You no longer follow Nordic Artisan

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Nordic Artisan

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Nordic Artisan

Member Since 2016

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 8 reviews
  • 21 ratings
  • 106 titles in library
  • 9 purchased in 2018
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Silesian Station

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By David Downing
    • Narrated By Simon Prebble
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (196)
    Performance
    (161)
    Story
    (160)

    Summer, 1939. British journalist John Russell has just been granted American citizenship in exchange for agreeing to work for American intelligence when his girlfriend, Effi, is arrested by the Gestapo. Russell hoped his new nationality would let him safely stay in Berlin with Effi and his son, but now he's being blackmailed. To free Effi, he must agree to work for the Nazis.

    Lois says: "Spies and Nazis"
    "Great book! Really kept me listening!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This book contains great historical knowledge. It weaves a storyline through that historical realty which kept me wanting more! I will buy the next book in this series!

    My only suggestion to the author is to find a way to weave a woman's perspective into he romance part. The romance is a bit direct and devoid of the interplay women desire for an intriguing alluring experience. No offense to the author who is excellent. I have found this is a typical issue plaguing most male authors.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Masaryk Station: A John Russell Thriller, Book 6

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By David Downing
    • Narrated By Michael Healy
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (73)
    Performance
    (64)
    Story
    (62)

    Berlin, early 1948: The city, still occupied by the four Allied powers, still largely in ruins, has become the cockpit of a new Cold War, and as spring unfolds its German inhabitants live in fear of the Soviets enforcing a Western withdrawal. Here, as elsewhere in Europe, the legacies of the War have become entangled in the new Soviet-American conflict, creating a world of bizarre and fleeting loyalties, a paradise for spies. John Russell works for both Stalin’s NKVD and the newly-created CIA. He does as little for either as he can safely get away with.

    Joyce says: "What a disappointment...and it's all the narrator"
    "Good in general "
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Somewhat of a liberal bias. There is an undying of communistic ideology. It is somewhat hidden under basic acknowledgement of The Soviet Union’s problems (highly understated). This book and the entire series really seems to say “give Communism another try, it might work this this time.”

    I say wishful thinking because every time communism is tried.. enter human nature (power control and money), and youu have human tragedy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Remembering Dresden : Jack Turner Suspense Series, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Dan Walsh
    • Narrated By Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (28)
    Performance
    (25)
    Story
    (25)

    Young history professor Jack Turner takes a retreat at a lakeside cabin just outside of Culpepper, Georgia, to work on his doctoral dissertation. The cabin is owned by an ambitious state senator, an inheritance from his father. Inside, everything is exactly the way it was when the old man died 10 years ago. While taking a break from his research, Jack snoops through the father's books and finds an old photo album filled with black-and-white pictures of orphaned children.

    Peter M says: "Another Excellent Dan Walsh Story!"
    "Excellent"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Great book! Excellent historian. The audio was well delivered also.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves suspense and WWII history.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Broken Angels

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Gemma Liviero
    • Narrated By Nico Evers-Swindell, Emily Foster
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1598)
    Performance
    (1447)
    Story
    (1441)

    Imprisoned in the Lodz Ghetto, Elsi discovers her mother's desperate attempt to end her pregnancy and comes face-to-face with the impossibility of their situation. Risking her own life, Elsi joins a resistance group to sabotage the regime. Blonde, blue-eyed Matilda is wrenched from her family in Romania and taken to Germany, where her captors attempt to mold her into the perfect Aryan child. Spirited and brave, she must inspire hope in the other stolen children to make her dreams of escape a reality.

    James R Terry, II says: "loved this book."
    "Excellent!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Excellent book! The audio performance was also well done.

    This book interwove several characters very well and reflected history accurately.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Lost Letter: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Jillian Cantor
    • Narrated By Allyson Ryan, George Newbern, Betsy Struxness, and others
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (679)
    Performance
    (628)
    Story
    (627)

    A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

    Jennifer Masterson says: "This was absolutely fantastic!!!"
    "Awesome! A rare experience in literature!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    If you are looking for a book that keeps you going back to to it (like an obsession), until the end, this is it!

    This book has it all, history, entwined with irony and relationship, as well as a connection with recent history.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pastel Orphans

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Gemma Liviero
    • Narrated By Whitney Dykhouse, Nick Podehl, Amy McFadden
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1347)
    Performance
    (1231)
    Story
    (1219)

    In 1930s Berlin, young Henrik, the son of a Jewish father and Aryan mother, watches the world around him crumbling: people are rioting in the streets, a strange yellow star begins appearing in shop windows, and friends are forced to move - or they simply disappear.

    ILoveMyAngels says: ""Family over anything""
    "Great book with historical accuracy!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    If you read enough of the true stories about this era you will realize that "yes" all of these things are based on reality and that anyone who survived did so because of multiple incredulous experiences.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Hidden Brain: How Our Unconscious Minds Elect Presidents, Control Markets, Wage Wars, and Save Our Lives

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By Shankar Vedantam
    • Narrated By Steve West
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (253)
    Performance
    (153)
    Story
    (154)

    The "hidden brain" is Shankar Vedantam's shorthand for a host of brain functions, emotional responses, and cognitive processes that happen outside of our conscious awareness, but that have a decisive effect on how we behave. The hidden brain has its finger on the scale when we make all of our most complex and important decisions - it decides who we fall in love with, whether we should convict someone of murder, or which way to run when someone yells "fire!"

    Anne says: "Adjunct Instructor of Psychology"
    "Liberal Bias"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This book has some good insights and I am sure the writer meant well, but the liberal bias clearly came through when he chose to leave out the true statistics of Washington DC's crime rates related to legal gun ownership. He claimed that crime/gun violence went down when the ban was placed. It is a well known truth that crime/gun violence went up when the ban was placed. He further fails to tell us that when the gun ban was lifted again, violent crime went down. It may be true that in DC, at that time, cops committed less gun related suicide but let's face it if someone really wants to die they will find some way to do it.

    He also uses evolutionary survival in places where it helps his narrative but conveniently leave that out in other areas that it may also apply. There are too many variables in some of his stories for us to come to the exact conclusions he claims. Many things presented are only theory and he presents them as fact.

    My question to the author is that he check his own hidden brain for liberal bias.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The Girl from the Train

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Irma Joubert
    • Narrated By Sarah Zimmerman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (347)
    Performance
    (309)
    Story
    (310)

    Six-year-old Gretl Schmidt is on a train bound for Auschwitz. Jakób Kowalski is planting a bomb on the tracks. As World War II draws to a close, Jakób fights with the Polish resistance against the crushing forces of Germany and Russia. They mean to destroy a German troop transport, but Gretl's unscheduled train reaches the bomb first. Gretl is the only survivor.

    john says: "Excellent story covering the middle of the 20th C."
    "Unique and amazing"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    An atypical story of survival, love and belonging. The story kept me listening every chance I got!

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.