You no longer follow Rory

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Rory

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Rory

Calgary, AB, Canada | Member Since 2011

21
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 10 reviews
  • 166 ratings
  • 530 titles in library
  • 62 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
2

  • The Dwarves

    • UNABRIDGED (22 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By Markus Heitz
    • Narrated By Matthew Wolf
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (230)
    Performance
    (210)
    Story
    (211)

    For countless millennia, the dwarves of the Fifthling Kingdom have defended the stone gateway into Girdlegard. Many and varied foes have hurled themselves against the portal and died attempting to breach it. No man or beast has ever succeeded. Until now... Abandoned as a child, Tungdil the blacksmith labors contentedly in the Kingdom of Fifthling the only dwarf in a kingdom of men. Although he does not want for friends, Tungdil is very much aware that he is alone - indeed, he has not so much as set eyes on another dwarf. But all that is about to change.

    Adnan says: "There and back again, a dwarve's tail"
    "Something lost in translation"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Nothing new or notable here, just dumb, uninspired fantasy. Got fooled again by good reviews and ratings.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • The Eight

    • UNABRIDGED (25 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Katherine Neville
    • Narrated By Susan Denaker
    Overall
    (302)
    Performance
    (145)
    Story
    (147)

    New York City, 1972: A dabbler in mathematics and chess, Catherine Velis is also a computer expert for a Big Eight accounting firm. Before heading off to a new assignment in Algeria, Cat has her palm read by a fortune-teller. The woman warns Cat of danger. Then an antiques dealer approaches Cat with a mysterious offer: He has an anonymous client who is trying to collect the pieces of an ancient chess service, purported to be in Algeria. If Cat can bring the pieces back, there will be a generous reward.

    Tango says: "Best Plot-Driven Novel I've Ever Read"
    "Couldn't Finish"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Didn't Grab me, entertain. Maybe I'm getting picky but there is so much better out there and I'm not wasting anymore time on it.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Blood Song: Raven's Shadow, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Anthony Ryan
    • Narrated By Steven Brand
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (3295)
    Performance
    (3101)
    Story
    (3101)

    The Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. Vaelin Al Sorna was only a child of 10 when his father left him at the iron gate of the Sixth Order. The Brothers of the Sixth Order are devoted to battle, and Vaelin will be trained and hardened to the austere, celibate, and dangerous life of a Warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order.

    Ron says: "Great Epic Fantacy"
    "Great, Just Great"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The best fantasy works because it is original, full of depth and gritty. Blood Song gets full marks in a genre where unoriginal, forgettable YA like penmanship is the norm. Steven Brand is terrific and this listener appreciates the obvious affinity that he has for Blood Song. Well Done!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Malice: The Faithful and the Fallen, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (25 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By John Gwynne
    • Narrated By John Keating
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (202)
    Performance
    (186)
    Story
    (187)

    In this epic fantasy debut (perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin), John Gwynne takes listeners to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past. Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin's rule - to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood.

    Brian L. Manley says: "Wonderful"
    "Missing Something"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    I wanted to like it. It had lots of novel ideas, and interesting characters but just lack depth. The writing in places was so basic and juvenile, and the dialog between character was awful. I'm was disappointed because it could have been really good, instead I struggled through and almost returned it to audible

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • The Company: A Novel of the CIA

    • UNABRIDGED (41 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Robert Littell
    • Narrated By Scott Brick
    Overall
    (5131)
    Performance
    (2228)
    Story
    (2224)

    "If Robert Littell didn't invent the American spy novel," says Tom Clancy, "he should have." In this spectacular Cold-War-as-Alice-in-Wonderland epic, Littell, "the American le Carre," takes us down the rabbit hole and into the labyrinthine world of espionage that has been the CIA for the last half-century. "Ostensibly a single novel, The Company can also be listened to as an anthology of cracking good spy stories," says (Publishers Weekly).

    Cynthia says: "Hang on to your Hat"
    "Highly Recommended"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    While incredibly long the Company delivered. Well worth the credit and effort I wish more spy thrillers were as smart and well executed

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cold Days: The Dresden Files, Book 14

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 50 mins)
    • By Jim Butcher
    • Narrated By James Marsters
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5944)
    Performance
    (5529)
    Story
    (5528)

    After being murdered by a mystery assailant, navigating his way through the realm between life and death, and being brought back to the mortal world, Harry realizes that maybe death wasn’t all that bad - because he is no longer Harry Dresden, Chicago’s only professional wizard. He is now Harry Dresden, Winter Knight to Mab, the Queen of Air and Darkness. After Harry had no choice but to swear his fealty, Mab wasn’t about to let something as petty as death steal away the prize she had sought for so long.

