You no longer follow Clare

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Clare

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Clare

Sachse, TX, United States

0
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 ratings
  • 1 titles in library
  • 0 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • How Lucky You Are

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Kristyn Kusek Lewis
    • Narrated By Coleen Marlo
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (68)
    Performance
    (58)
    Story
    (61)

    In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, How Lucky You Are is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their long-standing friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her.

    glamazon says: "This Story Never Gets Old"
    "Ending detracted from the entire book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made How Lucky You Are better?

    If one of the characters had more of a starring role, and the other characters were supporting that.


    What was most disappointing about Kristyn Kusek Lewis’s story?

    The end was overshadowed by domestic violence aimed towards one of the characters. Then, the author closed the book with an unconfirmed story that this had happened in her life.


    What does Coleen Marlo bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Pitch & emotion


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    No

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • The End of Men: And the Rise of Women

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 1 min)
    • By Hanna Rosin
    • Narrated By Laural Merlington
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (45)
    Performance
    (41)
    Story
    (42)

    Men have been the dominant sex since - well, the dawn of mankind. And yet, as journalist Hanna Rosin discovered, that long-held truth is no longer true. At this unprecedented moment, women are no longer merely gaining on men; they have pulled decisively ahead by almost every measure. Already "the end of men" - the phrase Rosin coined - has entered the lexicon as indelibly as Simone de Beauvoir’s "second sex", Betty Friedan’s "feminine mystique", Susan Faludi’s "backlash", and Naomi Wolf’s "beauty myth" have.

    Darren says: "Great book, don't care for the reader's style"
    "Thoughtful"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The End of Men?

    The topics broached in this book made you change your perspective on how the real world works these days.


    What was the most compelling aspect of this narrative?

    The author pointed out that the men are yet to adapt to their changing world


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The "super mom" who does everything and doesn't delegate tasks


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    No

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.