
  • 0 ratings
  • 182 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2015
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Black Water Rising

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Attica Locke
    • Narrated By Dion Graham
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (171)
    Performance
    (79)
    Story
    (77)

    Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl and he runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy strip mall. But he's long since made peace with not living the American Dream and carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

    C. Telfair says: "Promising Young Writer"
    "Compelling period story"
    Overall

    I enjoyed this book so much that I checked back to see if there were any other books available by Attica Locke, and happened to read the review from August 9. I felt compelled to respond. It may be that the reviewer was not alive during the time the story took place, so could not relate to the historical context and issues, or was so familiar with them that they needed no explanation. Either way I suppose that this means that the author failed in making the period seem real for that reviewer in her fiction. By the same token, it may be that I found the story immensely compelling for the reason that I was a young teenager at that time, and the events, people, issues and context of the time are alive and well in my sub-conscious, though I paid little enough attention to them at the time. I thought the political movements, labor union issues and “other stuff” added context and weight to the plot, and the book would have been lightweight without them. I thought the book superb, and I hope that readers are not put off this book by that review.

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.