Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Ragna

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Ragna

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Ragna

Phillipsville, CA, United States | Member Since 2010

ratings
208
REVIEWS
14
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1
HELPFUL VOTES
16

  • The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Bryce Courtenay
    • Narrated By Humphrey Bower
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3292)
    Performance
    (2326)
    Story
    (2327)

    Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

    Jan says: "Powerfully told story... but a warning"
    "The best yet"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I joined Audible last November and have listened to many books but this one is by far THE BEST!!! The plot is intricate and spellbinding and I wanted it to go on forever. I can't say enough about the narrator Humphrey Bower. Mr Bower provides the accent and voice of each character seamlessly and it's often hard to believe there is only one reader. If there is an award for Audible narrators Mr. Bower should win it hands down. Definitely give this book a try. I'm going to look for another book with this suberb combo of Courtenay and Bower.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Remaining

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By D. J. Molles
    • Narrated By Christian Rummel
    Overall
    (1707)
    Performance
    (1605)
    Story
    (1612)

    In a steel-and-lead-encased bunker 20 feet below the basement level of his house, a soldier waits for his final orders. On the surface, a plague ravages the planet, infecting over 90% of the populace. The bacterium burrows through the brain, destroying all signs of humanity and leaving behind little more than base, prehistoric instincts. The infected turn into hyper-aggressive predators, with an insatiable desire to kill and feed. Someday soon, the soldier will have to open the hatch to his bunker, and step out into this new wasteland, to complete his mission....

    Mike Naka says: "top notch! highly recommended!"
    "not worth your time"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    This is so far from believable as the main guy would make any military person laugh! Slow to start and went no where after it did. Once in a while you buy a dud...don't buy this one like I did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Airframe

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 3 mins)
    • By Michael Crichton
    • Narrated By Frances Cassidy
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (816)
    Performance
    (287)
    Story
    (289)

    Airframe is nonstop Crichton: the extraordinary mixture of super suspense and authentic information on a subject of compelling interest that has been a Crichton hallmark since The Andromeda Strain.

    Robert Solomon says: "Try it, you'll like it."
    "BORING"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    If you want a manual on how to build an airplane and don't mind 3 or 4 acronyms in one sentence then this is for you. Very disappointing. 3 hours into it - I returned it. Had to rate the performance a 1 but actually that was the better part of the whole book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Night Fall

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 45 mins)
    • By Nelson DeMille
    • Narrated By Scott Brick
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2460)
    Performance
    (945)
    Story
    (947)

    Five years after the crashof TWA Flight 800, the government has declared it a result of mechanical failure. But John Corey, an ex-NYPD detective who is now a contract agent with the Federal Anti-Terrorist Task Force, is persuaded by Kate Mayfield, his wife and task force partner, that the case deserves a second look.

    Ms Discus says: "Addictive mix of fact & intriguing storyline"
    "Couldn't put it down"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Great story and moved at lightening speed.

    I gave a rather harsh review of The Charm School and can't go back to edit it so will comment here. The first third was not good (as mentioned in that review) however, the last 2 sections held my attention and at the end I can say I enjoyed it and am glad I didn't give up on it too early.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Charm School

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 56 mins)
    • By Nelson DeMille
    • Narrated By Scott Brick
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1597)
    Performance
    (851)
    Story
    (843)

    Something very strange -- and sinister -- is going on in the Russian woods at Borodino. In a place called Mrs. Ivanova's Charm School, young KGB agents are being taught by American POW's how to be model citizens of the USA. The Soviet goal -- to infiltrate the United States undetected. When an unsuspecting American tourist stumbles upon this secret, he sets in motion a CIA investigation that will reveal horrifying police state savagery and superpower treachery.

