You no longer follow Tara

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Tara

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Tara

Member Since 2012

3
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 60 ratings
  • 206 titles in library
  • 53 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
2
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Ten Beach Road

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 18 mins)
    • By Wendy Wax
    • Narrated By Amy Rubinate
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (62)
    Performance
    (59)
    Story
    (58)

    Madeline, Avery, and Nikki are strangers to each other, but they have one thing in common. They each wake up one morning to discover their life savings have vanished, along with their trusted financial manager - leaving them with nothing but co-ownership of a ramshackle beachfront house. Throwing their lots in together, they take on the challenge of restoring the historic property. But just as they begin to reinvent themselves and discover the power of friendship, secrets threaten to tear down their trust.

    Sophia Richmond says: "Great listen"
    "Unable to Listen - Terrible Narrator"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you try another book from Wendy Wax and/or Amy Rubinate?

    Wendy Wax - yes!
    Amy Rubinate - Never again.


    Any additional comments?

    This narrator is stilted and to fast. It was impossible to listen to and a waste of a credit.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1961)
    Performance
    (1793)
    Story
    (1807)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "People at work thought I'd lost my mind!"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    Yes, I rarely like books read by their authors but Jenny has a real knack for narration! It is her story she should be the one reading. I know read her blog and can imagine her saying it!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Her father with the squirrel in the cracker box and Beyoncé the giant metal rooster knock knock!


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This is my first for this Genre and Jenny Lawson.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Jenny suffers from panic attacks (which I do also) and I have never heard it put so perfectly, she really puts into words what feels indescribable, it felt like someone else finally really understood. It nearly moved me to tears.


    Any additional comments?

    I normally listen to "beach reads" at work. After buying this for my wife for a cross country journey and being told I must stop any other audiobooks to listen to this I did. It had me literally laughing out loud at work! I would have to stop, back up and re-listen to parts I missed because of laughing so hard! The other thing is she suffers from panic attacks (which I do also) and I have never heard it put so perfectly, she really puts into words what feels indescribable, it felt like someone else finally really understood. I hope she does a follow up and I am now dedicated to her blog! I love that she is from Texas and lived in Houston, as I do also, that aside it is truly one of the funniest things I have ever heard and I can not stop recommending it to people!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Glass Kitchen

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Linda Francis Lee
    • Narrated By Julia Whelan
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (29)
    Performance
    (26)
    Story
    (26)

    Portia Cuthcart never intended to leave Texas. Her dream was to run the Glass Kitchen restaurant her grandmother built decades ago. But after a string of betrayals and the loss of her legacy, Portia is determined to start a new life with her sisters in Manhattan... and never cook again. But when she moves into a dilapidated brownstone on the Upper West Side, she meets 12-year-old Ariel and her widowed father Gabriel, a man with his hands full trying to raise two daughters on his own.

    sharon says: "DID NOT LIKE IT!"
    "Disappointing Mess from a previously good author."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about The Glass Kitchen?

    This story is flat and the characters are one dimensional caricature of southern women and hard unloving New Yorkers. , the addition of Magical Realism wasn't the worst example I have read, but it follows in the foot steps a little bit to much towards Sarah Addison Allen. I have been a fan of previous works, The Devil in the Junior League and The Ex-Debutante were both funny and relatable, the women although flawed were strong and the stories were built up around them. It reminds me of a poorly written harlequin novel.


    What aspect of Julia Whelan’s performance would you have changed?

    The men all sounded like versions of batman, they were laughable and stagnate. The women sounded very similar to each other which was disappointing.


    What character would you cut from The Glass Kitchen?

    Portia's sisters, they added very little to no substance to the book.


    Any additional comments?

    What I learned: Women are weak and easily manipulated and controlled by men. Men are greedy, uncaring cheaters. Flat characters.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.