Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Alicia Towler

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Alicia Towler

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Alicia Towler

Chapel Hill, NC United States | Member Since 2012

2
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 1 reviews
  • 3 ratings
  • 49 titles in library
  • 11 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1932)
    Performance
    (1766)
    Story
    (1779)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Love funny female writers, hated this book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) better?

    When I read the description and the reviews of this book, I was excited, but now I wish I could get a refund. Not only are the stories not even particularly funny, the constant cutesy asides from the author were something I found unbearable. Furthermore, I'm a southerner and love a good southern accent, but I found her voice really grating.


    Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No, I'll just be more cautious and listen to an excerpt first.


    What three words best describe Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    Over-the-top


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment


    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.