    Char says: "Incredibly Good"
    "Disappointing"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I have the Lion's Game and By the Rivers of Babylon so I was anticipating a fast moving spy story. Now am 1/3 into it and I'm sooooooooo tired of the "romance" that seems to take up hours with only a few minutes here and there of the story that could have been. De Mille should stay away from writing "love stories". He doesn't do it well. I'll probably listen to the whole darn thing as I don't have another credit for 2 weeks but will hesitate before buying another from this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dark Harbor

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By David Hosp
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    Overall
    (487)
    Performance
    (221)
    Story
    (221)

    From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

    Vincent says: "Can't Put it Down!"
    "not in the same league as Baldacci"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Boring, trite and luckily was on sale for $4.95. Don't be taken in on the comparison to Baldacci.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • People of the Book

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 58 mins)
    • By Geraldine Brooks
    • Narrated By Edwina Wren
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1032)
    Performance
    (485)
    Story
    (478)

    This ambitious, electrifying work traces the harrowing journey of the famed Sarajevo Haggadah, a beautifully illuminated Hebrew manuscript created in 15th-century Spain.

    When it falls to Hanna Heath, an Australian rare-book expert, to conserve this priceless work, the series of tiny artifacts she discovers in its ancient binding - an insect wing fragment, wine stains, salt crystals, a white hair - only begin to unlock its deep mysteries.

    Yvette says: "Amazing, fabulous, wonderful!!!"
    "more than awful"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Tried listening to this book 2 different times and finally just have to accept I bought a dud. The plot appeared interesting but the author didn't make it work and the reader was soooooooooo bad it was enough for me to give up on People of the Book. Had to give it a 1 to post this rating but it's not even a 1 for the reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let the Great World Spin

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Colum McCann
    • Narrated By Richard Poe, Gerard Doyle, Carol Monda, and others
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1171)
    Performance
    (505)
    Story
    (516)

    A Pushcart Prize-winning author and contributor to the New Yorker, the Atlantic Monthly, and GQ, Colum McCann is renowned for his carefully constructed character studies. No exception, Let the Great World Spin follows the fortunes of a menagerie of New Yorkers through a day in 1974 - the day of Philippe Petit's death defying tightrope walk between the newly built Twin Towers.

    Robert says: "An essential addition to your Audible library."
    "Boring"
    Overall

    15+ hrs I managed to listen to only because I had already downloaded it.
    The idea was good in theory but the dialog was stilted and shallow.
    He may be an acclaimed author but I won't check out his other works unless I want to be put to sleep.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Blowback

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 30 mins)
    • By Brad Thor
    • Narrated By George Guidall
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1398)
    Performance
    (844)
    Story
    (840)

    Something sinister is brewing. A chilling video has already cast its ominous spell over the White House situation room. Now scientists connected to the top-secret Sword of Allah project are dropping dead. Seeking to unravel the enigma, U.S. anti-terrorist agent Scot Harvath reaches England just in time to rescue British paleopathologist Jillian Alcott from al-Qaeda's top assassin. This expert soon confirms Scott's worst fears and triggers an adrenaline-fueled rush for survival.

    John K Stratmann says: "Thrilling"
    "First and last chance for this author."
    Overall

    Harvath was an arrogant and bumbling "hero" and the senator from Philadelphia with initials HC was so tailored on Hillary that it was silly. The author should stick to writing plots and have someone else come up with the characters and dialogue.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Brother Fish

    • UNABRIDGED (31 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Bryce Courtenay
    • Narrated By Humphrey Bower
    Overall
    (1316)
    Performance
    (631)
    Story
    (630)

    From the author of The Power of One comes an inspiring human drama of three lives brought together and changed forever by the extraordinary events of recent history. Inspired by real events, Bryce Courtenay's new novel tells the story of three people from vastly differing backgrounds. All they have in common is a tough beginning in life.

    Prsilla says: "And a Cast of Thousands!"
    "another winner"
    Overall
    Performance

    After listening to The Potato Factory, Brother Fish seemed to get off to a slow start but don't let that put you off. It gradually builds and you experience the better part of a lifetime with the characters. The last 10 minutes found me sitting with my eyes closed trying to absorb every word and crying as it ended. Good story about believable people. I can't say enough about the narrator, Humphrey Bower!!! I wish all books could be narrated by him. He is beyond superb.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.