You no longer follow P

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow P

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

P

2
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 6 reviews
  • 29 ratings
  • 114 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • When in Doubt, Add Butter

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Beth Harbison
    • Narrated By Orlagh Cassidy
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (137)
    Performance
    (122)
    Story
    (121)

    As far as Gemma is concerned, her days of dating are over. In fact, it’s her job to cater other peoples’ dates, and that’s just fine by her. At 37, she has her own business, working as a private chef, and her life feels full. She’s got six steady clients that keep her hands full. For Gemma, cooking is predictable. Recipes are certain. Use good ingredients, follow the directions, and you are assured success. Life, on the other hand, is full of variables. So when Gemma’s takes an unexpected turn on a road she always thought was straight and narrow, she must face her past.

    Erin DeAnjou says: "Predictable but Very Enjoyable"
    "Enjoyable listen; marvelous narrator"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    More depth than typical for this sort of book. Fairly predictable but not stupidly so. I enjoyed the book and appreciated the fine narration. Characterization was mostly strong. Reminded me, sort-of, of Barbara O'Neal's writing.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Dying Bites: Bloodhound Files, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 13 mins)
    • By D. D. Barant
    • Narrated By Johanna Parker
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (266)
    Performance
    (232)
    Story
    (232)

    Her job description is the "tracking and apprehension of mentally-fractured killers". What this really means in FBI profiler Jace Valchek's brave new world - one in which only one percent of the population is human - is that a woman's work is never done. And real is getting stranger every day. Jace has been ripped from her reality by David Cassius, the vampire head of the NSA. He knows that she's the best there is in the business, and David needs her help in solving a series of gruesome murders of vampires and werewolves.

    K says: "Not a yawner!"
    "Violent images and good touches of humanity"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    First off, there are some really violent and cruel tortures in this book. The books itself is well written, there are some really good scenes in it and it is one of those books that is better left letting it tell the tale rather than trying to guess what is coming next. Characterization is great; everyone acts within the range given them by the author and they are all more than cookie cutter figure. There are twists and turns in the book, but no particularly ugly surprises. The narrator, Johanna Parker, is, of course, great, although I have a tough time with some of her male voices, particularly since there are a LOT of them in this book and I had a tough time trying to figure out just from the 'voice' which one it was. While YMMV, I found this a good book, both the print version (I read it when it first came out) and the audio version recently listened to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Many Sins of Lord Cameron: Highland Pleasures, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Jennifer Ashley
    • Narrated By Angela Dawe
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (645)
    Performance
    (597)
    Story
    (601)

    A renowned rake, Cameron Mackenzie doesn't care if Ainsley Douglas has a virtuous excuse for sneaking around his bedchamber. He only cares that she's at his mercy. One kiss at a time, he plans to seduce her. But what starts out as a lusty diversion may break Cam's own rules.

    Katheryne says: "Perfect Regency Romance"
    "too, too predictable"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I'm struggling with this one. I mostly enjoyed book one of the series (other than the frequent repeats of information already given and set-ups already in place), and I faintly remember reading these in print when they first came out and running into the same issue. Years and narration hasn't made this one any more palatable. I'll pass on the rest of the series.

    Angela Dawe does a great job with accents and voices and I really enjoyed her rendition of J Crusie's most recent book. But, sorry all, the lilt she tends to add to the end of most of her sentences tends to make me twitch. Mildly, I grant you, but like any irritant, after a while it all adds up.

    So, for you Scots-lovers, this might be right up your alley. For me, it was a narrow and dreary alley, indeed, and I will take a road more original for my next read.

    And, as always, YMMV.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2036)
    Performance
    (1865)
    Story
    (1881)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Not truly funny, but still good"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Perhaps it is my age : It was mildly amusing and seemed to be honest; the author did a good job of narrating and it was nice to hear the emphasis placed where she wanted it to be although it got to my ears it got over the top. And, as we all know, no one gets out of childhood unscathed and it sounded as though she'd been 'scathed' often and hard. So, if you like coming of age stories and enjoy her writing, it is worth the credit. If you are over the 60 mark, it may not be as funny as you keep hearing it is. Or maybe it is just me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Hit and Run

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 18 mins)
    • By Lawrence Block
    • Narrated By Richard Poe
    Overall
    (247)
    Performance
    (129)
    Story
    (131)

    Keller's a hit man. For years now, he's had places to go and people to kill. But enough is enough. He's got money in the bank and just one last job standing between him and retirement. So he carries it out with his usual professionalism, and he heads home, but guess what?

    Jose says: "End of game?"
    "I liked it"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The characters are sympathetic even though I get a bit of a emotional jolt when I hold up to culturally expected standards. I like them all, and thankfully the author doesn't present the victims as either completely victimized nor totally abhorrent. I enjoy books that make me sit back and take a look at my reactions without getting all emotionally manipulative about it. I am also glad that it is more entertainment than scary/thriller/bump in the night stuff. Not my first Lawrence Block book, and will not be my last, either.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • How Sex Works

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Sharon Moalem
    • Narrated By Oliver Wyman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (139)
    Performance
    (86)
    Story
    (84)

    Can twins have different fathers? From the composition and function of human sex organs to the fascinating biochemistry behind sexual attraction, How Sex Works presents captivating new ideas and surprising answers to questions about contraception, fertility, circumcision, menopause, STDs, homosexuality, orgasms, and more. This is an entertaining, comprehensive exploration of culture, biology, and history that takes us far beyond our common understanding of sex.

    Michael Stringer says: "Excellent summary for senior students"
    "interesting"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    It was factual, interesting and didn't seem to have an axe to grind. The reader was capable if a bit dry. Not up to the bar set by Sex at Dawn, but a worthwhile listen none the less.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.