    Ethan M. says: "Thwarts Every Expectation - In a Good Way"
    "Not the best but better than Cold Days"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Thanks for bringing James Marsters back, Harry is not the same without Spike around.
    Entertaining, but far from the best Dresden.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Gone-Away World

    • UNABRIDGED (24 hrs and 27 mins)
    • By Nick Harkaway
    • Narrated By Kirby Heyborne
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (219)
    Performance
    (173)
    Story
    (174)

    There couldn't be a fire along the Jorgmund Pipe. It was the last thing the world needed. The Pipe was what kept the Livable Zone safe from the bandits, monsters, and nightmares the Go-Away War had left in its wake. Enter Gonzo Lubitsch and the Haulage & HazMat Emergency Civil Freebooting Company, a team of troubleshooters who roll into action when things get hot.

    Ryan says: "Exhaustively witty, but unsatisfying"
    "Slight Digression Ahead"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    If you can make it to the end it's worth it. This story was incredibly entertaining but i found some of the many digressions of the main plot frustrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Monster Hunter International

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 34 mins)
    • By Larry Correia
    • Narrated By Oliver Wyman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (7473)
    Performance
    (6612)
    Story
    (6605)

    Five days after Owen Zastava Pitt pushed his insufferable boss out of a 14th story window, he woke up in the hospital with a scarred face, an unbelievable memory, and a job offer. It turns out that monsters are real. All the things from myth, legend, and B-movies are out there, waiting in the shadows. Some of them are evil, and some are just hungry. Monster Hunter International is the premier eradication company in the business. And now Owen is their newest recruit.

    Mariya says: "Killin’s my business and business is fine"
    "Holy Gun Fetish"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Pure Gun Smut. Think there was a weak story here too. Grim Noir series was pretty good so gave this a chance and will not buy any more Monster hunter books

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Green Rider

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs and 7 mins)
    • By Kristen Britain
    • Narrated By Ellen Archer
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (691)
    Performance
    (614)
    Story
    (621)

    Karigan G’ladheon, running away from school, is traveling through a deep forest when a galloping horse pounds up to her, its rider impaled by two black-shafted arrows. With his dying breath, he tells her he is a Green Rider, one of the magical messengers of the King. Before he dies, he makes Karigan swear to deliver the message he’s carrying, and gives her his green coat, with the symbolic brooch of his office.

    Robert says: "Great Adventure From Begining to End"
    "Couldn't struggle through"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    The narrators voice sounded like siri from my I phone, and after struggling through 3 hours of a immature, boring story, I just had to stop.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Tricked: The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book 4

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Kevin Hearne
    • Narrated By Luke Daniels
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (6051)
    Performance
    (5588)
    Story
    (5581)

    Druid Atticus O’Sullivan hasn’t stayed alive for more than two millennia without a fair bit of Celtic cunning. So when vengeful thunder gods come Norse by Southwest looking for payback, Atticus, with a little help from the Navajo trickster god Coyote, lets them think that they’ve chopped up his body in the Arizona desert. But the mischievous Coyote is not above a little sleight of paw, and Atticus soon finds that he’s been duped into battling bloodthirsty desert shape-shifters called skinwalkers.

    Nicholas says: "Hooked in an Instant"
    "Weak, Weak ........ Weak"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Don't believe the good reviews, I did and I was sorry.

    The law of diminishing returns applies to this once entertaining series, each
    installment is far less enjoyable than the previous.

    No one buys a book like this expecting a ground breaking piece of literature, but this book had no point. The main story line should have taken 30 min therefore we are left with 11 1/2 hours of boring, pointless, unfunny digression.

    Hearne needs to stop ripping off his betters, stealing ideas and concepts from actual talented authors, like Neil Gaimen, and in this book Jim Butcher.

    The deuce I just took was more fresh, had more depth of character, and smelt better than this piece of garbage.

    Don't waste your credits!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.