Customer Reviews | Audible.com
 

You no longer follow Liz

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Liz

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Liz

ratings
4
REVIEWS
2
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
1

  • The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work: A Practical Guide from the Country's Foremost Relationship Expert

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 28 mins)
    • By John M.; Nan Gottman; Silver
    • Narrated By John Allen Nelson
    Overall
    (125)
    Performance
    (93)
    Story
    (92)

    Straightforward in its approach, yet profound in its effect, the principles outlined in this book teach partners new and startling strategies for making marriage work. Gottman has scientifically analyzed the habits of married couples and established a method of correcting the behavior that puts thousands of marriages on the rocks. He helps couples to focus on one another and pay attention to the small day-to-day moments that, strung together, make up the heart and soul of any relationship.

    Jason says: "DON'T BUY THIS AUDIO BOOK WITHOUT PRINT TOO"
    "Helpful for couples but not cultural consideration"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What made the experience of listening to The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work the most enjoyable?

    This book was very heteronormative and did not discuss cultural considerations including religion, sexual identity, or orientation. Although these issues were not discussed, I think anyone could read this book and gain a lot of useful information about improving their relationship with their partner. This book could also be helpful for therapists looking for tools for therapy sessions.

    Gottman attempted to make his book amusing, but the voice over actor sounded pompous. A few people I know have read this book as opposed to listening and found it to be a different experience.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    N/A


    Which scene was your favorite?

    My favorite part of the book were the activities. They helped couples have fun while doing the work.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1649)
    Performance
    (1503)
    Story
    (1514)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Funny coming of age (as an adult)"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    No, but I have recommended it to friends. Lawson does a great job of reading the novel.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    Comical, genuine, loving, inspiring.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Parts of it got slow, but all parts of the book had a purpose.


    Any additional comments?

    I loved how Jenny discussed how she overcame her mental illness through living life and loving her daughter. I think this book can be inspirational to any adult.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.