Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Book Maven

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Book Maven

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Book Maven

A Book is a Constant Companion

Member Since 2013

4
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 2 reviews
  • 14 ratings
  • 93 titles in library
  • 31 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

    • ORIGINAL (1 hr and 20 mins)
    • By Agatha Christie
    • Narrated By Agatha Christie
    Overall
    (108)
    Performance
    (95)
    Story
    (91)

    Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.

    Duane Bolton says: "Authentic recording"
    "Delightful to hear the voice of the Queen of Crime"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Yes, even though it's an old recording and not the high quality of sound we're used to, it was definitely "listen-able" and worth the time. It's not the entire book. More like a spoken outtake of her autobiography.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Having seen the great photo of Agatha Christie on the printed copy, I could see her in my mind's eye as she spoke about how she planned her day, her writing as well as references to other people in her life.


    What aspect of Agatha Christie’s performance would you have changed?

    Nothing, really. If it was longer, we might know more about how she felt about things, but this was enough to enjoy hearing her voice for the first time.


    Do you think Agatha Christie: An Autobiography needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    By whom? An autobiography is written by the person herself, so it's not likely we would get an updated version. Unless one believes in seances. :-)


    Any additional comments?

    I almost didn't download it because other reviewers mentioned the poor sound quality and not understanding some of what Agatha said. Perhaps because I'm familiar with the English accent--having an English mother, and a steady video diet of PBS and British TV mysteries--I decided to give it a try and it was delightful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Writing Down Your Soul: How to Activate and Listen to the Extraordinary Voice Within

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Janet Conner
    • Narrated By Jane Cramer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (152)
    Performance
    (133)
    Story
    (131)

    You could pray, or meditate, or dream, or visit a shaman, or a minister, or a hypnotherapist. With so many routes into inner consciousness, why write? Of all the ways to get in touch with God, as you understand God...to hear the small, still voice pointing you in the right direction...why take the time to write? One reason: it works. It works amazingly well. If you want to engage in a vibrant conversation with the wisdom that dwells just a hair below your conscious awareness, write.

    Book Maven says: "I tried to listen to all of this, but to no avail"
    "I tried to listen to all of this, but to no avail"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Janet Conner and/or Jane Cramer?

    Not really.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Janet Conner again?

    Probably not.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Less about the many details of her personal traumas even thought she did have a terrible husband. But the book, as far as I could listen, was more about her life and what SHE wrote rather than how to use writing to solve problems or help to cope with them. It certainly didn't inspire me to take up her method.


    What character would you cut from Writing Down Your Soul?

    All the characters were real, so they couldn't be cut out if she wanted to tell her life story and how she wrote. But it was a bit self-focused so she was the only "character" that dominated the book. But how can you get rid of the author? More gentle and diverse methods of writing or some interaction with others' (her students) ways of using her system that worked would have appealed more. Her commanding voice didn't help, either. She did give a nod to Julia Cameron's THE ARTIST'S WAY, a book I loved and used when it came out, but this author's book doesn't hold a candle to that classic.


    Any additional comments?

    The religious aspect others mentioned was incidental and didn't bother me that much. But every time she said "Dear God..." it sounded like a demand. Perhaps a different narrator could have brought out the content in a friendlier manner.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.