Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 

You no longer follow Lisa

You will no longer see updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can re-follow a user if you change your mind.

OK

You now follow Lisa

You will receive updates from this user when they write new reviews, or suggestions based on their library or recommendations.

You can unfollow a user if you change your mind.

OK

Lisa

Brooklyn, NY, United States | Member Since 2012

9
HELPFUL VOTES
  • 7 reviews
  • 11 ratings
  • 129 titles in library
  • 20 purchased in 2014
FOLLOWING
0
FOLLOWERS
2

  • The Other Brain: From Dementia to Schizophrenia, How New Discoveries About the Brain are Revolutionizing Medicine and Science

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By R. Douglas Fields
    • Narrated By Victor Bevine, R. Douglas Fields
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (163)
    Performance
    (109)
    Story
    (111)

    Despite everything that has been written about the brain, a very important part of this vital organ has been overlooked in most books - until now. The Other Brain is the story of glia, which make up approximately 85 percent of the cells in the brain. Long neglected as little more than cerebral packing material ("glia" means glue), glia are sparking a revolution in brain science.

    Douglas says: "Some bit of knowledge in the field of neurology..."
    "Blows my Mind"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you love best about The Other Brain?

    The information in this book is terribly exciting to me. I did think neurons were the key to it all, but now I see how scientists can be blindsided by science that seems more exciting.


    What other book might you compare The Other Brain to and why?

    Theory Drive 101 is like this book, except arguing a completely different stance.


    Which character – as performed by Victor Bevine and R. Douglas Fields (introduction) – was your favorite?

    R. Douglas Fields is a good speaker--he could have narrated this entire book.


    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • The Crystal Shard: Legend of Drizzt: Icewind Dale Trilogy, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By R. A. Salvatore
    • Narrated By Victor Bevine
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (790)
    Performance
    (737)
    Story
    (739)

    Drizzt Do’Urden has settled in the windswept towns of Icewind Dale. There, he encounters a young barbarian named Wulfgar, captured in a raid and made the ward of a grizzled dwarf name Bruenor. With Drizzt’s help, Wulfgar will grow from a feral child to a man with the heart of a dwarf, the instincts of a savage, and the soul of a hero. But it will take even more than that to defeat the demonic power of Crenshininbon, the fabled Crystal Shard.

    Christopher says: "Another Epic Drizzt Saga"
    "Basis D&D Encounters: Legacy of the Crystal Shard"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Would you recommend The Crystal Shard to your friends? Why or why not?

    Only if they were trying to brush up on their D&D lore knowledge. R. A. Salvatore is obviously their heavy-hitter for D&D books, but in this example, there isn't a lot of interesting emotional flavors or tones.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is the basis for D&D Encounters: Legacy of the Crystal Shard Game.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • The Adversary: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering, Book III

    • UNABRIDGED (19 hrs and 45 mins)
    • By Erin M. Evans
    • Narrated By Dina Pearlman
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (74)
    Performance
    (71)
    Story
    (72)

    As the chaos of the Sundering rages around her, young warlock Farideh faces a more personal turmoil wrought by a deal she made with a devil years ago. Hoping to protect her twin sister, she leaves everything she holds dear to assist a wizard in a scheme that pits the devils of the Nine Hells against the gods above.

    Lisa says: "Two Series, One Book"
    "Two Series, One Book"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    This book is the third book in two separate series. It is the third book of The Sundering Series, and the third book in the story of Farideh, Erin M. Evans' premier character. You do not need to listen to the first two books in The Sundering Series in order to enjoy this book -- "The Companions" and "The Godborn" has almost nothing to do with this book. However, you probably do want to familiarize yourself with Ms. Evans' other two books: "Brimstone Angels" and "Brimstone Angels: Lesser Evils."

    My major critique of this book is that the B plot-line obstacle (between Havilar and Brin) seems particularly forced for the sake of a delayed climax that fits into a traditional narrative arch. I hate to say that it rings false, because this is all just make-believe anyway, but it does.

    On the plus side, I think Dina Pearlman has really improved as a voice actor since the last book in this series.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 41 mins)
    • By Jenny Lawson
    • Narrated By Jenny Lawson
    Overall
    (1915)
    Performance
    (1749)
    Story
    (1763)

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

    Briana says: "This was supposed to be funny"
    "Neurotic in a charming way, for 4 hours"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Jenny Lawson has a unique and interesting voice. However, after you get where she is coming from, it becomes increasingly hard to listen to her talk about her many neurotic experiences. At least for me, what started out as charming eventually became annoying. So, considering she is a blog writer, I think blogging is her best format. You can spread her out over many months and still be charmed. It is just by putting it all together into a book format that her strength becomes her weakness.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Jenny Lawson again?

    No.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Eat to Live: The Revolutionary Formula for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Joel Fuhrman
    • Narrated By Joel Fuhrman
    Overall
    (677)
    Performance
    (482)
    Story
    (486)

    When Mehmet Oz has a patient whose life depends on losing weight, he calls on Joel Fuhrman, M.D. In Eat to Live: The Revolutionary Formula for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Dr. Fuhrman offers his healthy, effective, and scientifically proven plan for shedding radical amounts of weight quickly, and keeping it off.

    Joseph says: "The facts of what's healthy, and what's killing us"
    "Too Repetative for Audio Format"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    Any additional comments?

    I believe what this book preaches, except it suffers from the fact that there is actually not a ton of things to say, but has been inflated to be long enough to warrant being a book. It is easier to take in paperback, because you can skip the repetitive parts, but with audio books, you cannot.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Spark: The Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and the Brain

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 28 mins)
    • By John J. Ratey
    • Narrated By Walter Dixon
    Overall
    (2599)
    Performance
    (1635)
    Story
    (1616)

    Did you know you can beat stress, lift your mood, fight memory loss, sharpen your intellect, and function better than ever simply by elevating your heart rate and breaking a sweat? The evidence is incontrovertible: Aerobic exercise physically remodels our brains for peak performance.

    Kathleen says: "Spark"
    "Better than I expected"
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about this story?

    This book does a really good job of giving you the overview of a lot of scientific research without overwhelming you with data. You can make conclusions different from the author because you are given enough information to do so.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 101 Theory Drive: A Neuroscientist's Quest for Memory

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs)
    • By Terry McDermott
    • Narrated By Stephen Hoye
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (154)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (55)

    It's not fiction: Gary Lynch is the real thing, the epitome of the rebel scientist - malnourished, contentious, inspiring, explosive, remarkably ambitious, consistently brilliant. He is one of the foremost figures of contemporary neuroscience, and his decades-long quest to understand the inner workings of the brain's memory machine has begun to pay off.

    Joe says: "Fascinating tale of a scientific maverick's lab"
    "Narrator needs work on characterization."
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    What did you like best about 101 Theory Drive? What did you like least?

    The explanation of science is clear. The ability of the narrator to portray different characters is very awkward and uncomfortable.


    Any additional comments?

    It takes work, but why can't 2 narrators do one book. If someone's strength is description, let them do that and let others do characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.