You no longer follow Eee

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Eee

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Eee

ratings
19
REVIEWS
4
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0
HELPFUL VOTES
9

  • The Amen Solution: The Brain Healthy Way to Lose Weight and Keep It Off

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Daniel G. Amen
    • Narrated By Marc Cashman
    Overall
    (76)
    Performance
    (26)
    Story
    (25)

    A breakthrough, easy-to-follow brain-based program to lose weight and keep it off—for the rest of your life! Have you tried diet after diet without success? Want to know the two major secrets why most diets don’t work? The number-one secret is that most weight problems occur between your ears, not in your stomach.

    Lori says: "Better as a book than an audio book"
    "sorry i bought this"
    Overall

    I thought there might be some interesting facts about different eating types, and there are, somewhere. I just hate the constant statement that you need to "be smart" suggesting that somehow you might be stupid if you're fat. Not motivating in the least. The brain information is so superficial, it was hardly worth it. Most of the book consists of comments from people who've followed this program, anecdotes about football players and this "be smart to loose weight" sort of thing. Eh, not for me.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • The Real Jane Austen: A Life in Small Things

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 31 mins)
    • By Paula Byrne
    • Narrated By Kate Reading
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (16)
    Performance
    (14)
    Story
    (14)

    The Real Jane Austen: A Life in Small Things offers a startlingly original look at the revered writer through a variety of key moments, scenes, and objects in her life and work. Going beyond previous traditional biographies which have traced Austen's daily life from Steventon to Bath to Chawton to Winchester, Paula Byrne's portrait - organized thematically and drawn from the most up-to-date scholarship and unexplored sources - explores the lives of Austen's extended family, friends, and acquaintances.

    Eee says: "For fans of Austen, Regency England"
    "For fans of Austen, Regency England"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    Absolutely loved this book. The author weaves in historical events, places, objects, existing correspondence to/from/about Austen, and quotes from Austen's writing to give a fascinating view of Jane Austen and her world. It's well written and Kate Reading's narration is, as always, wonderful.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Robert Oppenheimer: A Life Inside the Center

    • UNABRIDGED (35 hrs and 17 mins)
    • By Ray Monk
    • Narrated By Michael Goldstrom
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (50)
    Performance
    (46)
    Story
    (45)

    Robert Oppenheimer was among the most brilliant and divisive of men. As head of the Los Alamos Laboratory, he oversaw the successful effort to beat the Nazis in the race to develop the first atomic bomb – a breakthrough that was to have eternal ramifications for mankind and that made Oppenheimer the “Father of the Atomic Bomb.” But with his actions leading up to that great achievement, he also set himself on a dangerous collision course with Senator Joseph McCarthy and his witch-hunters. In Robert Oppenheimer: A Life Inside the Center, Ray Monk, author of peerless biographies of Ludwig Wittgenstein and Bertrand Russell, goes deeper than any previous biographer in the quest to solve the enigma of Oppenheimer’s motivations and his complex personality.

    david says: "Nearly Perfect"
    "Marathon, but worth it"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story

    A really interesting time in science and politics. The start of the 20th century was an amazing time in physics, especially - this book is very much focused development of quantum theory, so called "modern physics" and an understanding of the structure of atoms and molecules. If you don't have a working knowledge of the science - e.g., if you don't know anything about the structure of atoms, a tiny bit about quantum theory, radioactivity - you might find this overwhelming. The bio is long on Oppenheimer's interactions with fellow scientists, and the science itself, although there is no math, no formulae - so it is palatable.

    Oppenheimer was an interesting character. Not always an especially nice person, very intense, full of contradictions. But he wrangled a group of elite scientists to create the atom bomb in a relatively short period of time, and for this, he was absolutely brilliant. Despite being completely loyal to the US, he was a Communist sympathiser in the 1930's, and this came back to him in the 1950's when he lost his security clearance. A series of events that has some relevance to today - pettiness, hysteria, ego, and abuse of power. Interesting times. Not much has changed.

    But it's a good listen, if the subject interests you.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • The End of Your Life Book Club

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By Will Schwalbe
    • Narrated By Jeff Harding
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (436)
    Performance
    (383)
    Story
    (382)

    >"What are you reading?" That's the question Will Schwalbe asks his mother, Mary Anne, as they sit in the waiting room of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. In 2007, Mary Anne returned from a humanitarian trip to Pakistan and Afghanistan suffering from what her doctors believed was a rare type of hepatitis. Months later she was diagnosed with a form of advanced pancreatic cancer, which is almost always fatal, often in six months or less. This is the inspiring true story of a son and his mother.

    Mark says: "A good book, but not really for me."
    "Great Idea, but in execution - ok."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The End of Your Life Book Club?

    I've been through this with my mother - everyone's story is different - we didn't read books, for example. But I think it's important to look at end of life stories as a combination of happy and sad, and to know that while it's frightening, it is something you can get through. So the relevance.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Will Schwalbe? Why or why not?

    Would depend on the subject.


    What does Jeff Harding bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I'm on the fence about him as narrator. I thought Mary Ann's voice was a bit falsetto.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The end.


    Any additional comments?

    I thought the book lacked emotion. As I said, we're all different, but I didn't get a sense of how he really felt. It was all very calm, clean, upper class white Protestant people (sorry, I don't mean to offend), and yet, this was a woman who spent a lot of time in refugee camps. I was looking for more feeling.

    But, given that it was a book about books, I did think of reading some of these books.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.