Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Dana R. Holmes

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Dana R. Holmes

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Dana R. Holmes

Tampa, FL USA | Member Since 2012

4
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 ratings
  • 87 titles in library
  • 8 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
1

  • Code Name Verity

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Elizabeth Wein
    • Narrated By Morven Christie, Lucy Gaskell
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1270)
    Performance
    (1151)
    Story
    (1146)

    Code Name Verity is a compelling, emotionally rich story with universal themes of friendship and loyalty, heroism and bravery. Two young women from totally different backgrounds are thrown together during World War II: one a working-class girl from Manchester, the other a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a wireless operator. Yet whenever their paths cross, they complement each other perfectly and before long become devoted friends. But then a vital mission goes wrong....

    Suzn F says: "Haunting, Beautiful, Exquisite, Special Book"
    "Engrossing Tale of Bravery and Friendship"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to Code Name Verity the most enjoyable?

    The voice actors were completely wonderful. I generally don't prefer audiobooks because the narration can be so flat, but I loved the narrators in Code Name Verity.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I loved Verity. She became such a deep character as the story unfolded.


    Which character – as performed by Morven Christie and Lucy Gaskell – was your favorite?

    Morven and Lucy both did a fantastic job of bringing their characters to life, but I could have listened to Morven Christie talk all day.


    If you could take any character from Code Name Verity out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Julie, she would have so much to say. Also for other reasons, but I can't say without spoiling bits of the story.


    Any additional comments?

    The book tends to be marketed as YA, but I believe that this is a fulfilling read for any age group.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • The Graveyard Book

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 47 mins)
    • By Neil Gaiman
    • Narrated By Neil Gaiman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (6432)
    Performance
    (3214)
    Story
    (3234)

    Why we think it’s a great listen: Gaiman’s not just an award-winning author, but a narrator who earns rave reviews – and fields requests from other authors to perform their books, too! Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn't live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead....

    Guillermo says: "Masterful Fantasy for the Jaded Heart"
    "[Insert "frightfully good" pun here]"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    There's nothing I can say about this book that someone else hasn't already said. Neil's narration is impeccable, the world-building and description are immersive, and I loved the characters immediately. I loved the tension in the story, and was glad that it was thrilling and suspenseful without being horrific or gory. That being said, I did see the "twist" coming from a mile off, but it's a children's book, so I can't really complain about that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1880)
    Performance
    (1718)
    Story
    (1732)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Stories you'll be glad didn't happen to you."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Jenny lends her own voice to this collection of stories, and I think that it enhances the experience considerably. While the singsongy chapter introductions were kind of awkward and the language was definitely NSFW, her colorful recollections were very enjoyable. It probably wouldn't stand up well to a repeat listen, at least not right away, but I enjoyed my time with Jenny. She taught me a few colorful curses I wouldn't've otherwise known.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.