Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Beth

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Beth

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Beth

ratings
15
REVIEWS
7
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
1

  • Shake the Devil Off: A True Story of the Murder that Rocked New Orleans

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Ethan Brown
    • Narrated By James Avery
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (35)
    Performance
    (15)
    Story
    (15)

    They looked like a slightly mischievous version of the all-American couple: a handsome army veteran and his gorgeous artist girlfriend. Zackery Bowen, after completing his tour of Iraq, came home to New Orleans, and in two weeks before Hurricane Katrina, he met Addie Hall. Their improvised, hard-partying endurance during and after the storm inspired news outlets around the world to feature the couple as the personification of the indomitable spirit of New Orleans. But beneath the surface, trouble was brewing.

    Robin says: "Avoid this one!"
    "Disappointed, I just wanted the story"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    The story is such a compelling one, I didn't need the author's opinion on the state of society and politics in the wake if Katrina.


    What could Ethan Brown have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Tell more about Addie, and less opinion.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 25 mins)
    • By David Sedaris
    • Narrated By David Sedaris
    Overall
    (2925)
    Performance
    (2666)
    Story
    (2650)

    From the unique perspective of David Sedaris comes a new collection of essays taking his listeners on a bizarre and stimulating world tour. From the perils of French dentistry to the eating habits of the Australian kookaburra, from the squat-style toilets of Beijing to the particular wilderness of a North Carolina Costco, we learn about the absurdity and delight of a curious traveler's experiences.

    FanB14 says: "Devout Fan Disappointed"
    "David...NOooooooooooo......."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    David, you're fabulous.

    Entertain me, make me look like a crazy lady on the train when my shoulders shake silently in laughter. Give me tears of joy and blurt with laughter. Transport me to wherever the story is. Man, I'm picking up rubbish on the side of the road, right there with you.

    I Love you. I Love you, but I don't give one lick about your politics.

    Please don't go there again, you're better than that. I'm gonna be here for you next time, but please don't do that again. David, I know it hurts to hear this, but I can't let you do this to yourself.

    You have to stop now before it becomes a habit, and all your old friends leave, and you have to go out and find new friends. Jesesh David, do you want to end up on the sale table next to Al Franken? Do you? Because that's where you are headed if you don't stop this nonsense.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Dinner: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Herman Koch, Sam Garrett (translator)
    • Narrated By Clive Mantle
    Overall
    (890)
    Performance
    (779)
    Story
    (786)

    It's a summer's evening in Amsterdam, and two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant for dinner. Between mouthfuls of food and over the polite scrapings of cutlery, the conversation remains a gentle hum of polite discourse - the banality of work, the triviality of the holidays. But behind the empty words, terrible things need to be said, and with every forced smile and every new course, the knives are being sharpened. Each couple has a 15-year-old son. The two boys are united by their accountability for a single horrific act; an act that has triggered a police investigation and shattered the comfortable, insulated worlds of their families.

    Jane says: "Dining at its most distubing"
    "Insider view of a horrible mind"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The Dinner?

    I liked the book a lot, but this question would be better posed in the opposite. What did I hate most about the Dinner? What an interesting peek into the deep recesses of the mind of a creep!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Michelle, they only dabbled into the psyche of the boy. All we know is he is a clone of his dad, and his dad is awful.


    Did Clive Mantle do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    I really disliked the narrator for the first 1/2 of the book. I felt he was way too animated. I felt like someone was reading a "Hello Kitty" children's novel to me, and was really annoyed by it. But I got so engrossed in the psyche of the awful people, that at some point it didn't matter anymore.


    If you could rename The Dinner, what would you call it?

    The Awful People


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Incendiary: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Chris Cleave
    • Narrated By Tracy-Ann Oberman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (21)
    Performance
    (15)
    Story
    (15)

    Written as an open letter to Osama bin Laden from a distraught woman whose husband and son were killed in a massive suicide bombing, Incendiary was published in the UK on July 7, 2005 - eerily, the day of the London underground bombings. It went on to win the 2006 Somerset Maugham Award; was shortlisted for the 2006 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize; won the United States’ Book-of-the-Month Club’s First Fiction Award; and won the Prix Special du Jury at the French Prix des Lecteurs 2007.

    Beth says: "WOW"
    "WOW"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of Incendiary to be better than the print version?

    Hearing this story told with the perfect British accent makes a great story, that much better.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Incendiary?

    Waking up holding hands with Petra


    Any additional comments?

    Amazing story. I want more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1824)
    Performance
    (1665)
    Story
    (1678)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "If you like quirky people, you'll love this"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    All of it. If forced to pick, it would be the extra stuff at the end, for audible only. Put a bird on it.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    Revenge of the Paste Eaters


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I wish she's let some more of her southern accent through.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Both.


    Any additional comments?

    I grew up in a small town with a lot of characters in it. My favorite people come from families like Jenny's, I'm probably from one too. I think odd balls scare people that haven't been there. My friends that grew up in suburbs, with normal families & friends didn't like this book as much as my friends that are oddballs. THANK YOU JENNY!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Optimist's Daughter

    • ABRIDGED (4 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Eudora Welty
    • Narrated By Eudora Welty
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (24)
    Performance
    (22)
    Story
    (21)

    This story of a young woman's confrontation with death and her past is a poetic study of human relations.

    Teresa says: "Beautiful writing"
    "I have heard Miss Welty"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Where does The Optimist's Daughter rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    thoroughly enjoyable


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Optimist's Daughter?

    I loved the description of the sewing woman, Miss Berna Longmeyer. Her description tells a deep story about that exact time in the south.


    What about Eudora Welty’s performance did you like?

    It is always wonderful to hear a story in the author's voice, but this one was exceptional. Her southern soul was on display


    If you could take any character from The Optimist's Daughter out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    My first choice would be Fay, because she would be entertaining, but I wouldn't want to actually spend any time with her. I'd prefer to spend time dining with Juge McKelva


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Swamplandia!

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 11 mins)
    • By Karen Russell
    • Narrated By Arielle Sitrick, David Ackroyd
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (367)
    Performance
    (245)
    Story
    (244)

    The Bigtree alligator-wrestling dynasty is in decline, and Swamplandia!, their island home and gator-wrestling theme park, formerly number-one in the region, is swiftly being encroached upon by a fearsome and sophisticated competitor called the World of Darkness. Ava’s mother, the park’s indomitable headliner, has just died; her sister, Ossie, has fallen in love with a spooky character known as the Dredgeman, who may or may not be an actual ghost.

    Suzn F says: "Sometimes Brilliant, Sometimes Disappointing"
    "Quirky Surprise"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    If you could sum up Swamplandia! in three words, what would they be?

    mysterious precocious rollercoaster


    What did you like best about this story?

    The "you know what" part made me sad, but it also made it real.


    What about Arielle Sitrick and David Ackroyd ’s performance did you like?

    character appropriate


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, too much to absorb. I needed a chapter at a time


    Any additional comments?

    This was one of those books that made me sad when it was over. I wanted it to listen to it forever.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.