You no longer follow Gloria

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Gloria

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Gloria

Carmichael, CA, USA | Member Since 2009

2
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 5 reviews
  • 27 ratings
  • 92 titles in library
  • 18 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
0

  • Sweetness: The Enigmatic Life of Walter Payton

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 53 mins)
    • By Jeff Pearlman
    • Narrated By Malcolm Hillgartner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (45)
    Performance
    (34)
    Story
    (35)

    At five feet ten inches tall, running back Walter Payton was not the largest player in the NFL, but he developed a larger-than-life reputation for his strength, speed, and grit. Nicknamed “Sweetness” during his college football days, he became the NFL’s all-time leader in rushing and all-purpose yards, capturing the hearts of fans in his adopted Chicago.

    Gloria says: "Lots of editorializing that can't be substantiated"
    "Lots of editorializing that can't be substantiated"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What would have made Sweetness better?

    Less story telling and acting as if he knew what Payton was thinking. Should have stuck to a more reporter oriented approach since he had so many "unknown or unnamed " sources.


    Has Sweetness turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Just Pearlman


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Tried to sound like Payton and came off cheesy.


    What character would you cut from Sweetness?

    NA


    Any additional comments?

    Mean spirited way to make a buck by trashing someone while their family is still here to deal with the pain. Really took every opportunity to trash Connie.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Americanah

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 28 mins)
    • By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (551)
    Performance
    (508)
    Story
    (514)

    Anna-Bo-Banana says: "Dazzling, Romantic, and Witty"
    "Engaging and well delivered"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you consider the audio edition of Americanah to be better than the print version?

    I have not read the print version, but the audio is fantastic.


    Which character – as performed by Adjoa Andoh – was your favorite?

    I liked Ifamelu best because she was such a gutsy lady but she also had realistic flaws.


    Who was the most memorable character of Americanah and why?

    Obenze was very memorable because of his situation in England.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs)
    • By Malcolm Gladwell
    • Narrated By Malcolm Gladwell
    Overall
    (4857)
    Performance
    (4286)
    Story
    (4311)

    In David and Goliath, Malcolm Gladwell challenges how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering a new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or cope with a disability, or lose a parent, or attend a mediocre school, or suffer from any number of other apparent setbacks. Gladwell begins with the real story of what happened between the giant and the shepherd boy those many years ago.

    Cynthia says: "The Art of (Unconventional) War"
    "Thought provoking"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I enjoy all of his books and this one is no exception. Although I may not agree with all his conclusions , his arguments are sound.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of David and Goliath?

    Interesting facts about IKEA


    Any additional comments?

    The man's voice is so calming that it's worth the listen just to hear him talk.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (2013)
    Performance
    (1844)
    Story
    (1858)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    D. S. Smith says: "How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!"
    "Great stories poorly told"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The writer takes a very juvenile approach. She seems to enjoy saying words such as vagina as many times as possible as if she were 13. It really becomes silly after a while and takes away from the wonderful stories she has to share. Her voice is not one that is soothing or pleasant to listen to over an extended period of time. I hope this young woman will rewrite this fascinating tale when she is mature enough to give it the style and comedic flavor it deserves.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The stories are wonderful.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Another reader is needed and some classes on basic writing skills might be helpful. Trying too hard to be funny doesn't work well and the over use of adverbs makes the listening cumbersome.


    Any additional comments?

    I found the young woman likable and hope she will continue to hone her craft.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • The Impulse Factor: The Hidden Force Behind the Choices We Make

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Nick Tasler
    • Narrated By Buck Schirner
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (14)
    Performance
    (4)
    Story
    (5)

    By combining global research with real-world examples of extreme decision-making, Nick Tasler teaches us how to thrive when faced with difficult choices. More than just an audiobook, The Impulse Factor provides a clear understanding of why we make the choices we do - and the tools to turn those decisions into something great.

    Joshua Kim says: "Not Good"
    "Could use some help from Malcom Gladwell"
    Overall

    This is not easy to follow and does not capture the interest of the reader.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.